We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
W Bali - Seminyak
Nearby Hotels
The Oberoi Bali(Seminyak)
US$377
US$326
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelangi Bali Hotel(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort(Seminyak)
US$784
US$412
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$349
US$312
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Mutiara Bali Boutique Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$62
US$51
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$132
US$113
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TS Suites Leisure Seminyak Bali(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$302
US$116
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Four Points by Sheraton Bali, Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$122
US$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Courtyard by Marriott Bali Seminyak Resort(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$126
US$123
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (3,713)
Filter reviews
3,713 results
Traveller rating
2,766
611
198
86
52
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,766
611
198
86
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswoo barstarfish bloow retreatocean facing roomstar fish bloobose sound systemgarden viewpotato headpool villaamazing hotelrain showerour honeymoonwatch the sunsetday bedpool sideamazing staffwoobar
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
2,066 - 2,071 of 3,713 reviews
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We stayed at the W Seminyak in January 2014. After going down a long driveway, the hotel is split into two sides with a gravel drive in between. The main part of the hotel is on the left (with lift access straight up to the rooms and stairs down to the restaurants and bar). The villa check-in and locations are on the right.

We chose to stay in 2 different rooms during our stay to get a feel for both. After checking in we were driven on a buggy to our One Bedroom Pool Villa. The villas are all set on a grid and are spaced out like little houses that have high wooden fences and a door. At first it seemed like it was too far from the hotel but after getting our bearings it was like our own little paradise within a big resort. We stayed during wet season so when it was raining we called the front desk and got the buggy to pick us up to either take us to reception or to the front of the hotel as the front of the hotel is quite far from reception (just make sure you tip them a little!).

The Villa was stunning and it feels like you're so far away from everything. Upon entering there is the pool, deck with table and chairs and a sitting area in the corner. Sliding doors open from the deck directly to the bed. There is a lounge area on the left and bathroom area on the right - archways separate this area rather than doors but you can't see in directly unless in the doorway. There are his & hers sinks and a huge open wardrobe. There are also swinging doors to the toilet and also the shower - probably a little awkward noise wise if you have Bali Belly haha! :)

After a few nights in the villa we moved to a Spectacular Ocean Facing Retreat in the main hotel. Upon entering the room there is an open bathroom area to the left. The door to the toilet is pretty much see through and the showering area is completely open also. Further along is the main part of the bedroom but you can't see into the bathroom when in this area. There is also a huge balcony overlooking the pool and the ocean - amazing!

We went to the Woo Bar one night next to the pool which has a fantastic little outside seating area. Potato Head Beach Club is just up the road which is another amazing Seminyak bar. We also visited the Fire restaurant for buffet breakfast which had a lovely selection although you pay for it! (Try and get it included).

All in all our stay at the W was incredible. The little finishing touches such as music playing when you enter the rooms as well as welcome cupcakes make it even better! I preferred the Villa over the Ocean Room as it feels like your own little home away from home but both experiences were amazing. Due to the open design of the hotel as well as the walking distance to and from the villas the hotel would be a much better experience during Bali's dry season (mid year) as we did find it a little quiet and gloomy during our January stay. Enjoy!

Ps. Instead of ordering the most expensive room service in the world (more than American/Australian prices) look up 'Hallo Restaurants'. This company in Bali will go to restaurants in the area (as many as you want in one delivery) and then bring the food to your door for the cost of the food + approx. $5 for the delivery fee.

Room Tip: The hotel is split into two. The ocean facing rooms such as the Spectacular Ocean Facing Retreat that we stayed in are in the main area of the hotel (the lift at the entrance goes straight up to the rooms) and the villas such as the One Bedroom Pool Villa we also stayed in are on the right hand side of the entrance further away from the ocean. The villas about a 2 minute walk from reception but you can always get a buggy to pick you up if you're lazy as it's only a 5 minute wait for one (just remember to tip!) If you're willing to splurge and you want the peace and quiet - stay in a villa!
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Camm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2014

Hello Callyn83,

Thank you for sharing your constructive feedback. I am delighted to read that you enjoyed your villa experience and all that is on offer within the retreat. I am very sorry to hear that our IRD offering did not meet your level of expectation, we do provide a wide range of selection to cover all price points and tastes for our guests.

We do look to welcoming you back to W Retreat & Spa Bali for more Wow moments!

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

The facility and amenities were impeccable. We had beautiful weather for mid April and were able to enjoy the pool. You can see the beach, but there are no hotel facilities or chairs past the pool area. Security guards keep the solicitors off the property. Gym equipment, especially the bikes could use some extra maintenance. Beware of your bill and tipping. There is a 20% service fee and 10% tax added to each bill. There was not an extra spot for a tip. On day one we ordered drinks by the pool. After the second drink, we had a lot of difficulty getting served. Someone in our party went into the bar area and ordered for us and inquired about tipping. Apparently, you can add a tip to the check even though there is not a spot and it seems to be expected that you will tip extra if you want service. This disappointed us since it is one of the pricier venues and the drinks are $13 USD before the service fee, tax, and extra tip. The restaurants were all delicious and with the exception of the pool wait staff, the staff was friendly and helpful. Our room was spacious, clean, and had all the amenities we needed, including glassware and electric converters. DJs and loud music begin playing by the pool around 5 pm. On weekends this lasted until at least midnight and could be heard in our room. If you are there to relax during the day and party at night, then this is the place for you. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and considered it a treat. We did leave the property for many meals, drinks, and massages because the surrounding area is so much more reasonable.

Room Tip: Choose an ocean view room, it is worth it!
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LHPUSAviaOki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Hello LHPUSAviaOki,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at W Retreat & Spa Bali and had an amazing holiday. I am sorry to hear that the service at Woobar did not meet the level of expectation that we strive to achieve for each one of our guests.

We do look forward to welcoming you back and will ensure that you depart having felt the wow factor of W Bali.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

Words can't describe the incredible experience we had with W hotel, we stayed at one bed room private pool villa no:36 . The villa was magical and absolutely breathtaking. the staff was incredibly nice and showed amazing hospitality from the moment we stepped on the hotel.The villa with the pool was refreshing and the "bale bengong" so comfortable while listening "W hotel" CD .. Love the track. Everyone on the grounds try to please us and is always happy to help with " whatever whenever "you need.
The service was flawless. The staff knew all our names and addressed us personally everywhere we went: away@spa; w lounge: fire restaurant . the manager on duty ( Ms Maya) looks after us from day 1 ; make sure we were happy and comfortable at the villa until we check-out . Also went to the away spa had the balinese massage was spectacular.
Thank you , we will back soon this year !!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jkperth2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello JKperth2013,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am delighted to hear that you had a fantastic W experience and enjoyed the colourful playground of our retreat. I will pass your thanks onto Maya, she will be happy to hear that she assisted in making your stay a memorable one.

We look forward to welcoming you back later in the year.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The reviews of the W meant that expectations were high however the hotel absolutely delivered what was promised. It's a true 5 star experience, from the moment we landed in Bali and were met by the pre arranged BMW transfer service every staff member we encountered delivered exceptional service with a smile. The pool staff are fabulous, loved the sunglasses cleaning, the cucumber slices and the little fruit shots. Breakfast at the resort was good and the Woo bar is a great spot for a drink, the gym was well equipped and the garden view room was huge. Would defiantly recommend the W and it will be my first choice if I return to Bali.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissShifta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello MissShifta,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your W Bali experience and received the level of service standard that I would expect.

We look forward to welcoming you back for more 5 star wow moments.

All the best,

Craig seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We spent an evening at the Woo bar, which is attached to the W hotel. From the second you walk into this place, there is wow factor aplenty. The place is Uber cool, with a DJ spinning tunes, fantastic cocktails, great food and very quick service. Before you can put your glass down from the last sip of your mojito, the next one is on the way.
The sunset views are awesome, the pool area unbelievable and it was just a fantastic highlight of the Seminyak area of Bali. It is certainly a far better option in the nearby potato head Beach club. There is nothing cheap here and be prepared to pay australian and North American prices for food and beverages. But it is definitely worth coming just once

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SquawkerMelbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CraigSeaward1, General Manager at W Bali - Seminyak, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Hello SquakerMelbourne,

Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am happy to hear that you chose Woobar for your sunset destination and that you enjoyed the eclectic sound of our DJ's alongside a stunning backdrop.

We do look forward to welcoming you back soon.

All the best,

Craig Seaward

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews