We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel in Balinese Standards, Price Debatable...”
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #22 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Mermaid Beach, Australia
1 review
“Great Hotel in Balinese Standards, Price Debatable...”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

It has the potential to be a 5 star hotel and upwards if some basic attention to detail was fulfilled correctly. to achieve 5 star rating I believe a hotel must only meet a few criterions.
But to truly keep your guests happy don't miss the fundamental procedures.
We stayed in a Villa for 6 nights and everything was almost perfect.
We got a discount down to $600 per night so we were happy in that respect however, when paying this kind of figure and upwards the holiday makers in my opinion would be quite fastidious and have quite high standards as far as cleanliness goes. As i mentioned almost perfect, but not quite.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nernest161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Hello nernest161,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed yout stay with us but I am disappointed to hear that you didn't receive the standard of service I would except. I will revert back to our style team to prevent and overcome any future problem.

We look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit and will make sure that you receive the wow factor!

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,288
    571
    181
    85
    47
See reviews for
583
1,458
141
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (810)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

My family and I had a great stay! The property is beautiful and the staff are well trained and friendly. We had a few small issues that the GM was very responsive to. Highly recommended for travelers to Bali who want a high end experience in Seminyak.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello Mark W,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and the W Bali experience.

It was a pleasure to meet with you and we do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Hello,

my boyfriend and I stayed at the W from Dec 24th to Dec 26th. We were welcome by a very nicely staff and brought to our room. The room is really well decorated and the music playing with the Bose Sound System put us in a great mood.

We went to enjoy the pool the next morning and it was FILTHY. I am wearing goggles so i can see clearly what is happening underwater. There were mucus, white non identified pieces floating around…I told the reception, she said she'd tell the staff but nothing was done…

We had dinner at Fire which was really good, i would recommend it. but the breakfast is very limited and does not offer good quality products…I was expecting more for a 5 star hotel…

in conclusion, the rooms are really nice (although not brand new, the couch on our patio was full of stain, the shower drainage was dirty….), the service is really good, people are smiling to you all the time but does it deserve to spend USD 500 a night….i don't think so…

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Hello Pris S,

Thank you for sharing your current feedback. I am happy to hear that you selected W Retreat and Spa Bali as your destination choice. Our pools are treated daily, the mucus that you experienced is the chlorine balancing and controlling the PH levels of WET. I am disappointed to hear that the breakfast in FIRE was not to your expectations, we do assure that we have a vast range of culinary delights on offer.

Do reach out to me upon your next visit so I can personally oversee your W experience.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortemart, France
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2013

Great location,friendly and fairly efficient staff(though we did have to phone down twice for our luggage)but you don't have glass walls in the toilet and bathroom if you haven't got the staff to clean them!
The cleaning was the main thing that let them down.This I believe is meant to be a 5 star hotel and for Bali,I'm sure it is,from the exterior it has all the trappings,but scratch just a little and the attention to detail lets them down,as I said the cleaning,it just wasn't done properly,leaving stains on most if not all the surfaces,toilet not cleaned,towels just left, things not arranged.
However,if you have the chance go and try and get an ocean facing room,it's worth the extra money.
The two restaurants there,Starfish Bloo and Fire,are worth eating in too,especially Fire,no doubt the best meal we had in the 2 weeks we were in Bali(but only 2 nights at the W)
Would recommend,yes,but perhaps not stay there again,does that make sense?

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank carmes2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 2 January 2014
Hello Carmes2,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. It does help to recieve such constructive feedback to assist us in consistantly improving our standards. I will revert back to our style director with your comments, to prevent future issues. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your dining experience in FIRE.

We do hope that you will return to W Bali in the future.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago Ridge, Illinois
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

This property is absolutely gorgeous and the service is unmatchable so you will not be disappointed. It is definitely worth the splurge and you will NOT regret it. The property is off set the main street so is right on a private beach which has black sand and beautiful sunsets (even if it rains during the day). There is tons of security and staff on hand and absolutely everyone is smiling at you and genuinely willing to do anything to make your stay more enjoyable. The pool area is gorgeous and great for relaxing - they have tons of options to relax including huge pillows that are like bean bags, lounge chairs and day beds that are great. You can also get drinks served directly to the pool so you can swim and enjoy a cocktail. There are several restaurant options so you can sit outside and enjoy a snack or a full dinner. The food was all delicious and the service is again impeccable.

The breakfast buffet is something that deserves a call out of its own. It is a gourmet buffet and you will leave just being truly wowed. You can still get items made to order (plenty of egg dishes - the egg benedict with salmon was to die for) and the other options are endless. They have sweet and savory with a fondue fountain and a honeycomb (the actual honeycomb) for fresh honey each morning. Of course, everything is extremely friendly and helpful during the entire dining experience.

The rooms itself are also spectacular - we were in a standard garden room and even that was equivalent of the presidential suite at other hotels. There were his and her sinks, a retractable skylight over the shower, a tub, and the bed was separated from the vanity. There was tons of space and the bed was extremely comfortable.

There is also a very nice gym and spa which are great for rainy days. The property will also arrange any type of transportation, dinner reservations that you need - the concierge was amazing and set up dinner for us every night even getting us reservations at Naughty Nuries which is very difficult to get in and you can only get reservations on special request.

Also, this property is in a wonderful area (if you can manage to ever get yourself to leave the hotel…). There are tons of really nice and delicious restaurants about a 7 min cab ride away including tons of adorable boutiques for shopping. It is in a very upscale and nice area.

I cannot speak more highly about this property and staff and you must stay here if you are making the trip to Bali. I truly hope I can return in the near future!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello Amanda Z,

Thank you for sharing such constructive feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your W experience from our rooms to restaurants and away Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next wow experience.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 26 December 2013 via mobile

Amazing private pool villa. Loved the day bed - essential for afternoon snoozing. Great amenities and brilliant service. Although expensive, it was perfect for a romantic trip away. The restaurants were good, but more value for money and good food can be found very close by.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Hello Anggota,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to hear that you had a fantastic romantic trip to W Bali. It does sound like you found the time to enjoy the colourful playground of Seminyak.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for your next wow experience!

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

From the moment you drive through the long bamboo arched driveway you know you are somewhere special.

The foyer is amazing and the Staff are very attentive to you and your needs, from check in to the whole time you are staying there.

The food at Fire restaurant is amazing, however I was a little let down by their breakfast, being in Bali I was expecting a feast!! The buffet breakfast was quite small and they did take a little while to serve tea and coffee.

The Woo bar was amazing, playing great music and the drinks were great! A little pricy, however it was to be expected as it is a W resort.

The rooms were clean and I loved the Bose sound system!!! The view was amazing too, overlooking the pool and beach.

It was a great resort and a good getaway for couples!

Room Tip: Get the ocean View deluxe, you can hear the waves crashing at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoJo0182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Hello Jojo0182,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay at W Bali and found the time to enjoy our restaurants and venues. I will pass your kind comments back to our talent, they will be delighted to hear that they asissted in making your stay a memorable one!

We look forward to welcoming you back soon for a little more Wow factor!

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,747 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Property: W Bali - Seminyak
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#20 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#21 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing