We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good on Price, Good on Service”
Review of The Haven Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Haven Bali
Ranked #61 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The place is just awesome! Good service, friendly staff, breakfast fed me for the whole day and really modern installations. The three swimmings pools are just fantastic. You can get a driver to get you around inside the hotel, so you don't need to concern about going on the streets and try to find someone. I haven't got the opportunity to use the spa, it was fully booked! Anyway...if you are not planning to spend loads of money on something really "out-of-space"....I really recommend this place, a good mixed between good price and a bit of "fancy" kind of style.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabrie_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,874)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,022 - 1,028 of 1,874 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The haven is well located, clean and has nice pools, however this venue lacks charm and taking into account the moderate service and moderately styled rooms, this hotel is overpriced. Must be fairly easy to get a better price quality hotel in Seminyak

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Indonesia_travel_fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Indonesia_travel_fan
Greetings from The Haven Bali Seminyak!

Thank you for staying at The Haven Bali Seminyak. We invite the guest to experience the lifestyle trends through the minimalist and modern design and outstanding location for all business and leisure traveler.
Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed here few months ago for two nights and have an amazing time. As you know, Seminyak is really crowded area in Bali with a tiny street with full of bike and car. This place is quite spacious, I saw many places with smaller capacity, in this district. I took so many pictures, unfortunately I couldnt post it due to large file size. I guess you can see other picture posted in this property.

The moment you get in the lobby, you will feel release from the craziness happen on the street. As driving through this hotel is quite hectic. The carpark located at the back of the hotel, or downstair, but try avoid downstairs one as it was so small and your car might get scratched. The staff could speak English very well, the check in was quick, the explanation was brief and prompt.

There's quite a walk as they put us on the suite area at the back. But, the staff was so friendly welcoming you and assist your luggage on the way to your room. During our walk, we passed couple of private villa, and looks tempting. I also love the garden with their combination elegant and Balinese touch. The bed was comfortable, bathroom was great but not so modern. The have quite unique remote control holder for all the remotes in the room. The view was great facing the pool and the restaurant. The room come with balcony where you can smoke outside. Our room rate surprisingly include breakfast which was awesome. They have two restaurant, and ours one was at the back (suite area) with more quiet than the one at the front. I couldn't have eat less for that fresh bacon they have. There were plenty staff to assist you in genuine service. The only negative aspect just the location, and carpark which gave you headache and worry whether your car is not scratched. Otherwise, I'll rate 5 for sure.

Plan ahead and book early to get a cheaper rate. We booked in booking.com for your information.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2013

I stayed in the 2 bedroom suites and it was nice. I like the suites as it was spacious. It's perfect for a family traveling with children. The only flaw was the bath tub design. It was so difficult to get in and out from it. The free shuttle to the beach was every 2 hours. They should make it more often. The breakfast was not free for all guests. I was given 4 free breakfast only for 2 bedrooms and children above 5 years old are charged. The breakfast menu was the same every single day. I liked the bacon and sausages, the rest was just boring. In term of location, it's at a very touristy place. It's near over-rated restaurants, shops, and bars. Bali is crazy in traffic. So if you decided to stay in seminyak, I'd suggest you look for activities around this area, like kuta, sunset and legian only. My flight was at 5 pm and I was allowed to check out at 1 pm. However, I thought I could wait at the club lounge but the charge was usd 28 per person. So my family and I just crashed in the suite lobby area which only has 4 small chairs and 1 sofa. The management should consider the arrangement for those guests waiting for their flight.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank noviantii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheHavenManagement, Public Relations Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Novianti I,
Greetings from The Haven Bali Seminyak!
I am pleased to read that you have enjoyed your stay at The Haven Bali Seminyak and our facilities as our guest satisfaction is our top priority. Departure lounge is complimentary for those who book Suite room.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you again soon

Warmest Regards from Bali

The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Nice room, nice bed, big balcony, complete amenities, and big swimming pool. Nice sabeen restaurant, have live music performance every night. I like the breakfast at the back restaurant that on suite building. Quite much choices (mostly serving western) and nice place to have breakfast compare to the restaurant near the lobby. Nice hotel, good location too.. Walking distance, i can go to seminyak Rd., legian 66 beach and sunset point.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank asien_as
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is just a couple of streets back from the beach, close to restaurants, shops, bars and the Bali night life. Good location for an early morning walk/run along the beach. I had a really tasty chicken & avocado sandwich for lunch.

Room Tip: I stayed in the hotel section, maybe the suites would be better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank chambo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Stayed 2 weeks at Haven Hotel in a Haven Room, in a wing straight over swimming pool. Here are the most important drawbacks that I have noticed:

- rooms in the wing I stayed face the hotel main entrance from the street linked with the reception that is linked with the restaurant and you are totally exposed to others sight all day long and until 11pm when they switch balcony lights off. Actually most of rooms of this hotel face the same direction.

- ALL balcony lights go off at 11pm everyday (like in prison or so). You are not able to switch your private balcony light off from your room, unless you smash the light globe with a hammer (I did not try though). It makes you even more exposed to others sight. I felt like a hamster in a cage when hundreds of people were looking at me everyday once sitting on my balcony.

- their beds are rock rock! rock!! hard, you better sleep on the floor, as it does not creak and crunch as opposed to the bed. Every your move in the bed is confirmed by a strong crrrrrkk!!!.....crrrrkk!!!...... Such terrible beds, like hundred years old, made by a poor carpenter's hand now from their age falling apart on joints (it's noticeable when you look under) It's a huge shame for a 4star hotel like they pretend to be. After two weeks on that bed I have got strong pain in my back!

- room walls are paper thin, you clearly hear what is happening in the rooms next to yours. Talking, snoring, watching tv, shifting furniture, toilet activity.. - you will hear all those things everyday.

- The hotel is so acoustic by itself, and people slamming their door, everyday housekeeping activity and all those things drive you crazy, and there is no escape from it because after my quick "inspection" I can say that this hotel does not have any quiet and peaceful rooms to escape to.

- Terrible sewer smell comes from the toilet area. More, my toilet bowl wasn't properly fixed to the floor, it moved when I was sitting on it, pretty scary.

- The hotel is extremely noisy during day and night. Strong noise, loud music, yelling and that strange echo comes from the pool area everyday. Following that, an unbearable loud live music (louder than in a concert!!) starts in the restaurant about 7pm and ends usually at 10pm. Everything shakes around when they play. Forget about watching tv, not to mention about sleeping. Ear plugs are strongly recommended. I feel for people staying in a front wing, straight over that restaurant. That must have been a real earthquake for them.

other minor things:

Swimming pool is simply small, has a few sun beds and no atmosphere. And all this for hundreds of people staying in the hotel. However this is not a problem comparing to listed above.

Breakfast was OK but for a week stay maximum as it almost does not change at all. After two weeks I had more than enough of their omelettes, sausages, bacon and poor coffee. However that's not a problem comparing to above listed points. You can live with that.

Housekeeping simply does not clean rooms, they only replace soap, gel, toilet paper and towels, however in my case they kept forgetting to leave clean bath towels, it happened a few times. Asking them for a towel that they forgot to leave causes they think you would like to take an extra one.. So hard and confusing to get them understand that they keep forgetting things.
However, this is nothing comparing to the extremely loud music listed above...as you can live without towels or dry yourself with a t-shirt if necessary.

Staff at the reception try to be helpful but they perform their job in poor manners, that you are even more confused than you were before. Try to ask a few people from the staff for the same thing. You will get a few different answers....

Wi-Fi internet is limited and works after you put a login & password obtained at the reception on a small piece of paper. It works for 3 days and after that you have to come back and ask them for another one.... I do not know if they have noticed we lived in 21-st century..

Hotel is located in a very very busy area of Seminyak, just by the loud and totally filled with motorbikes main street. A very convenient area if it comes to use of restaurants and small shops that sell all those basic things you need.

Meals at the restaurant are expensive, drinks even more.

Personally I completely did not like the Seminyak beach as it is black like dirt and has a very bad smelling sewer creek cutting the beach in half. In addition the sewer drops into the Ocean.....

Strange policy during breakfast. You can not come there wearing normally looking complimentary hotel slippers, but you can come there on bare foot and you can smoke cigarettes like a furnace while others try to eat their first meal of the day next to your table. Sitting in a non-smoking area does not work as thick smoke comes everywhere. Breakfast time SHOULD BE a non-smoking time. Why the management can't understand that?

Overall, more negatives than positives after my stay. Reading reviews about this hotel before I was hoping that it is going to be a nice one, however it is not nice. Not nice at all. Lack of green (trees, lawns etc) makes it look like a concrete monster. And oh, I forgot to say - there is constantly performed maintenance work around the hotel. Painting, deck sanding, high-pressure cleaning, banging, hammering etc..Really painful for your eyes and ears.

I will repeat - STAY AWAY UNLESS YOU ARE DEAF OR HAVE REALLY THICK EAR PLUGS.
Otherwise it is a waste of money only. Hope my opinion helps you.

Room Tip: There is NO good room to choose from. All rooms seem to be exposed on terrible noise coming from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#25 of 148 in Seminyak
659 reviews
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#63 of 148 in Seminyak
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#29 of 148 in Seminyak
579 reviews
0.2 mi away
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali
1.0 mi away
Ize Seminyak
Ize Seminyak
#49 of 148 in Seminyak
1,009 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Bali

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#39 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#50 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#53 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £39 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haven, a resort that brings a natural elegance into one of Bali's most animated areas. With its sophisticated contemporary design, The Haven sits befittingly alongside the chic shopping strips and eclectic mixture of urban dining and party venues of Seminyak. Being only a short distance from the ever-famous Seminyak Beach as well, where we have our very own exclusive Beach Club, this resort is made for the modern traveller coming to Bali, the Island of the Gods. Surrounded by verdant landscaped grounds and two refreshing swimming pools to choose from, that tropical holiday feeling is with you throughout your stay. With 3 complexes of accommodation, our hotel, suites or villas, complete with modern amenities and designer furnishings, there is something for everyone at The Haven Seminyak. This urbane refuge is also home to the alluring Atma Spa, two vibrant international restaurants, a hospitable departure lounge, meeting facilities, a fitness centre and numerous guest activities and facilities. The Haven Seminyak is exactly what it says it is: your exclusive refuge in the very core of Bali's most happening area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Haven Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing