We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“SIMPLY PERFECT Chris and Sharyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Bendigo, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“SIMPLY PERFECT Chris and Sharyn”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

We have just had 4 amazing nights at the Amala with Madlen and her team of beautiful people. Nothing is a bother for them and they go above and beyond to make everyones holiday a special experience. The spa treatments , breakfasts and evening meals are all superb. Gede even assisted us in getting our money back from a corrupt money changer which we are sure is not part of his job but only too happy to help. Thanks again, Gede! We can't wait for our next visit .

Room Tip: The pool villas are amazing
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chris59_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 9 June 2013
Dear Chris & Sharyn,

Thank you very much for your time and feedback on Trip Advisor. We all truly hope that we can welcome you back to the Amala, soon. Hopefully next time we will have the Pool Villa available for you. Please feel free to e - mail me anytime directly if you need any help with your booking, madlen.ernest@theamala.com or to check the availability, also should you require any more information for your upcoming Vietnam trip please don’t hesitate. That we were able to meet you high expectation is really the best compliment we could have reached. Once again thank you for staying with us, we are missing you here at the Amala. Cheers and see you soon in Bali – Madlen Ernest & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    452
    120
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
410
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 June 2013

Stunning villas, excellent service, great food, lovely spa and services. The large bathrooms, complete with outdoor shower, are really quite amazing. The only complaint is you can hear the traffic along the main road out front of the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 11 June 2013
Dear Jenn L,
Thank you very much for your valuable feedback. We are very happy and honored to read that you have enjoyed our services and stay with us here at the Amala. Luckily we do not get to many traffic noise complaints, but you are right certain times a day – especially during rush hour the noisy is coming through to some of our villas. Unfortunately the traffic in Bali is increases and this has become a problem spread around the entire island. Besides that we truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back at our Villas soon, to pamper you with our services. Once again thank you for your valuable feedback.
With best regards from the Island Madlen Ernest & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

My family stayed at the Amala Residence for 5 nights and enjoyed our vacation very much. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful, catering to your every need. I requested a buffet lunch to be set up in my villa and they managed to make this happen. The food was great and the place was set up beautifully. The villa's environment and ambiance are very comforting, and the spa treatment I received was amazing as well. Above all else, the service at The Amala is absolutely excellent. Special shoutout to Madlen, the resort manager, who is completely awesome!

Room Tip: The Amala Residence has 3 rooms; perfect for a family vacation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayytx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear kayytx,
Thank you for taking the time to review the Amala on Trip Advisor, I hope you and your family had a smooth journey back home. To organize the Pre-Wedding Lunch buffet was an honor for us and we have enjoyed every moment we were able to be part of this special day celebration. We are very happy to hear that we provided everything to your full satisfaction and that we could reach your high expectation. Too bad the weather did not play along on that day and did not provide you and your family with the perfect sunset.
I truly hope we will see you soon back again at the Amala, for any enquirers do not hesitate to contact me directly any time, madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again Thank you and with best regards from the sunny Bali – Madlen Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013

My friend and I spent 4 nights in the Pool villa and it's a great experience. Very nice staff with natural environment, and it's so warm to have free fruits and drinks every day. We joined yoga class and spa and they are perfect. I would highly recommend this villa if you would plan your trip to Bali.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear Virginia K,
Thank you for taking the time to review our services. I am glad to hear that you arrived well back home. It was our pleasure to pamper you with our spa and yoga activities. We constantly are improving our programs for yoga with our experienced teacher, and always update our spa product according to customer demand; it’s great to see your review, so we know that we are on the right track with our services here at The Amala and our valued guest enjoying our holistic and relaxing packages. I truly hope that we soon can pamper you again.
With best regards from Bali – Madlen Ernest & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

Spent 2 nights in the Spa Villa and it was a lovely and restful experience.

Almost 3 hours at the spa was bliss. Coming back to a candlelit rose petal bath, outdoors in a private enclosure, was serious pampering.

It really is a friendly place with the Amala Family eager to be helpful.

Room Tip: Spa Villas are very private with high walls.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PragmaticIdealist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear MsSTsao,
I hope you arrived well back and the daily routine is taking it easy on you. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor responds for us, we really appreciate your feedback. We are very happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay and our Spa treatments with us.
Hopefully in the near future we can welcome you back to the Amala for your next long weekend getaway.
Yours sincerely – Madlen Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

My girlfriend and I booked a 3 night stay in a Spa Villa at The Amala via The Luxe Nomad. From the moment we booked, we received so much helpful information from Kaeko, Kurnia and the rest of The Amala staff. They helped us book our Ubud excursion, dinner reservations at Mama San and our Spa treatments beforehand, Upon arriving at the airport, Kumang met us immediately and drove us to The Amala while talking about everything to look forward to. From the moment we drove into the green, lush driveway of The Amala, it was utter bliss. Kaeko informed us that we had been upgraded to a Pool Villa and couldn't believe how beautifully appointed and luxurious it was. The first floor contains the kitchen, living room, and the private pool which we really enjoyed. Second floor was the bedroom and a huge bathroom with a nice jacuzzi tub. We had a great time here. The daily breakfast was excellent, especially the Mie Goreng and Banana Pancakes. The staff was warm and accommodating all the time. When we asked for directions to a certain spot, the butler immediately offered to drive us there instead. The Spa treatment we had (Balinese Ritual) was 2 hours of pampering and bliss. As a bonus, on our last night after a very rainy day, our room was adorned with flowers and candles including a tub full of rose petals. We truly enjoyed our stay at The Amala and look forward to coming back!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ju73349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Ju73349,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review about your stay with us at the Amala. We are a small and intimate place and we try as much as we can to please our guest with personal service and attention, and it’s great to see that we succeeded and that we could pamper both of you. Iit was really raining down big time at your romantic last night, but unfortunately we don’t influence the weather :-) - if we could we would. We truly hope that we can welcome you back soon again, and that next time romantic sunsets will be on daily display for you.
Once again thank you very much and have a great day – Yours Madlen Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2013

Highly recommended! My husband and I stayed at The Amala for 3 wonderful nights, and we were treated with excellent customer service. Our great Butler, Mika has made us feel at home with his great knowledge of the villa and great suggestions around Bali. We had the "spa villa" which was one of a kind - incredible outdoor bath tub, shower and a dipping pool for relaxation! Everything about the villa is just breath taking. I love the fact that it was pristine cleaned. Breakfast was great too and you are able to customise the menu. Staff are always cheerful and ready to serve you above and beyond! Love the spa treatment as well! Well worth the money spent! Would definitely stay again, and again and again!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hwei36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear Hwei36,
Thank you for staying with us for 3 nights, it was really nice to have you and your husband staying at our Spa Villa. We are glad to hear that everything was to your satisfaction and that we could pamper you with our food & services. We are very happy to hear that our front desk gave the right suggestions to you and that we could meet your high expectations. I truly hope that we will get the chance to welcome you back again. For any questions or future bookings do not hesitate to contact me directly anytime at madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Thank you for the time to leave your feedback at Trip Advisor – yours sincerely Madlen Ernest
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,752 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#8 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 679 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing