We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Choose the villa and it won't dissappoint!!! heaven at the Haven”
Review of The Haven Bali

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Haven Bali
Ranked #59 of 149 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 24 June 2010

Ignore all the reviews if you are opting for a villa, We did and loved it! We now won't stay anywhere else in Bali, We go twice a year so have stayed at atleast 12 other resorts none as good as this!! The hotel is for the budget travellers hence the price and is situated along jl. seminyak so is good for a party trip, the suites a step up was highly recommended by our friends a young couple. We booked through AGODA and recieved a free night so ended up paying about $250 per night in the Villa. We thought it was worth every cent! Firstly it is massive with a private entrance and it's own 20 meter swimming pool (Approx) surrounded by large walls with decking, outdoor setting and daybeds. Japanese style sliding doors, live orchids thatched roof, slippers and robes. facilities included seperate kitchen with full sized fridge and cooktop. huge flat screen tv with cd and dvd. The bathroom had an inside and outside shower, the biggest bathtub I have ever seen!! The toilet lid lifts as you walk in and heats the seat ready for you then flushes automatically and closes the lid behind you. We were celebrating our first year anniversary and were suprised by a yummy cake. We ride a moped around bali and loved the underground parking for our bike the seat was never wet from rain nor scorching hot from the sun. The spa was friendly and tranquil with running water and soft music the only sounds you heard. We were given 50% off all of our treatments for some reason? Which was a very nice suprise! The only negetive we had was breakfast...it was ok. First morning we ate in the hotel dining area and ordered tea and coffee which never came and the selection of food was more of the savoury indonesian style breakfast kind. The next morning we opted for the suite dining area which had amazing service but still only average food. finally we opted for breakfast at KU-DE-TA which was amazingly yummy!! Ricotta hotcakes with honeycomb sauce and strawberries mmmmmmmm. We love the Haven so much that the breakfast was only minor we will be back for sure!!! Better service,More fruit, even a pancakes station and tastier eggs needed please:) Thank you for looking after us, the privacy of a Villa but with 24 hour room service and all the benefits of a hotel!!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maris80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewimas, Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Dear Maris80,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very happy to hear your wonderful stay in our Villa and have had a satisfactory experience with us on your 1st anniversary. Thank you for highlighting our location value and it is wonderful to know that you enjoy our modern style. We do admit that there are improvement needed for our breakfast we have addressed this to the department concern for their follow up and improvement. Your kind feedback on these is highly appreciated.
We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Haven, Seminyak.

Best regards from Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,660 - 1,666 of 1,949 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2010

My husband and I stayed at The Haven in Seminyak for 8 nights. What a lovely place it is. We stayed in the Hotel rooms and were very impressed. Everything was very clean and the housekeeping staff were very obliging.
We had breakfast every morning in the hotel restaurant and once again the staff were amazing. Remembering our names and made inquires as to whether we were comfortable etc. It was a very nice touch and you felt like you had a connection with some of them. Although there was a large selection for the breakfast menu and food was very nice they did however not have so much selections for the Western visitors. As there appeared to be quite a few of us there staying a little more in western food would have been good.
The grounds were beautifully kept and the swimming pool was very nice and clean.
The Haven is well located and easy to find. It was an easy walk to the beach but if you so desired the Beach club would take you down in their shuttle bus.
All the staff were excellent and could not do enough for you. They were very polite and it was a pleasure to be there.
I would recommend this place to stay in Bali.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jimbern2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewimas, Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Dear Jimandbern,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on TripAdvisor.

We are glad to learn that you have had a great experience at The Haven, Seminyak. Thank you for pointing out some of our Hotel’s value and we are more than happy to share your good comment to all of our staff.

Your comment for Western Menu has been highlighted and it is highly appreiated. We will work with Food and Beverage Department for any future improvement.

We all look forward to welcoming you back to The Haven, Seminyak.

Best regards from Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2010

my wife and I were very happy with all the hotel had to offer it was my wifes first trip overseas and she was concerned about quality and cleanliness but this hotel was above expetations beach service was excellent local restraunts were all very good meals the shopping was good got hounded on the beach but we expected that

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kentige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewimas, Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Dear Kentige,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you have had a wonderful first trip to Bali especialy staying with us at The Haven, Seminyak. Thank you for pointing out the benefits of our location especially happy that we have meet your satisfaction for the quality and cleanliness.
We all look forward to welcoming you and your wife back to The Haven, Seminyak.

Best regards from Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2010

Stayed last week for 10 nights. Very modern and new. Pool area dissappointment in relation to lounges and poolside ammenities. No toilet near Pool, needed to walk all way up through foyer to tolets. Not enough lounges for guests. Upside - they do have an allocated area at the Beach where you can get a lounge and towels. Breakfast very basic, but adequate. Rooms very modern and always well cleaned. If going away with friends, I would opt for a villa next time - and not necessarily at the Haven as they had suites which are more expensive. Plenty of Villas around and they work out much cheaper and more relaxing. Especially in Bali!! My friend whose wedidng I was there for stayed at Villa Coco. Amazing set up!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Magnolia195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewimas, Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Dear Magnolia195,

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to learn that you have enjoyed our room’s style and cleanliness. We do admit that there are improvement needed in for pool area as well breakfast arrangement. Your kind comment is highly appreciated and it will be shared to management. We will also work with Food and Beverage Department regarding your concern for the breakfast creation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Haven, Seminyak.

Best regards from Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2010

Hi There, Had a fantastic time at The Haven in April/ May 2010, but some hiccups that need rectifying. Please alter breakfast. As you are getting an increase in Western attendance, I would recommend adding additional things like yoghurts to your breakfast menu and more selection of fresh fruit, and cereals. The other thing was as we were staying in a family suite, I had a door fall on me in the bathroom and was stuck there for a considerable amount of time until my father could pull it off me. We were offerred an apology, and shifted rooms, but it could have been handled a little bit better I feel. We only had one staff member to move us and sharing with five people, we certainly could have done with more help, especially at midnight. The room we shifted to was ok, but appearred untidy compared to your normal standard, which is usually 3 + stars. It would have been nice and courteous to have been offerred a coffee/cake or meal complimentary as an apology. You certainly have a very nice hotel, and will stay there again, but a little bit of PR goes along way. We have recommended your suites/hotel to other people in Australia, and know of 4 other confirmed bookings. Your staff are wonderful and make people feel very welcomed. Please note I had also contacted your website to get information on your day spa, approximately 4 weeks before we were due to stay at the hotel. Just so that you are aware YOU are LOSING business, as of June I am still waiting for a reply.

  • Stayed: May 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank princess-fiona69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewimas, Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2010

Dear Princess-Fiona69,
Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on TripAdvisor.

On the other hand, please kindly apologies the inconvenience experience in the bathroom and we will make sure to the department concern to do proper maintenance and proper check to avoid the same things happen in the future. We do admit as well that there are some areas that needs improvement, such as our breakfast. We will share with Food and Beverage Department regarding to your concern about additional menu for breakfast.

We are glad to learn that you have recommended our hotel in Australia and we certainly looking forward to welcoming you back as well as the other first timer guest to The Haven, Seminyak.

Best regards from Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2010

This feedback is purely focusing on the restaurant as I did not stay in the hotel. I was with my wife when we decided to try out their buffer dinner.

Firstly, the choice of food was surprising limited,
- A small salad bar
- Plain Rice and Soup
- Baked potatos and Corns
- 2 choices of local cakes for dessert
- 1 choice of fish, beef, chicken, pork rib, satay (was told that there was, but it was never there)

Secondly, there's only one counter grilling these BBQ meat, the queuing will take 15 mins, and cooking another 15mins.

Thirdly, after waiting for 30 mins, the fish was not cooked and the pork ribs were cold when it was served to us.

Lastly, service was bad as the staff just took my plate, and re-cooked everything when I told them that the food was not cooked.

Not even an apology by the manager when I told him that this was the worst meal I had in bali for my whole trip.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank nitezzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewimas, Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Dear ‘Nitezzz’

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in dining with us on TripAdvisor.

We are very sorry to learn about your dining experience with us. Our restaurant is quite busy recently due to the high occupancy level at the Hotel. However, this is no reason to justify your experience.

We have shared this with the related team to evaluate their food and service quality in order to prevent this from happening again to any of our guests in the future.

Best regards from Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

Great hotel located along the main shopping street with easy access to restaurants and a less than 5 min walk to the Bintang supermarket. It's less than a year old so the hotel and room furnishings are still in good condition. The pools are great too. We booked a standard room but was given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite which was really beautifully designed. The suite had a big bathtub, separate shower and toilet. Bed was comfortable too. We had 2 flat screen TVs with ample cable channels to choose from.

The hotel staff were very friendly and helpful. They remembered your name too. When we checked out, the staff helped us to get a taxi to the airport and reminded us to set aside enough money to cover the departure tax.

We took advantage of a promotion (50% discount on treatments during selected hours) to check out the spa services. Our massage was OK for the discounted price. Paying the full price would not have been worth it. During our treatment, the music being played was blastingly loud. We had to check the masseur to tone it down. The massage ended with a floral bath and whilst my husband and I were soaking in the tub in our birthday suits, the masseur came in without knocking to serve drinks! I would have preferred to have the drinks served after we have changed up.

The other minus point is the breakfast. The spread is simple but the food isn't great. This wasn't a major issue with us since good restaurants were within easy reach.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SSYong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dewimas, Manager at The Haven Bali, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2010

Dear ‘SSYong’

Greetings from The Haven Seminyak!

Thank you for taking your time to share your recent experience in staying with us on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to learn that to learn that you have had a great stay with us. Thank you for pointing out the benefits of our location, our facilities and we are especially happy that you have mentioned about our staff.

On the other hand, we do appreciate your feedback in regards to your experience in our Spa and during breakfast. We will share this among the concerning team and to train our staff and improve our food quality in order to meet with our standards of quality and service accordingly.
We look forward to welcoming you back to The Haven Seminyak!

Best regards from Bali.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#31 of 149 in Seminyak
686 reviews
1 mi away
IZE Seminyak
IZE Seminyak
#50 of 149 in Seminyak
1,050 reviews
1.9 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Horison Seminyak
Hotel Horison Seminyak
#62 of 149 in Seminyak
1,092 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#27 of 149 in Seminyak
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 149 in Seminyak
727 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Haven Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Haven Bali

Address: Jl. Raya Seminyak 500, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#30 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#48 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#52 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £38 - £95 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Haven Bali 4*
Number of rooms: 192
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Haven, a resort that brings a natural elegance into one of Bali's most animated areas. With its sophisticated contemporary design, The Haven sits befittingly alongside the chic shopping strips and eclectic mixture of urban dining and party venues of Seminyak. Being only a short distance from the ever-famous Seminyak Beach as well, where we have our very own exclusive Beach Club, this resort is made for the modern traveller coming to Bali, the Island of the Gods. Surrounded by verdant landscaped grounds and two refreshing swimming pools to choose from, that tropical holiday feeling is with you throughout your stay. With 3 complexes of accommodation, our hotel, suites or villas, complete with modern amenities and designer furnishings, there is something for everyone at The Haven Seminyak. This urbane refuge is also home to the alluring Atma Spa, two vibrant international restaurants, a hospitable departure lounge, meeting facilities, a fitness centre and numerous guest activities and facilities. The Haven Seminyak is exactly what it says it is: your exclusive refuge in the very core of Bali's most happening area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your The Haven Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Haven Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Seminyak Hotel And Suites
The Haven Hotel Seminyak
The Haven Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing