We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here in a private pool villa. It was in short amazing. Everything had been thought of. Location was good...really close to shopping and there was also a free shuttle service to anywhere in Seminyak. Staff were fantastic and we loved our daily breakfast. Hats off to the guys who also let us have another room for a few hours of sleep after our plane got delayed at no charge. Thanks!! Overall fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Michael C,
It’s good to see that both of you made it home well, thank you for taking time to review us, even though you are most likely back in your daily routine and busy with your jobs. We highly appreciate your feedback and rating us on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for your compliments about our service we are very happy and proud that we met and exceeded your expectation and that we could make your stay with us a fantastic experience.
We truly hope that you will be back to the wonderful Island of Bali soon and that we will be able to welcome you back at The Amala.
With best regards and sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (665)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

376 - 382 of 665 reviews

Reviewed 6 October 2013

The private pool villas are perfect for a couple's stay in Seminyak. The food is good and best served in your villa. Their online service team were great at arranging dinner reservations and things to do prior to our arrival. The butler service was good, very friendly and agreeable but a little forgetful. Often needed to be ask several times before being given a response - would say that they would call the villa back but never did (particularly when a restaurant reservation was not available or the wine requested was out of stock). Missed out on cooking lessons at the residence because we were tired of enquiring about them without being given a definitive answer on when we could book. Their car service is fantastic and our drivers were always prompt, helpful and knowledge about even the most obscure locations on the island. Several things in the villa could be fixed / replaced, deck-chairs were broken, cordless phone not working and front doors not locking / or being locked and blown open by the wind. Otherwise, we had a very enjoyable stay and have recommended to friends since. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear JPMChia,
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and for your valuable and helpful feedback. I am happy to see that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time in Bali. September indeed has been very busy for our team, but this should not be an excuse for the lack of respond you have received. In general our team is very reliable and receives a lot of positive comments. However we had some changes in our Front desk team and also recruited new team members and I can only thank you for your feedback as it gives me the possibility to focus with them more on issues such as described above, in order to avoid such inconveniences for other future guest and to improve our services. I truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to The Amala and with your next stay you will receive the fullest Amala service as we promote and advertise it. For any further questions or concerns do not hesitate to contact me anytime directly via mail madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again thank you for staying with us and spending time to share your feedback with us.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms. Each room comes with your own private pool for a nice swim in the morning. The location is also extremely convenient to all the shopping and the famous Bali deli. The massage technique has also been one of the best I've had in se Asia. Definitely will stay again and recommend couples to go!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetkiwi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Sweetkiwi8,
First of all thank you for staying with us, and spending time to review our services on Trip Advisor. We are all very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our Spa treatments could pamper you and that we exceeded your expectation. We are really looking forward to welcome you back to The Amala, do not hesitate to contact me directly for your future booking or our reservation team, bliss@theamala.com or madlen.ernest@theamala.com .
With sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent 10 days at The Amala for our honeymoon, our first impression on seeing the Villa was WOW!
All of the staff at The Amala were very friendly and helpful, suggesting great places to visit, they really made our stay special.
The Spa is a must - amazing massages!
It's definitely the perfect place for a honeymoon and we certainly would recommend it! We are already of thinking about returning for an anniversary!
Lauren & Gordon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Lauren & Gordon,
First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy and proud that we were part of your honeymoon and that we could exceed with our services your expectations. To know that you would like to return to Amala for your Anniversary makes us all very happy and excited to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next trip – it would be our utmost pleasure to apply the repeater booking benefits for your next stay. For references this is my mail: madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again thank you for staying with us, during your 10days stay you really have become a part of our little Amala Family, we will miss you and hope to see you soon…

Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

Stayed for two nights in Sep 2013 - excellent hotel, very friendly staff who took genuine interest in us and were always helpful (when I had my bag stolen in Seminyak, all of the staff were genuinely concerned about what had happened and the manager made a point of speaking to me about it). Great spa as well, we had two very good treatments which came as part of the room package, plus complementary airport transfer, which altogether made the whole stay very good value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 5 October 2013

Dear SaraL,
Thank you very much for spending time to review us on Trip Advisor, glad to see you arrived well back home. Even though you had your bag stolen we are happy to see that you still enjoyed the rest of your stay here in Bali and with us. We truly hope that no further inconveniences came up due the stolen items, once your arrived back home - Thank you very much for staying with us, and we hope to get the chance to meet you again someday soon.
Sunny Greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2013

ok so i'm so sorry that i have been lazy and writing this review and month and half later.....our stay was between august 1 to august 5 2013....and in short i wanted hit my self in the head at why i did not book a longer stay.....the staff from the time of checking in to checking out was phenomenal.....i am totally biased out of excellent service not knowing anyone in the staff and it being my first time in indonesia specially in bali...and it wont be my last...they make you feel at home as if you own the place.....Mika...Wawan...Kadek....Madeline...you guys define what hospitality is and should be...(Mika specially you....you are something else and i mean that with the utmost respect).....whoever owns this place should wake up every morning thanking god at what kind of excellent staff they have because (yes place is beautiful really defines zen even amidst the noisy Seminyak area) but service surpasses the beauty of the property....room was awesome, very clean....a lot of large corporations need a lesson from the Amala when it comes to keeping things tidy and how to keep their customers happy......breakfast was great local food of course...had yummy choices and extremely healthy ones as well......room amenities from plunge pool to soap to the new fruit every day was designed for the zen it promotes......bottom line i could not have asked for more because they exceeded my expectations.....Madeline thanks for letting us stay till our late flight...and Mika you are the best......hotel owners do not loose him!!!!!!!!!.....something i also learned from the staff was everyone did their job without pawning it to someone else......i guess creating a great work environment brings this out in people.........keep up the great work guys!!!!!!!! and lastly thank you i sincerely enjoyed my stay

Room Tip: 3 room types plunge pool; full pool and studio......all are awesome but as a couple we chose plunge...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hennymahesh n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Hi Hennymahesh,
It is so nice to hear from you, thank you very much for spending so much time on writing your feedback on Trip Advisor. That you still remember us, by name, is very impressive and we are truly honored. We are very happy to hear that we could pamper you with our services and that you had such a fantastic time with us. We are not the biggest property in town but we try to give service, and it’s just great to see that you have noticed our effort.
We all really hope to get to welcome you back soon again, once again it was a pleasure to meet you and see you soon again on the amazing island of Bali
Best regards
Madlen & The Amala Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2013

Overall, the Amala is a good choice to stay during your trip at Bali especially for couple that are looking for romantic and privacy environment. Depends on your consideration whether you would like to have the Swimming Pool in your room so you can choose the Pool Villa otherwise the Spa Villa is another good choice as well for your relaxation trip. Don't forget to get the Spa services from the villa which this is something really great to have it there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveWen25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2013

Dear SteveWen25,
Thank you very much for posting your feedback on the Trip Advisor. We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially our Spa facilities. We truly hope to welcome you back soon to our little retreat in the heart of Seminyak.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 148 in Seminyak
712 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#10 of 148 in Seminyak
490 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#15 of 148 in Seminyak
2,142 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £89 - £247 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing