We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best breakfast in town” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Jakarta
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Best breakfast in town”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in the 1-bedroom pool villa. Interior was spacious, however AC was not working properly, it was noisy and not cold enough. Technician came but could not make the AC any cooler. However, the breakfast experience is enormously superb. It was pre-set ala card with super delicious taste and variety. Then came the banana pancake which was the best I have ever tasted the world (I normally do not eat banana pancacke). It just made our stay in The Amala. Would come back for the breakfast experience no other hotel has.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venisiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    120
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
404
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
MTsmithy87
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have been to Bali many times and absolutely love staying in villas... so have stayed a few. The Amala is without a doubt the best boutique villa resort and spa.

We stayed in the pool villa (highly recommended for couples wanting a private getaway). The room was extremely clean, their was always complimentary drinks/cookies and the plunge pool was perfect. We had a private outdoor area with 2 deck chairs, steam room/shower, bath, dining table.... it was unbelievable for the price.

We also had a butler who made our stay so relaxing and stress free - they arranged all our activities and restaurants. If it is your first time in Bali, I highly recommend this resort as they provide great guidance on restaurants and activities.

The staff was outstanding - all spoke English very confidently and were so attentive. My boyfriend and I moved resorts halfway through our trip and unfortunately were not impressed with it... so called the Amala and they made every effort to accommodate us with not even 24 hours notice. They gave us the Spa Studio room (much smaller than our pool villa as there was no outdoor area, but still extremely comfortable) and let us stay until 10pm as we had a late flight. They did this free of charge as the room was not booked out... I don't know many hotels that would be so accommodating. The staff were so welcoming and treat you like family and are always on call if you need anything.

I highly recommend the Amala for couples looking for a relaxing, private and relaxing getaway. Being only 5 minutes walk from the main shops made this the perfect resort in the perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MTsmithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We began for honeymoon in Bali with 3 nights at The Amala.
It was absolutely lovely and very fantastic!

We stayed in a spa villa and pool villa. The villa is half outdoors and half indoors with modern amenities. It had an outdoor private plunge pool, jacuzzi, steamroom, shower and bath.

The villa was very a heavenly and we really got great experience in our honeymoon.

The breakfast at The Amala were some of the best that we had our entire trip.
It was really nice (ala carte style), freshly cooked with nice healthly and banana pancakes to die for!

If you stay here, you absolutely MUST get a massage. We had the most amazing couple's massage. It was so great.....and very exceed expectation!

The staff is very helpfully and respectful of your privacy.

The location look likes a lovely oasis in the middle of shops, restaurants, clubs and about a 10-15 minute walking to the beach.

We're very recommended for this hotel!

Room Tip: Both villa (spa and pool villa) are very fantastic villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indrapahla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

good service!!!!!!

especially the breakfast

nice area

near by the beach

Room Tip: try pool villa....great!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at the Amala for 5 nights for the start of our honeymoon and it was just wonderful. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the breakfasts and cocktails were lovely and the day spa was amazing, the massages were the best!
We stayed in a pool villa and it was just like the photos, very private and beautiful. You couldn't hear a sound, yet it was only a short walk to the main strip of seminyak.
My partner emailed to confirm our reservation and the kind staff offered us an airport transfer and then also arranged to drop us at our next hotel in Jimbarin bay. They would also shuttle us around seminyak when needed.They couldn't do enough for us and it was all greatly appreciated.
If i had to criticise anything, it would be the mosquitoes (which is obviously not their fault, and there were mozzie coils and spray on hand) and the fact that we didn't get the sun on the pool and villa for the whole day as we were in shade by lunchtime. But it was relaxing and close to everything.
We're looking forward to our next opportunity to return and would recommend The Amala to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherubTravellerLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed at amala with my fiance for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! The staff I encountered were all very friendly and personable, the breakfast in-villa was well-presented and delicious (must order the banana pancake), and we were really happy with our choice of the Pool Villa, which had tons of space, really well-designed with modern amenities, and really enjoyed lounging in the open living-room and by our private pool. Would highly recommend for couples looking for a romantic trip but wanting to be close to all the great shopping/dining in Seminyak!

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2011

room: as per website pics - really nice, esp with the steamroom.

Food: never saw anyone eating at the bamboo restaurant during lunch or dinner, but breakfast was really nice - ala carte style, freshly cooked, with nice health conscious selection. Very nice waitress who served us breakfast every morning.

service: Really good mostly, lovely lady greeting us every morning. We left the safe opened one night, and returned to find a note letting us know they've closed it for us and changed the pin. Really good security - we've stayed in a big time 5 star hotel in singapore before and had things missing from a safe that we forgot to close.

Cons:
Irritating rooster that starts screaming at 3am - until 5am. Then the birds stars chirping - sounded as though there were a million birds all perching on the roof of the villa! Hardly had a good night sleep throughout the stay - a shame given that the bed and pillows were the nice comfy sink in type...

Reception staff were bit odd at times. We booked a hotel car to ferry us to the beach for sunset at 6pm. When we went to the receptionist, they told us the driver was having his meal. Fair enough, we did not want to interrupt his meal even though we did make a booking in the morning, we said we'll try to take a cab and rush down in time to watch the sunset. The seemingly smug receptionist simply told us we won't make it in time (yes he said Ï don;t think you'll make it) and wished us all the best. I mean seriously, how can someone in the hotel industry not know that they should have offered to call us a cab? I wasnt even bothered that they did not apologise for their mistake but somehow they needed to rub salt to insult. That I find extremely odd. The same smuggish receptionist also made my wife really unhappy the night before departure- we know it's not standard practice but goodwill gesture that guests are offered complimentary late check outs from time to time during low season. Having a late flight, obviously we asked politely if that can be extended to us, not expecting it as a given and we wouldnt even be bothered if we were rejected. What made the entire experience unbearable was that this same smug recept told us that someone is checking in at 12pm. Again I mean seriously, do you need to treat us like idiots? For crying out loud international check in time is 2-3pm! A simple "we have to prepare the room for the next guest" will suffice.

Anywaes in summary it was pretty pleasant staying at the Amala, may return again....everyone was great except that weird receptionist.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Boocoid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#5 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Agoda, Odigeo and HotelsClick so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing