We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved It.”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved It.”
Reviewed 21 September 2011

The Amala is like an oasis from the busy but awsome streets of Saminyak. The spa was just fantasic, the breakfast and all day food was devine and the whole experience was such a fabulous memory. The resort has a personalised boutique feel and once you enter your villa through the gorgous doors its like your own little comfortable paradise.

Room Tip: We stayed in a room with a plunge pool which was fine for us because we like to explore and visit di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    126
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
426
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2011

Down a secluded driveway lies "The Amala" (The best kept secret in Bali.)
The Spa Villa we requested was beautifully appointed, self-contained, tranquil and very private. It was our idyllic getaway especially the outside bath!
"The Amala Family" presented us with exotic, delicious meals creating a peaceful and relaxing environment.
Being centrally situated in Jalan Kunti, Seminyak, we enjoyed the flexibility of being able to walk to our favourite 'haunts'.
Thank you, Lisa and "The Amala Family", for a wonderful holiday - we WILL see you again.

Room Tip: If you want a swimming pool and extra space choose the pool villa. If you require jacuzzi/spa j...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2011

This is my second trip to the amala and still we enjoyed every bit of it. On our first trip, we were there for our honeymoon and everything was just so perfect. Therefore, I planned for this second trip with both my family and my wife's family. They stayed at the amala residence and we at the spa villa. The amala residence was just perfect for our family members as they were very pleased with what they had. Everybody really enjoyed every moment we spent in the villa. Thank you once again The Amala family for showering us with your excellent service and help whenever we needed! Hoping to see you guys agin if possible. Cheers!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tanrob83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denmark, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2011

The Amala is located on Jalan Kunti almost opposite Bali Deli. The villa complex is small and perfectly formed. The staff were all fabulous and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable and enjoy our Bali experience. Wonderful organic, vegetarian food on offer along with other interesting creations for all tastes. The welcome massage and spa treatments are an absolute must. There is almost no need to leave the villa as they offer everything at the villas. Thank you again to Lisa and "The Amala Family " for the most wonderful holiday. We look forward to returning one day soon for a repeat of our 5 star experience.

Room Tip: The spa villa is beautiful - the shower, bath and basin are in the courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim2011Denmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 September 2011

Gorgeous setting, terrific service and nice quiet location! We loved it.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy5411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hitchin, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 August 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon, and we had a fantastic time at the Amala staff are very pleasant and attentive. We were upgraded to the Amala residence which was a lovely gesture from Lisa. And the villa was very well furnished and had all the mod cons, evrything you requested from the staff was dealt with quickly and effiecently.We ate out most of the time for lunch and dinner but the breakfast was amazing especially the banana pancakes!! Would definately stay here again in fact we miss the place!!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hardeep1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2011

My partner and I have just arrived home after a 2 night stay at The Amala and we loved it!
We could immediately see that The Amala is a place to relax and rejuvante. The grounds are lovely and it's designed in a way were you never hear anything or anyone around.
The staff were very friendly and did everything in their power to ensure we relaxed as much as possible.
We stayed in a Spa Villa. The bedroom and toilet were located inside (although the door could be slided to completely open the room as though it was outside) and the shower, bath, spa, and bathroom basin was located outside. The design was fantastic and rooms are very romantic so I'd definitely recomend for couples to stay. Mosquitos are a major problem though. Being an inside/outside type room it is to be expected although it definitely was annoying. The staff do a turn-down service each night however it wasn't a huge help. We just made sure the door was always closed.
The loaction is fantastic, right in the middle of what I thought was the best shopping in Seminyak.
Breakfast was pretty good, not a huge selection though. They had pancakes so I was happy however my partner wasn't overly happy with his meals.
I loved the atmosphere that staff at The Amala created and was very pleased with the design of the rooms. The Amala definitely has a special vibe about it.

My only majoy complaint: the rooms themselves are getting a little tired and for the price we paid, I expected something a bit more new.

Would I recommend? Yes definitely... It was truly a special place. Slightly overpriced? YES!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Selinarra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 146 in Seminyak
1,949 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 146 in Seminyak
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing