We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa but could be better”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa but could be better”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

On the plus side - the villa is beautifully designed with open lounge area, funky bathroom and cool pool area. Very impressive upon arrival and they were able to accommodate us for a very last minute stay! It's in a great location for shopping and nice spas which we enjoyed! Not so great side - toilet not great at flushing and loo area a bit grubby...no water in the kitchen, no hot water in the shower, staff very keen to get into your room half hour before check out- 6 guys lined up outside waiting as we opened the door, one even peered in from over the neighbour's villa wall to see if we were there! A bit disconcerting as people open tan topless in these private villas!!! And then there were the Mosquitos. I'm from Africa and I live in Aus so I know Mosquitos, but these were biblical!!! They give you coils and sprays galore, but these beasts were intense and the air con was a bit lack lustre so we couldn't deep freeze them. Overall, a funky spot which just needs to tweak a few points.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank marshalllaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear Marshalllaw,
First of all thank you very much for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. I highly appreciate your comments which will help us to improve our service. In regards to the Housekeeping I would like to personally apologize for the inconveniences you have encountered. Sometimes with high turnovers the Housekeeping team feels under time pressure to clean the room before the next guests are arriving, and maybe get a bit overexcited with starting to clean the room. I am very grateful that you have pointed it out, because even though they want to do their job there are other more professional ways to present themselves without making our guest feel uncomfortable. The toilet flush is something which can be easily fixed and the comment already has been forwarded to our engineering department.
Mosquito's are a problem in Bali, especially now coming closer to rainy season. There is only so much we can do about it in terms of preventing and providing anti mosquito repellents in every possible way.
Once again I thank you for your valuable feedback
With best regards and sunny greetings from the island
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

619 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    459
    121
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
414
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We booked a spa studio room and now wish we had booked a private pool villa. The whole place was wonderfully calm and relaxing and the minute you walked up the drive you began to relax as they played gentle music up the drive. It is very well designed with a feng shui feel and very pretty.

The hotel is near a busy main road and from our room we could hear the motorbikes at various stages througout the night but it didn't really bother us too much.

A rather strange feature was having to bend down and unlock the back door to use the toilet which was outside. We have stayed in hotels in the Maldives and Thailand with outdoor bathrooms before but there we didn't have the noise of the road, the bending down and they had better lighting at night and thicker curtains to block out the early morning light. A nice feature that was provided was the anti mosquito spraying in the room at dusk and it seemed to do the job.

Breakfast was delicous and very laid back which was fine for us as we were in no rush. There was the choice of the healthier option, Indonesian, American and Continental breakfast and they all came with several dishes. We also had lunch by the main pool one day which was delicious. We were slightly confused about the role of the personal butler and perhaps didn't make the most of his services...an error on our part.

A feature of the room we booked was a daily hour long spa treatment each which was fantastic. The staff (especially Maha) who worked in the spa were so proffessional, polite and friendly. Each day we started off with a delicious welcome drink and then foot bath and the treatments then concluded with tea. The hotel should be very proud of its spa as it was absolutley fantastic and a real treat.

The hotel manager was very nice and polite and offered suggestions for dinner and asked after us which was a really nice personal touch and she clearly had control of everything. The staff at reception were able to make helpful recommendations for dinner too. We were aware that there was a car service but we were never quite on the ball enough to remember to arrange for its availability but in the end enjoyed walking to the beach and dinner past the various shops and resturants. We were able to use it back to the airport though which was a nice touch.

A lovely little hotel where you can get away from it all in beautiful peaceful and tranquil surroundings but close enough to get out and explore the local shops and restaurants if you wish.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_A_Traveller04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear B_A Traveller04,

First of all thank you very much for leaving such a detailed feedback on Trip Advisor to evaluate our services. I especially enjoyed and appreciated your feedback in regards to the lock of your bathroom door at the Spa Studio Room, honestly speaking I did not give any attention to this detail, but it is such an important little detail and I am really happy that you have mentioned it. This is such an easy thing which can be fixed and makes a big difference….once again thank you. :-)
Maha was very excited to see her name mentioned on Trip Advisor, she is sending her regards to you.

I truly hope that you will be back to Bali soon again and that we have the opportunity to pamper you again with our services. And by then the Bathroom locks will be changed :-)

Once again Thank you very much for all your valuable comments, do not hesitate to contact me any time for your future booking or any other concerns via madlen.ernest@theamala.com
With best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My mom and I spent 3 nights at The Amala and would have liked to stay more. This was our first time in Indonesia and in Seminyak. We booked a private pool villa, which was spotlessly clean and beautiful with dark wood ceilings. The whole property was peaceful and designed with feng shui principles.

This is a small property with 15 villas but a large, attentive staff. They even came to our villa in the middle of the night immediately when we were pushing the wrong buttons on the air conditioner. The general manager Madlen gave me great directions on where to shop, and spent a lot of time with my mom and I just chatting over breakfast.

Service was flawless, particularly with Wawan and Lanang who were so kind to us. Also, The Amala is within walking distance to a major shopping strip with restaurants and very close to a large spa (in addition to having their own). Plus, a complimentary ride to the airport in their nice car is a BIG deal and very nice.

I would stay again and how I wish I was there right now!

Room Tip: The Pool Villas are definitely bigger than the spa rooms, and have beautiful outdoor entrances with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizabethFuchs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear ElizabethFuchs,
Thank you very much for staying with us and spending time to review us on Trip Advisor. Let me express how much we have enjoyed having you and your mum with us. The daily chats with our guest the service on a personal level, that’s why we enjoy our job and that’s why we have fun doing what we are doing in hospitality. That you have mentioned Wawan and Lanang here on trip Advisor by name made them very happy and proud that they were remembered for their caring personality.
Once again I hope we will get soon again the possibility to welcome you back to The Amala, do not hesitate to stay in touch with us, my mail madlen.ernest@theamala.com
With best regards from the sunny island
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 October 2013

My wife and I spent 5 nights here in a private pool villa. It was in short amazing. Everything had been thought of. Location was good...really close to shopping and there was also a free shuttle service to anywhere in Seminyak. Staff were fantastic and we loved our daily breakfast. Hats off to the guys who also let us have another room for a few hours of sleep after our plane got delayed at no charge. Thanks!! Overall fantastic experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 16 October 2013
Dear Michael C,
It’s good to see that both of you made it home well, thank you for taking time to review us, even though you are most likely back in your daily routine and busy with your jobs. We highly appreciate your feedback and rating us on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for your compliments about our service we are very happy and proud that we met and exceeded your expectation and that we could make your stay with us a fantastic experience.
We truly hope that you will be back to the wonderful Island of Bali soon and that we will be able to welcome you back at The Amala.
With best regards and sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

The private pool villas are perfect for a couple's stay in Seminyak. The food is good and best served in your villa. Their online service team were great at arranging dinner reservations and things to do prior to our arrival. The butler service was good, very friendly and agreeable but a little forgetful. Often needed to be ask several times before being given a response - would say that they would call the villa back but never did (particularly when a restaurant reservation was not available or the wine requested was out of stock). Missed out on cooking lessons at the residence because we were tired of enquiring about them without being given a definitive answer on when we could book. Their car service is fantastic and our drivers were always prompt, helpful and knowledge about even the most obscure locations on the island. Several things in the villa could be fixed / replaced, deck-chairs were broken, cordless phone not working and front doors not locking / or being locked and blown open by the wind. Otherwise, we had a very enjoyable stay and have recommended to friends since. Looking forward to staying again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JPMChia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 10 October 2013
Dear JPMChia,
Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and for your valuable and helpful feedback. I am happy to see that all in all you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had a great time in Bali. September indeed has been very busy for our team, but this should not be an excuse for the lack of respond you have received. In general our team is very reliable and receives a lot of positive comments. However we had some changes in our Front desk team and also recruited new team members and I can only thank you for your feedback as it gives me the possibility to focus with them more on issues such as described above, in order to avoid such inconveniences for other future guest and to improve our services. I truly hope that we will have the chance to welcome you back to The Amala and with your next stay you will receive the fullest Amala service as we promote and advertise it. For any further questions or concerns do not hesitate to contact me anytime directly via mail madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again thank you for staying with us and spending time to share your feedback with us.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sweetkiwi8
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2013 via mobile

Great boutique hotel with friendly staff and nice rooms. Each room comes with your own private pool for a nice swim in the morning. The location is also extremely convenient to all the shopping and the famous Bali deli. The massage technique has also been one of the best I've had in se Asia. Definitely will stay again and recommend couples to go!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetkiwi8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Dear Sweetkiwi8,
First of all thank you for staying with us, and spending time to review our services on Trip Advisor. We are all very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our Spa treatments could pamper you and that we exceeded your expectation. We are really looking forward to welcome you back to The Amala, do not hesitate to contact me directly for your future booking or our reservation team, bliss@theamala.com or madlen.ernest@theamala.com .
With sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waltham Abbey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We spent 10 days at The Amala for our honeymoon, our first impression on seeing the Villa was WOW!
All of the staff at The Amala were very friendly and helpful, suggesting great places to visit, they really made our stay special.
The Spa is a must - amazing massages!
It's definitely the perfect place for a honeymoon and we certainly would recommend it! We are already of thinking about returning for an anniversary!
Lauren & Gordon

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lauren M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 3 October 2013
Dear Lauren & Gordon,
First of all thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the Trip Advisor community. We are very happy and proud that we were part of your honeymoon and that we could exceed with our services your expectations. To know that you would like to return to Amala for your Anniversary makes us all very happy and excited to welcome you back. Do not hesitate to contact me directly for your next trip – it would be our utmost pleasure to apply the repeater booking benefits for your next stay. For references this is my mail: madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again thank you for staying with us, during your 10days stay you really have become a part of our little Amala Family, we will miss you and hope to see you soon…

Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,801 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#10 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing