We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Quality, but Tacky. Not a special experience in Bali.”
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #18 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 February 2013

If you are looking for a resort that is not that much different from one you might find overlooking a beach in Florida, California, Mexico, or Austrailia then you have found what you are looking for. Upon arrival (day or night) you are greeted by the ever present experience of color changing LED lights at every turn. To sum up the W has taken everyone of their tropes in NY or HK and applied it in their Bali resort. That said, if you are looking for something familiar that trys to be trendy and hip then its what you are looking for. Pool is so so, enormous, but shallow. The main restaurant is partially subterranean, and hidden behind the pool bar and wedding pavilion so no view of the water. Beach is virtually unswimmable and staff do their best to keep people out of the ocean. There is a strong undertow so it is justified and there have ben a few near drownings. If you go in staff will try to call you in. If you ignore them, don't go in deeper than where you can stand. Rooms are nice, but I can't say enough that the hotel could be anywhere, you can find many more varied and appealing experiences in Bali than this one - which could only be described as W standard applique.

Room Tip: Stayed on the top floor with a skylight over the bathroom, but not much view. Recommend trying a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank m123178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello m123178,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your W Bali experience the way we hoped you would, but we are a very different type of hotel to others here in Bali. The Hotel has so many Balinese aspects within the property, and the designers spend a lot of time incorporating the Hindu culture throughout the Retreat, for which we have received many accolades to date. All of these are a very modern interpretation to what you may find at traditional Balinese hotels, and these elements are found all over the property from the Balinese style open plan living in the villas, the village environment of the villa gardens, the Oasis traditional Balinese Unkel Unkel and water ponds, to the rice field swimming pools, and Kecak dance inspired design of Fire Restaurant, the traditional Balinese daily parade, to all the design features in the rooms, public space and talent wardrobe.

Whilst these are in a modern format we do respect that these may not appeal to all our guests, who may look for traditional aspects in their hotel experience. Our passion points are design, fashion and music and the retreat has been built around these elements as well as “conceal and reveal”, what you see and what you don’t see, an important part of the Balinese culture of Sekala and Niscala.

I do hope if you return to Bali you might consider us again.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,572)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,504 - 2,510 of 3,572 reviews

Reviewed 24 February 2013

The W is simply stunning..the attention to detail that has gone into every element is truly impressive..with the number of photos we took of the resort evidence enough of a gorgeous setting, grounds and rooms (sea view). Great location in seminyak on the beach and walking distance to the excellent Sarong restaurant and potato head!
Staff were very friendly and attentive and we loved the hip modern vibe that the W creates so well.

Only minor negative was woo bar, which whilst a fabulous place for sunset cocktails, was on the pricy side, more expensive than ku de ta and potato head (does have happy hour though 5-6 mon to thurs so make the most of that)

Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: A sea view is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SunnyDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello SunnyDesi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback.

I am happy that enjoyed your time at W Bali. The design narrative of the hotel is fantastic and colourful playground of Seminyak does have a lot to offer.

I apologise that you found Woo bar expensive, do rest assured that price comparisons do take place and our prices our aligned.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another W experience.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was our first trip to Bali and our first time travelling with our 7 month old son. As soon as we arrived at The W any staff that were around greeted us and helped us proceed to check in. Our son is a blonde haired, blue eyed happy little boy and everyone loved him. They would take him for cuddles and show him round to all the other staff. Our Villa was amazing. We stayed in number 63. It was so quiet, never heard anyone else around. There were so many extra items in our room that were free, way more than any other hotel. A proper cot was delivered to our room along with an Avent Bottle Steriliser and a Bottle warmer (no charge). Every time we passed a staff member they all said hello and stopped to ask about our son. The pool is wonderful, & we were always able to find a lounge. Food and drink in all of the locations is delicious and the service was so quick. We will definitely be returning, not only is the hotel beautiful, the staff are so welcoming and friendly.

There's a mini mart out the front that we bought bottled water from and a wonderful little massage place called Beatrix. Just up the road is Potato Head Beach Club, Sarong and the best restaurant we found outside of the W called The Slippery Stone. They are all definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chelsea_Aston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello Chelsea_Aston,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay at W Bali. It does sound like you found the time to enjoy the experiences within the retreat and the colourful playground of Seminyak surrounding W Bali.

I will pass your comments back to our talent and again it does make me happy to hear that your family received the standard of service at W Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

When in Bali, it would be nice to stay in a typical Bali resort with typical Balinese design and typical Balinese accommodation. BUT we can also choose to stay in a not so typical hotel but still be Have the Balinese flavor and hospitality.

We really enjoyed our stay at W Resort & Spa. What made it more special for us are the little things: quirky touches, whimsical designs & quiet elegance.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mannyandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello mannyandmabel,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed the design narrative. The Hotel does have many Balinese aspects within the property, and the designers spent a lot of time incorporating the Hindu culture throughout the Retreat. All of these are a very modern interpretation to what you may find at traditional Balinese hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I would like to thank you for the special care during our stay in W Bali for our anniversary celebration. With the special room amenity, we feel really warm welcome. All staffs are very friendly with smile. No question to recommend for staying this hotel. Every morning wake up with the ocean view and blue sky. With this first sight everyday, you know how you can enjoy the day overthere.

Again, I need to thank for Ms. Ilmi and Mr. Fido for so much care during our stay. Sure, we will come back with our next visit.

Room Tip: We stay in 5th floor suite which is top floor and we got the bath room with open top by electrical b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank estherfungyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello estherfungyy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your time at W Bali and that you experienced the standard of service that I would expect.

I will pass your comments onto your talent, they will be happy to hear that they assisted in making such a special occasion a memorable one for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to W Bali soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2013 via mobile

This W has done it right. From the moment you step your foot on the property you are treated like royalty. Every staff member greets you with a smile and is wiling to help you with anything. Kids are also treated extremely well. Food was superb. Grounds were so clean and modern and fresh. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lizzie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello Lizzie R,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am happy that you had a fantastic time at W Bali. I will pass your kind feedback onto our talent, they will be delighted to hear that they assisted in making your holiday a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another W experience!

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We recently spent 10 nights at the W in December. All I can say is WOW. The resort its self is amazing. The only comment I would say is there is nothing traditional or local about it. The hotel really lives upto the W brand. Everything was branded beautifully, w here w there it was everywhere. The rooms are like small apartments, the bathrooms as big as living areas, views to die for. The breakfast selection in Fire was enormous, there is both a la carte and buffet or both. The staff never say no to anything. We also had breakfast at starfish bloo one morning this area is normally for villa guests however as always the hotel staff were happy to accommodate us. Complimentary sunscreen by the pool was great, bathroom products are as good as the reviews suggest, food was great there is a fantastic Bose sound system in the room. Having stayed at many 5 star properties I would have to say the quality of this property is the best I have seen. It is very bright and modern and might suit a younger market but it is defiantly worth a visit. The only other negative I would mention is the fact we booked through corporate traveller and not the hotel direct and we were certainly treated differently for not booking directly. Things like our SPG benefits were not offered as we did not book directly with hotel. At the end of the day the deal we got on the accommodation far outweighed their SPG benefits I just didn't appreciate the comments like "sorry sir you did book through an external agency" overall loved the place and we have rebooked in August 2013....

Room Tip: Level 4 or 5 has the bathroom skylights.... Amazing concept.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AzzaBMW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2013

Hello AzzaBMW,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback during your stay with us.

The Hotel has many Balinese aspects within the property, and the designers spend a lot of time incorporating the Hindu culture throughout the Retreat, for which we have received many accolades to date. All of these are a very modern interpretation to what you may find at traditional Balinese hotels, and these elements are found all over the property from the Balinese style open plan living in the villas, the village environment of the villa gardens, the Oasis traditional Balinese Unkel Unkel and water ponds, to the rice field swimming pools, and Kecak dance inspired design of Fire Restaurant, the traditional Balinese daily parade, to all the design features in the rooms, public space and talent wardrobe. Whilst these are in a modern format we do respect that these may not appeal to all our guests, who may look for traditional aspects in their hotel experience.

I am happy to hear that aside from the design narrative you did check out of W Bali with the Wow factor!

Al the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 148 in Seminyak
1,620 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 148 in Seminyak
1,154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 148 in Seminyak
1,735 reviews
1.5 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 148 in Seminyak
1,839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £202 - £414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing