We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful place, just a few adjustments and its perfect!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #17 of 141 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A wonderful place, just a few adjustments and its perfect!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

Beautiful in one word! Just perfect....the architecture, the facilities, the service, the gardens the pool etc. I only have 2 complains about this place and it is the towels are a bit old and tired including some dubious old spots...and the "Butler" was too pushy on wanting to book restaurants for us, right from the moment we arrived. Anyway we didnt book that day, but a couple of days later we ask the receptionist about the restaurants in Jimbaran peninsula and he was very quick to recommend "Ganesha Cafe" on the beach, which was disgusting, expensive and I was sick all night after that experience. So I guess they get good commissions for booking certain restaurants. That is the only complain I have about this place, because everything else was absolutely wonderful, they even went out of their way to go and send somebody to change some money for us. Really really nice people in charge of Amala. Owners should be so proud of the "Amala family" they call themselves:-) The Spa is also wonderful, a little bit expensive ..but a wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We were in Villa 1 and it was fantastic! The facilities are so well kept and the Spa is really good...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Lili740
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

602 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    443
    120
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
37
404
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta
Level Contributor
147 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

We stayed in the 1-bedroom pool villa. Interior was spacious, however AC was not working properly, it was noisy and not cold enough. Technician came but could not make the AC any cooler. However, the breakfast experience is enormously superb. It was pre-set ala card with super delicious taste and variety. Then came the banana pancake which was the best I have ever tasted the world (I normally do not eat banana pancacke). It just made our stay in The Amala. Would come back for the breakfast experience no other hotel has.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Venisiana D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MTsmithy87
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2012

I have been to Bali many times and absolutely love staying in villas... so have stayed a few. The Amala is without a doubt the best boutique villa resort and spa.

We stayed in the pool villa (highly recommended for couples wanting a private getaway). The room was extremely clean, their was always complimentary drinks/cookies and the plunge pool was perfect. We had a private outdoor area with 2 deck chairs, steam room/shower, bath, dining table.... it was unbelievable for the price.

We also had a butler who made our stay so relaxing and stress free - they arranged all our activities and restaurants. If it is your first time in Bali, I highly recommend this resort as they provide great guidance on restaurants and activities.

The staff was outstanding - all spoke English very confidently and were so attentive. My boyfriend and I moved resorts halfway through our trip and unfortunately were not impressed with it... so called the Amala and they made every effort to accommodate us with not even 24 hours notice. They gave us the Spa Studio room (much smaller than our pool villa as there was no outdoor area, but still extremely comfortable) and let us stay until 10pm as we had a late flight. They did this free of charge as the room was not booked out... I don't know many hotels that would be so accommodating. The staff were so welcoming and treat you like family and are always on call if you need anything.

I highly recommend the Amala for couples looking for a relaxing, private and relaxing getaway. Being only 5 minutes walk from the main shops made this the perfect resort in the perfect location.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MTsmithy87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bandung, Indonesia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

We began for honeymoon in Bali with 3 nights at The Amala.
It was absolutely lovely and very fantastic!

We stayed in a spa villa and pool villa. The villa is half outdoors and half indoors with modern amenities. It had an outdoor private plunge pool, jacuzzi, steamroom, shower and bath.

The villa was very a heavenly and we really got great experience in our honeymoon.

The breakfast at The Amala were some of the best that we had our entire trip.
It was really nice (ala carte style), freshly cooked with nice healthly and banana pancakes to die for!

If you stay here, you absolutely MUST get a massage. We had the most amazing couple's massage. It was so great.....and very exceed expectation!

The staff is very helpfully and respectful of your privacy.

The location look likes a lovely oasis in the middle of shops, restaurants, clubs and about a 10-15 minute walking to the beach.

We're very recommended for this hotel!

Room Tip: Both villa (spa and pool villa) are very fantastic villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indrapahla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shenzhen, China
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2011

good service!!!!!!

especially the breakfast

nice area

near by the beach

Room Tip: try pool villa....great!!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank daniel y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

We stayed at the Amala for 5 nights for the start of our honeymoon and it was just wonderful. The staff were so friendly and helpful, the breakfasts and cocktails were lovely and the day spa was amazing, the massages were the best!
We stayed in a pool villa and it was just like the photos, very private and beautiful. You couldn't hear a sound, yet it was only a short walk to the main strip of seminyak.
My partner emailed to confirm our reservation and the kind staff offered us an airport transfer and then also arranged to drop us at our next hotel in Jimbarin bay. They would also shuttle us around seminyak when needed.They couldn't do enough for us and it was all greatly appreciated.
If i had to criticise anything, it would be the mosquitoes (which is obviously not their fault, and there were mozzie coils and spray on hand) and the fact that we didn't get the sun on the pool and villa for the whole day as we were in shade by lunchtime. But it was relaxing and close to everything.
We're looking forward to our next opportunity to return and would recommend The Amala to anyone.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CherubTravellerLoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

I stayed at amala with my fiance for 3 nights and absolutely loved it! The staff I encountered were all very friendly and personable, the breakfast in-villa was well-presented and delicious (must order the banana pancake), and we were really happy with our choice of the Pool Villa, which had tons of space, really well-designed with modern amenities, and really enjoyed lounging in the open living-room and by our private pool. Would highly recommend for couples looking for a romantic trip but wanting to be close to all the great shopping/dining in Seminyak!

Room Tip: Pool villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.2 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#5 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Southall Travel, Odigeo, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing