We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like nothing I've stayed in before”
Review of W Bali - Seminyak

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
W Bali - Seminyak
Ranked #19 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Like nothing I've stayed in before”
Reviewed 1 February 2014

This resort was incredible. I've never stayed at a hotel/resort that made you feel like a kid discovering all the little little things.
The restaurants were fantastic and the staff really friendly. Restaurants seemed reasonably priced (not cheap for Bali).
Our room was simply amazing, from the time you walk in there's so much to explore. the bathroom was massive. Loved the music that was playing on the Bose system, wish I had bought the CD.
SPA - we had a couples treatments and it was 3 hours of amazing. really loved the spa, never seen anything like it before.
Breakfast - love that restaurant, lots of great food options.
Pool - superb pool, loved lounging around in it.

Only pity is you couldn't swim at the beach here. Would definitely go back and a very nice start for our first W experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travellerlaw80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Travellerlaw80,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. I am happy you found the time to enjoy our restaurants and venues.

We do look forward to welcoming you back for more indulgent and relaxing moments.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,349
    577
    181
    86
    47
See reviews for
593
1,488
142
111
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (820)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed at the W from 28 Dec to 2nd Jan.
We stayed in a 1bedroom pool villa.
The pool villas are located a short walk away (furthest one probably takes 5 minutes brisk walk from reception). No need to walk though as there is always boys available to drive you in the golf carts they use to buggy guests to and from their villa.
The hotel has some great artwork and their are things to look at everywhere like coffee table books, art installations etc you can sit on one area and play chess or another area is just for looking out over the pools and ocean. All very comfortable lounges and beanbags everywhere!
The villa was very private and immaculate.
There are many nice touches like little arrival cupcakes, mozzie coils outside, great slippers, bath loafers, good enough products (although for 700 a night I thought the products might be a bit better).
The beds are beautiful and comfortable and the sound system fantastic with adjustable indoor and outdoor speakers.
We asked staff for some blow up pool beds and they lent us some within the hour proving their them of whatever, whenever really works.
The breakfasts (either restaurant) are amazing with so many choices you could never try everything. The pick your own mug for your coffee (pick from dog mugs, flag mugs, plain mugs etc) at Fire restaurant is very cute.
The Woo Bar out the back is very cool and is a great place to sip cocktails and watch the sunset. On NYE they put on a huge party and the set up was amazing.
The Spa is open 24/7 and has so many things like 2 plunge pools, oxygen masks, sauna, its own bar, a relax room then the treatments which you can arrange for any of the the day. Prices at the W are not cheap so dont expect to get a massage for less than $80AUD per hour.
The location is good if you want to walk to a couple of great restaurants ie Sarong or Metih Purih but it is located just out of Main Street of Seminyak so its a good 20 minutes + walk back into street where you get can cheap massages, clothes shopping, cheaper eats etc.
The only thing that I didnt like about The W was the beach and this is hardly their fault. In January every morning a heap of rubbish is washed up onto the beach like cans and bottles and coconuts and toothbrushes etc etc etc it is really sad to see. Some of the other hotels down the beach look like they employee people to clean it up every day but apparently the tides at that time of the year keep steady rubbish flowing in. So no swimming at the beach and even walking on it was pretty sad. Fortunately you can really enjoy yourself at The W no matter what time of year with their multiple pools, great villas and food so it didnt matter to us to much.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank FionaMearon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello FionaMearon,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback, it is extremely helpful to gain such an insight from our guests. I am happy to hear that you chose to spend the festive season at W Bali. It does sound like you found the time to enjoy the colourful playground of our retreat and all that is on offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back and our talent will be ready to wow you once again.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

This place is great. Did not want to leave. Restuarants and room service were great. Staff are so friendly! Rooms are fantastic , villas unbelievable. Pool scene is really nice also. Recommend to anyone that wants to stay at a nice place in seminyak, could not think of one reason why you wouldn't love it! Thanks W , we will be back!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stellacoops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Hello Stellacoops,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay at W Bali.

We look forward to welcoming you back for your next wow moment.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed two nights here using Starwood points upon arriving in Bali. We initially booked the basic garden view room, but after some debate decided to use more points to upgrade to the ocean view. The garden view just felt like we could be in a W anywhere and I didn't fly half way around the world to feel like I was in New York. While the rooms and the grounds are pretty amazing, it all felt a little contrived, like it could have been Miami or Vegas. One night I was awake until 2 am being driven nuts by the thumping base coming from the outdoor bar. In retrospect, we wish we'd only stayed there one night to get settled before heading to Ubud which has so much more character than Seminyak. That said if you don't mind a clubby kind of place, the staff is lovely, the food was expensive but good, and the room is comfortable and impressive.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank emily z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Hello emily Z,

Many thanks for your Trip Advisor review as it’s always good to get a balanced view point from guests who have stayed and tried the W experience, and we are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience the way we hoped you would, but we are a very different type of hotel to others here in Bali, or within the W brand.

The Hotel has so many Balinese aspects within the property, and the architects, SCDA, are award winning designers based in Singapore who spent a lot of time incorporating the Hindu culture throughout the Retreat, for which we have received many awards and accolades to date. All of these are a very modern interpretation to what you may find at traditional Balinese hotels, and these elements are found all over the property from the Balinese style open plan living in the villas, the village environment of the villa and retreat gardens, the Oasis traditional Balinese Unkel Unkel and water ponds, to the rice field swimming pools, and Kecak dance inspired design of Fire Restaurant, the traditional Balinese daily parade, to all the design features in the rooms, flying pigs, public space elements and talent uniforms. Whilst these are in a modern format we do respect that these may not appeal to all our guests, who may look for traditional aspects in their hotel experience.

Our passion points are design, fashion and music and the retreat has been built around these elements as well as “conceal and reveal”, what you see and what you don’t see, an important part of the Balinese culture of Sekala and Niscala.

I do hope that that your next trip to Bali offers up that more cultural experience that you were looking for.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

A party hotel indeed. Awesome restaurants! Awesome club! Awesome spa! Awesome pool! Awesome rooms!

Trying to keep this resort a party resort, in that spirit I deter people with kids and non party goers to stay at this hotel. Lets keep this hotel in line with its main purpose, a party hotel!

There are many other hotels that could offer family outings/ holidays, try some in Kuta. lol.

Absolutely love this hotel. Best in Bali in every aspect.

Stayed in a one bedroom pool villa. Tried many before in Bali, but have to say though small and cosy, its still the best overall.

Had music/noise complaint from neighbouring villa, as I said, lets keep this hotel a party hotel!

Room Tip: One bedroom pool villa is the way to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ItsEzry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello Ezryyy,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed your villa experience and W Bali and made full use of all that is on offer.

We do look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

the best hotel in Seminyak --- great service, lovely rooms, fabulous pool and always a lively atmosphere. Beautiful spa and the restaurants are excellent. Although not for every one it is on the pricey side-------for Bali anyway.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringo-cap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello ringo-cap,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. It's a great plasure to hear you had a fantastic stay at W Bali and enjoyed the colourful playground of Seminyak.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My wife and I just returned from a 4 night stay in a 1 bedroom, pool villa. The room was amazing! The same room anywhere in North America would cost at least $1,500 to $2,000 a night. The pool was a great size for 2 people and the rest of the room was great. A nice touch was the Bose surround sound that was included in the room (which was soundproof) as well as the outdoor Bose system which you could control with the remote from outside.

The 2 restaurants were amazing as well, with a wide and varied menu at both places. We pretty much stayed in the resort and were able to sample the restaurants, the various lounge areas/bars as well as the spa and the main pool. All staff that we encountered were very friendly and helpful. All in all, I can honestly say that this was one of my best if not best resort experiences. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: We stayed in the one bedroom pool villa which was AMAZING!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fdean316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this review, 6 February 2014
Hello fdean316,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic stay with us. I will pass your kind comments back to our talent, they will be delighted to hear that they assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon for further wow moments!

All the best,

Craig seaward
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
879 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.9 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,602 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 143 in Seminyak
1,755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to W Bali - Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Bali - Seminyak

Property: W Bali - Seminyak
Address: Jl. Petitenget, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#9 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#10 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#19 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — W Bali - Seminyak 5*
Number of rooms: 229
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Escape hectic philosophies, and why not plunge into vibrant glitz amidst natural splendors? We're a new found playground along the shores of Seminyak, where trendsetting chic restaurants, clubs, fashions and eclectic galleries await discovery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your W Bali - Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Retreat And Spa Bali - Seminyak
w Retreat & Spa Bali - Seminyak Hotel Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing