We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“W for Waste of Time..” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #25 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“W for Waste of Time..”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

I have long been a traveller to Bali, and have always had a fantastic time at W - Seminyak, they have always been courteous, and aligned with the "Whenever, Whatever" policy, until recently..

Having to pay a premium to stay in such an establishment, you would expect a premium level of service, however recently they have instigated an offer for anyone who is interested, to use the W facilities for the mere amount of $15.00 per person for the whole day. This makes the pool area overcrowded, and busier than if they were only to allow guests staying at the hotel to utilise.

I will definitely be looking elsewhere to stay from now on in Bali, and look forward to seeing the Potato Head Hotel opening up soon.

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the crowds around the pool get yourself a pool villa, with its own plunge pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Constant_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 March 2013
Hello Constant_Traveller04,

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor comments and sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the overall W Bali experience this time round because of your wet deck experience.
We certainly value our return customers and your opinion is very important to us, but the allowing of outside guests using the facilities is something that we have done since opening over quieter months of the year. This was not implemented to inconvenience house guests, but a way of keeping the W atmosphere alive at the happening hub of the retreat during lower occupancy periods. We do appreciate that there is a fine line between those customers who like the Wet deck busy and vibrant, and those who would like it to be quieter.
We do have many pool attendants, who assist guests find pool loungers, and we are sorry in your case this did not happen and that you were inconvenienced as a result.
We will ensure that we review our policy and keep our house guests as top priority in future.

Best personal regards,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,019 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,161
    551
    179
    82
    46
See reviews for
538
1,401
136
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (785)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013 via mobile

Get ready for the wow experience.. Right from the VIP immigration at the airport.. Pick up, check in.. Travel arrangements.. Everything was jus WOW:)
The attention to detail is perfect..only thing that I found lacking was a lil bit of privacy for the bathrooms.. Or a little bit of color for the corridors.. It's too dull.. Woo bar is nice.. Pools are clean and beautiful.. Lobby is beautiful.. Day beds are luxurious! Room is nicely done.. And if u r going for a special occasion, like we went for our wedding anniversary celebrations, get ready to be wowed by their special complimentary service:)

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GPAPAP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello GPAPAP,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am delighted to hear that experienced the WOW factor during your time at W Bali.

It does sound like you took the time to enjoy everything the resort has on offer from indulgent moments in our restaurants to relaxing time at WET.

We look forward to welcoming you back and offering another Wow experience.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2013

If you are looking for a resort that is not that much different from one you might find overlooking a beach in Florida, California, Mexico, or Austrailia then you have found what you are looking for. Upon arrival (day or night) you are greeted by the ever present experience of color changing LED lights at every turn. To sum up the W has taken everyone of their tropes in NY or HK and applied it in their Bali resort. That said, if you are looking for something familiar that trys to be trendy and hip then its what you are looking for. Pool is so so, enormous, but shallow. The main restaurant is partially subterranean, and hidden behind the pool bar and wedding pavilion so no view of the water. Beach is virtually unswimmable and staff do their best to keep people out of the ocean. There is a strong undertow so it is justified and there have ben a few near drownings. If you go in staff will try to call you in. If you ignore them, don't go in deeper than where you can stand. Rooms are nice, but I can't say enough that the hotel could be anywhere, you can find many more varied and appealing experiences in Bali than this one - which could only be described as W standard applique.

Room Tip: Stayed on the top floor with a skylight over the bathroom, but not much view. Recommend trying a vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank m123178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello m123178,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

Sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your W Bali experience the way we hoped you would, but we are a very different type of hotel to others here in Bali. The Hotel has so many Balinese aspects within the property, and the designers spend a lot of time incorporating the Hindu culture throughout the Retreat, for which we have received many accolades to date. All of these are a very modern interpretation to what you may find at traditional Balinese hotels, and these elements are found all over the property from the Balinese style open plan living in the villas, the village environment of the villa gardens, the Oasis traditional Balinese Unkel Unkel and water ponds, to the rice field swimming pools, and Kecak dance inspired design of Fire Restaurant, the traditional Balinese daily parade, to all the design features in the rooms, public space and talent wardrobe.

Whilst these are in a modern format we do respect that these may not appeal to all our guests, who may look for traditional aspects in their hotel experience. Our passion points are design, fashion and music and the retreat has been built around these elements as well as “conceal and reveal”, what you see and what you don’t see, an important part of the Balinese culture of Sekala and Niscala.

I do hope if you return to Bali you might consider us again.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

The W is simply stunning..the attention to detail that has gone into every element is truly impressive..with the number of photos we took of the resort evidence enough of a gorgeous setting, grounds and rooms (sea view). Great location in seminyak on the beach and walking distance to the excellent Sarong restaurant and potato head!
Staff were very friendly and attentive and we loved the hip modern vibe that the W creates so well.

Only minor negative was woo bar, which whilst a fabulous place for sunset cocktails, was on the pricy side, more expensive than ku de ta and potato head (does have happy hour though 5-6 mon to thurs so make the most of that)

Would definitely go back!

Room Tip: A sea view is definitely worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunnyDesi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello SunnyDesi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your constructive feedback.

I am happy that enjoyed your time at W Bali. The design narrative of the hotel is fantastic and colourful playground of Seminyak does have a lot to offer.

I apologise that you found Woo bar expensive, do rest assured that price comparisons do take place and our prices our aligned.

We look forward to welcoming you back for another W experience.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

This was our first trip to Bali and our first time travelling with our 7 month old son. As soon as we arrived at The W any staff that were around greeted us and helped us proceed to check in. Our son is a blonde haired, blue eyed happy little boy and everyone loved him. They would take him for cuddles and show him round to all the other staff. Our Villa was amazing. We stayed in number 63. It was so quiet, never heard anyone else around. There were so many extra items in our room that were free, way more than any other hotel. A proper cot was delivered to our room along with an Avent Bottle Steriliser and a Bottle warmer (no charge). Every time we passed a staff member they all said hello and stopped to ask about our son. The pool is wonderful, & we were always able to find a lounge. Food and drink in all of the locations is delicious and the service was so quick. We will definitely be returning, not only is the hotel beautiful, the staff are so welcoming and friendly.

There's a mini mart out the front that we bought bottled water from and a wonderful little massage place called Beatrix. Just up the road is Potato Head Beach Club, Sarong and the best restaurant we found outside of the W called The Slippery Stone. They are all definitely worth a look.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chelsea_Aston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello Chelsea_Aston,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us.

I am happy to hear that your enjoyed your stay at W Bali. It does sound like you found the time to enjoy the experiences within the retreat and the colourful playground of Seminyak surrounding W Bali.

I will pass your comments back to our talent and again it does make me happy to hear that your family received the standard of service at W Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tuao, cagayan
Level Contributor
111 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2013 via mobile

When in Bali, it would be nice to stay in a typical Bali resort with typical Balinese design and typical Balinese accommodation. BUT we can also choose to stay in a not so typical hotel but still be Have the Balinese flavor and hospitality.

We really enjoyed our stay at W Resort & Spa. What made it more special for us are the little things: quirky touches, whimsical designs & quiet elegance.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mannyandmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello mannyandmabel,

Thank you for your constructive feedback.

I am glad you enjoyed the design narrative. The Hotel does have many Balinese aspects within the property, and the designers spent a lot of time incorporating the Hindu culture throughout the Retreat. All of these are a very modern interpretation to what you may find at traditional Balinese hotels.

We look forward to welcoming you back.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2013

I would like to thank you for the special care during our stay in W Bali for our anniversary celebration. With the special room amenity, we feel really warm welcome. All staffs are very friendly with smile. No question to recommend for staying this hotel. Every morning wake up with the ocean view and blue sky. With this first sight everyday, you know how you can enjoy the day overthere.

Again, I need to thank for Ms. Ilmi and Mr. Fido for so much care during our stay. Sure, we will come back with our next visit.

Room Tip: We stay in 5th floor suite which is top floor and we got the bath room with open top by electrical b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank estherfungyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 5 March 2013
Hello estherfungyy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback.

I am very happy that you enjoyed your time at W Bali and that you experienced the standard of service that I would expect.

I will pass your comments onto your talent, they will be happy to hear that they assisted in making such a special occasion a memorable one for you.

We look forward to welcoming you back to W Bali soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 141 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 726 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.8 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#12 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,548 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#4 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Property: W Bali - Seminyak
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#23 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#24 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo, TravelUp, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing