We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's The W”
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #19 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“It's The W”
Reviewed 2 September 2011

We started our vacation at the W Bali because we were worried about being jetlagged in some strange, unfamiliar hotel. My wife loves W hotels and trusts the brand, so even though it was at the high end of our budget, we started here.

With two nights in a villa and three nights in the regular hotel, we enjoyed the W. The Villas are amazing, although they're not really close to the water or hotel. They have little golf carts, aka "the buggy," to drop you off and pick you up.

The regular room was pretty nice, and I thought the shower in it was actually cooler than the shower in the villa, but otherwise it was pretty standard. They "upgraded" us to an ocean view room, which was at the very and of a hall, overlooking a lawn, some construction and some little place where roosters lived. Still, the balcony was nice and we could see the ocean.

The spa is pretty incredible, as you'd expect. However, with Bali, you can walk down the street and get a good massage for $10 instead of dropping $100 on one here. Is breathing from an oxygen tank worth the extra $90?

The food was pretty good, though very expensive, as you might expect. We left the hotel to buy our beers and wine and went out to dinner in Seminyak at some different places. We tried the steak restaurant at the W and it was good, but probably not worth the $300 we dropped on dinner.

Overall, the staff was very friendly, the location is good, the rooms are immaculate, the spa is good, the man pool area wasn't over-crowded. If you're on a budget it's not the place, but it is nice.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jtherkal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Hello Jtherkal,

Thank you for your post. I am delighted to hear that you were able to experience both the villas and retreats. The skylights in the Retreat bathrooms are a nice touch and make the room seem more open. It is great that you were able to try the steaks at FIRE; they are some of the best in town. We are happy that you chose to stay with us and hopefully there is a chance you will return.

All the best,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,339
    574
    181
    86
    47
See reviews for
588
1,483
142
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (819)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 31 August 2011

Capital S-poilt rotten is the best way to describe our experience at the W Retreat & Spa Bali – Seminyak. An amazing break for 3 friends was a much needed rescue from the Melbourne winter. From our First meeting Craig Seaward, our GM was approachable and friendly. Craig included us in a couple of hotel get togethers, which we thoroughly enjoyed. We were treated with every consideration & care by Craig and his welcoming team. Our spirits were boosted by the breakfast experience. Even at our most fragile post party stages of recovery, the gourmet breakfast saved us. Every day started off with a laugh with the welcoming Master Chefs, Ian Lovie and Jack Yoss. We were dined, wined and entertained by the thoroughly professional and attentive staff.
The pool is an oasis, the gym – state of the art & the spa was luxurious. Oxygen anyone ? The hotel rooms are extremely comfortable, with enormous bathroom facilities. Every attention to detail was taken care of.
Thanks for a wonderful stay. We will be back…. And that’s no false promise.
We love you , “W”.
Regards
D. E. F.
(Dee / Elizabeth & Fiorina

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 26 September 2011
Hello Ladies,

It certainly was a pleasure meeting you three and we are happy to hear that you felt well taken care of! We all look forward to welcoming you back sooner rather than later…the breakfast will be waiting for you.

All the best,
Craig
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
176 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2011

Very groovy, not sure who thought of creating the roughest road in Bali as the drive. The crowded area around the pool needs more shade, fine for the euro"s who haven"t heard of skin cancer. But not for more sun aware Aussies.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andrew f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2011

I just came back from an southeast asian trip and have to say the W in seminyak is one of the best hotels I know. I stayed on points and was upgraded to a pool villa although I have booked the lowest category! The hotel is brand new and has great style! The villa had its own pool approximately 3m*5m was equiped with a chillout area, bose sound in the room and garden, great bathroom and of course flat screen! I can really highly recommend this hotel and I am sure it's the best in Bali!The hotel has also two restaurants! I only tried fire a steakhoise which was very good and was fairly priced in consideration of the hotel it is located in, nevertheless I would recommend to go at leats for lunch to restaurant right next to the W on the beach which offers great seafood for about 5 euros a dish and very nice seating!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Hello Chrisi1988,

Thank you for your WOW review! We are glad to hear that W Bali scored high points during your Southeast Asia trip. If you are looking for a chill out spot – the villas are perfect. Fire does have a great selection, but next time you return, make sure to try Starfish Bloo.

I haven’t tried Leats, but will certainly check it out. Thanks for the recommendation.

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

We stayed here for the last 3 nights of our honeymoon and thoroughly enjoyed everything about this hotel. The rooms are massive with fabulous bathrooms. The food is delicious and I was wowed by the extensive breakfast selection on offer at Fire. The pool and seating areas are brilliant. Furthermore, the staff all offered an exceptional level of service.

I haven't stayed at a W hotel before but would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Hello Katie S,

Thank you for your fantastic review. We are excited that you chose W Bali as your first W Experience and now understand the level of service and standards you can expect from the W Brand. Hopefully you will continue spreading the word and we look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

omg! Thats the word that comes to my mind abt W! Its sooo beautiful! The hotel is just right! The rooms overlook the beautiful beach of seminyak. The rooms are upholstered in the most serene of greens and whites! The open bathrooms opening upto the ceiling add a special touch to the Rooms. The food is great and the service is good too. The hotel is huge and right in the centre of Seminyak. It is sorrounded with the market and good food joints. A Tad bit expensive but if you can afford the price - go for it!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NehaGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 30 August 2011
Hello NehaGG,

What a reaction and what a great review – thank you! When all the facets come together, and all the senses are stimulated – that is when you know you are having a W experience. I am happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the W. The design is beautiful. The location is beautiful. We didn't come to play in the ocean or walk to town - neither of which is easy/advised from here. Pools are nice. Staff works hard. Overall, a nice place, but not sure I would have ever payed full price (used cash and points) because the value to money ratio might have changed my opinion a bit.
Nice gym. Great bikes to use (free) - one way to get to town, but not for the easily spooked as there are no bike lines that we could find. The vibe here is a little hard to define. I know they can't make it adults-only, but it feels like it is pulling in a hip adult crowd and then suddenly a screaming child runs through the lobby. Just a strange mix.

The hotel was very kind and helped us celebrate our anniversary with a cocktail and a room upgrade. Much appreciated.

So, what's the downside? Our room never felt clean. There was a strange smell that was either something rotten or a durian hidden in our room - or a slow gas leak. One morning, it was so strong that I called to ask them to come up and mask it with something. If they came to do it, it never helped. The room is full of hard surfaces - tile and polished concrete. Beautiful, but very easy to see when they have not been wiped down - which they weren't very regularly. Finally, I will advise that you check your bill regularly for mini-bar charges that are not yours. We got them cleared up, but it happened to us twice while we were there and it meant that we spent part of our vacation trying to fix a situation that was not our fault.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny0573
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W_Bali_Seminyak, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 29 August 2011
Hello Sunny 0573,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am glad you enjoyed your overall W Experience and apologize for the misses we had. I will speak with our Style Department to find out what happened so to ensure that future guests do not have this issue. We do have very high standard when it comes to hygiene and cleanliness. In regards to the mini bar charges – this should not have happened and I’m sure that the Welcome Team were diligent in assisting with this issue.

Please feel free to contact me if you would like to discuss your issues further: gm.craig.seaward@whotels.com.

Warm wishes,
Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
875 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,599 reviews
1.5 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Property: W Bali - Seminyak
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing