We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Amala
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Ahimsa(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Impiana Private Villas Seminyak(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
Seminyak Icon(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (695)
Filter reviews
695 results
Traveller rating
524
130
30
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
524
130
30
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villaour honeymoonsteam showerbanana pancakesplunge poolcooking classoutdoor bathtubrose petal bathbali delispa sessiondeluxe roomboutique resortbreakfast menuturn down servicebutler servicewould highly recommend this hotelfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
399 - 404 of 695 reviews
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My mom and I spent 3 nights at The Amala and would have liked to stay more. This was our first time in Indonesia and in Seminyak. We booked a private pool villa, which was spotlessly clean and beautiful with dark wood ceilings. The whole property was peaceful and designed with feng shui principles.

This is a small property with 15 villas but a large, attentive staff. They even came to our villa in the middle of the night immediately when we were pushing the wrong buttons on the air conditioner. The general manager Madlen gave me great directions on where to shop, and spent a lot of time with my mom and I just chatting over breakfast.

Service was flawless, particularly with Wawan and Lanang who were so kind to us. Also, The Amala is within walking distance to a major shopping strip with restaurants and very close to a large spa (in addition to having their own). Plus, a complimentary ride to the airport in their nice car is a BIG deal and very nice.

I would stay again and how I wish I was there right now!

Room Tip: The Pool Villas are definitely bigger than the spa rooms, and have beautiful outdoor entrances with heavy wooden doors. There is also a kitchen, and a private swimming pool with a marble-floored outdoor living room. This room selection is a really big treat!
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ElizabethFuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear ElizabethFuchs,
Thank you very much for staying with us and spending time to review us on Trip Advisor. Let me express how much we have enjoyed having you and your mum with us. The daily chats with our guest the service on a personal level, that’s why we enjoy our job and that’s why we have fun doing what we are doing in hospitality. That you have mentioned Wawan and Lanang here on trip Advisor by name made them very happy and proud that they were remembered for their caring personality.
Once again I hope we will get soon again the possibility to welcome you back to The Amala, do not hesitate to stay in touch with us, my mail madlen.ernest@theamala.com
With best regards from the sunny island
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here in a private pool villa. It was in short amazing. Everything had been thought of. Location was good...really close to shopping and there was also a free shuttle service to anywhere in Seminyak. Staff were fantastic and we loved our daily breakfast. Hats off to the guys who also let us have another room for a few hours of sleep after our plane got delayed at no charge. Thanks!! Overall fantastic experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2013

Dear Michael C,
It’s good to see that both of you made it home well, thank you for taking time to review us, even though you are most likely back in your daily routine and busy with your jobs. We highly appreciate your feedback and rating us on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for your compliments about our service we are very happy and proud that we met and exceeded your expectation and that we could make your stay with us a fantastic experience.
We truly hope that you will be back to the wonderful Island of Bali soon and that we will be able to welcome you back at The Amala.
With best regards and sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The private pool villas are perfect for a couple's stay in Seminyak. The food is good and best served in your villa. Their online service team were great at arranging dinner reservations and things to do prior to our arrival. The butler service was good, very friendly and agreeable but a little forgetful. Often needed to be ask several times before being given a response - would say that they would call the villa back but never did (particularly when a restaurant reservation was not available or the wine requested was out of stock). Missed out on cooking lessons at the residence because we were tired of enquiring about them without being given a definitive answer on when we could book. Their car service is fantastic and our drivers were always prompt, helpful and knowledge about even the most obscure locations on the island. Several things in the villa could be fixed / replaced, deck-chairs were broken, cordless phone not working and front doors not locking / or being locked and blown open by the wind. Otherwise, we had a very enjoyable stay and have recommended to friends since. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JPMChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

Dear JPMChia,
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and for your valuable and helpful feedback. I am happy to see that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time in Bali. September indeed has been very busy for our team, but this should not be an excuse for the lack of respond you have received. In general our team is very reliable and receives a lot of positive comments. However we had some changes in our Front desk team and also recruited new team members and I can only thank you for your feedback as it gives me the possibility to focus with them more on issues such as described above, in order to avoid such inconveniences for other future guest and to improve our services. I truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to The Amala and with your next stay you will receive the fullest Amala service as we promote and advertise it. For any further questions or concerns do not hesitate to contact me anytime directly via mail madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again thank you for staying with us and spending time to share your feedback with us.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms. Each room comes with your own private pool for a nice swim in the morning. The location is also extremely convenient to all the shopping and the famous Bali deli. The massage technique has also been one of the best I've had in se Asia. Definitely will stay again and recommend couples to go!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sweetkiwi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Dear Sweetkiwi8,
First of all thank you for staying with us, and spending time to review our services on Trip Advisor. We are all very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our Spa treatments could pamper you and that we exceeded your expectation. We are really looking forward to welcome you back to The Amala, do not hesitate to contact me directly for your future booking or our reservation team, bliss@theamala.com or madlen.ernest@theamala.com .
With sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent 10 days at The Amala for our honeymoon, our first impression on seeing the Villa was WOW!
All of the staff at The Amala were very friendly and helpful, suggesting great places to visit, they really made our stay special.
The Spa is a must - amazing massages!
It's definitely the perfect place for a honeymoon and we certainly would recommend it! We are already of thinking about returning for an anniversary!
Lauren & Gordon

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2013

Dear Lauren & Gordon,
First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy and proud that we were part of your honeymoon and that we could exceed with our services your expectations. To know that you would like to return to Amala for your Anniversary makes us all very happy and excited to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next trip – it would be our utmost pleasure to apply the repeater booking benefits for your next stay. For references this is my mail: madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again thank you for staying with us, during your 10days stay you really have become a part of our little Amala Family, we will miss you and hope to see you soon…

Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews