We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Amala
Nearby Hotels
US$272
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$255
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Legian Bali(Seminyak)
US$693
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$520
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samaya Bali Seminyak(Seminyak)
US$677
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$494
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IZE Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$221
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Oberoi Bali(Seminyak)
US$377
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$340
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort(Seminyak)
US$429
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$400
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$242
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
531
130
30
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
130
30
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villaour honeymoonsteam showerbanana pancakesplunge poolcooking classoutdoor bathtubrose petal bathbali delispa sessiondeluxe roomboutique resortbreakfast menuturn down servicebutler servicewould highly recommend this hotelfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
394 - 399 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Madlen the utmost attentive and ever charming resort manager from Austria.. wasn't it the Swiss being famous in hospitality? literally rolled out the red or was it the green carpet for us? Well, that's how we felt upon arrival.. and the time we stayed - and we stayed in a gorgeous private pool villa.. no carpet no frills but with a fantastic courtyard style look and feel with all the amenities and fixtures including a big tub you'd need for a honeymoon. Well, we weren't exactly on a honeymoon but had a great time while wining and dining at the poolside enjoying our oasis within Seminyak.
Next morning.. the sweet hearted masseuse introduced us to the resorts spa services on offer, so we couldn't resist. It's indeed the resorts forte - we were being pampered silly again and again.. I truly recommend the ear candles massage! Not that I just heard better than before:-) but it was so relaxing before the shopping and the island hopping were to resume.
Thanks Madlen you made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompe_saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear tompe_saigon,
Receiving your review was very rewarding, thank you very much for spending the time to post it and to point out in such detail what you have enjoyed with us. Your stay with us was indeed to short and we can only hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon again, to our little retreat, here in Seminyak. I am very sure that for your next visit we can pamper you with new exciting Spa experiences and maybe at your next visit you manage to enjoy as well our Yoga classes.
Once again thank you for choosing Amala for your home away from home and hopefully to welcome you soon again at the beautiful island of Bali..
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in The Amala for 2 nights, first in a spa studio (and left for Gili islands) and back after 3 days for a night in the Pool villa.
Madlen and her staff are excellent! Very welcoming, makes an effort to remember our names, were accommodating to our requests and we enjoyed our stay very much!
We appreciated the nice little things they had included in the package, nice spa session with great therapists, pick up/dropoff services,butler who was very helpful and yummy breakfast. I did feel that the internet was not fantastic while we were in the pool villa, but what to do when you are in such a huge and spacious accommodation!
Indeed there are some things they could have improved on, cleanliness of the villa was one, but overall, we had a very pleasant stay, nice conversation with the team and would recommend this to others. Oh, location was not an issue, taxi was cheap, walking is fine if you are okay with the heat. :)
Great job Amala team! *sorry we cant remember all your names, we met so many of u over our stay, but u were all tops!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Starie,
Thank you very much for your time and feedback on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your feedback, the internet indeed has been an issue over the last cpl. of weeks, but we are happy to share with you that since you have left we finally managed to change our internet provider and we are now having a much faster internet connection. I truly hope you will be back some time to enjoy the upgraded internet service.
I am really happy to read that you have enjoyed your short stay and services with us, and it was a real pleasure to have you with us.
Once again thank you for staying with us….sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in a pool villa for seven nights, will start with the positives!

- free drop off service within seminyak really handy, we used this quite a bit to be dropped at lunches and dinners, then got a taxi back
- complimentary daily homemade cookies, really yummy
- day spa nice, had a 60 min massage each, therapists knowledgable. Juice prior to treatment was really nice and tea afterwards was nice.
- complimentary airport transfers were great
- we had dinner twice at amala and breakfast each day which was yummy, breakfast is a la carte so if you are a buffet breakfast fan then maybe book another resort. Tried most of the breakfast options, banana pancakes were delicious.

Some negatives are
- villa doesn't appear to be overly clean, especially the toilet
- welcome massage included in rate but we never got this
- we had daily afternoon tea included in our rate, if we wanted this we had to phone reception and ask, this was a little annoying, we kind of expected the 'butler' to initiate this.
- on numerous occasions our plates and any un eaten food were left in our villa for long periods, which then attracted bugs etc
- location was our biggest let down, while it doesn't take long in a taxi or cost much the amala is not within walking distance to main restaurants and seminyak square. You could walk if you really wanted to but it is virtually unbearable in the heat. If we did return to bali in the future we would stay at a resort a lot closer to the shopping/restaurants.

Some restaurants we are at and liked included: Metis, sarong, grocer and grind, the junction, ku de Ta, potato head, the bistrot, la lucciola, also went to rock bar in jimbaran which was beautiful for sunsets.

It may sound like a lot of negatives but all in all the amala was a lovely place to stay it was really just the location as the main negative, it is also right hear the main highway so can be noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear BEC1234,
I am glad to see you have arrived well back home again, and I only hope that the busy daily routine is taking it easy on you. Thank you very much for your review and pointing out the things you liked and things which could be improved. We value your feedback and always try to improve our services, which is only possible because of our guests feedback.
Some of the things, such as clearing up the plates faster, or initiating the daily Tea package by the butler could have been easily correct right away during your stay if brought to our attention immediately. But being aware of it now, the service has been adjusted to the benefit of our guest.
Once again I would like to say thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review us.
Sunny greetings from the Bali
Madlen & The Amala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As a regular visitor to Seminyak, I was disappointed with this hotel. In all my Balinese experiences the attention to detail has always been overtly apparent. However, this was the main thing lacking at this venue in all areas - welcome by manager, staff, security, cleanliness, organisation, etc. There was nothing luxurious about this villa complex. The location backs onto a main highway, and it is very noisy. Mosquitos a big problem in this area, and having outdoor bathroom facilities made it a battle everytime you stepped out at night. The standard of cleanliness I would consider to be poor for Seminyak standards. And unlike other hotels in Seminyak security at this hotel was non-apparent. The communual area is small including poolside facilities. It is more for show.
It is important to note that the rooms are visually appealing and generally well designed, and the free transfers in and out of town and to the airport are a definite feature of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussiebeccyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Aussiebeccyc,

I am truly sorry to hear that our facility did not reach up to your expectation and that your stay with us was disappointing. In terms of the location of the Amala, the majority of our guest think that our location is very convenient and some of our guests have different expectation, and as you have mentioned, there is always the free drop off in Seminyak we offer whenever we can. In regards to the Mosquitos, that is indeed a common and annoying problem in Bali and we try to prevent it in the best possible way.

In regards to your comment about the attention to detail, I personally feel very sorry that we, as a team here at The Amala, could not reach up to your expectations, with all the efforts and world-famous Asian smile and friendliness, we are so well known for. I would really appreciate if you could take some time to share more of your feedback with me directly via mail madlen.ernest@theamala.com in order for us to improve. We value the feedback of our guest, and I thank you for taking the time to review us, and I am looking forward to receive your mail.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen Ernest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We arrived at The Amala after staying in Ubud, and although The Amala is a lovely little accommodation tucked away from the busy street, and the overall design is quite nice; after falling in love with Ubud, Seminyak was a bit of a culture shock. The staff at The Amala is helpful and very friendly. The massage we received was amazing!!! We stayed in the small Studio room which was very nicely appointed and clean but I felt a bit clautrophobic because the only view was to the outdoor bathroom, with a wall behind the toilet and shower. And we could hear the traffic from the streets beyond the hotel.

However, our biggest problem were the mosquitoes. They were very active from around sunset through the morning. If we left the door open for just a moment, a handful would fly in. They do provide coils and spray to fight them off, but still their presence was very annoying.

I wish I could give The Amala a higher rating because the staff and concept is quite lovely, and maybe it's just that I'm not a fan of busy, crowded Seminyak.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SueziQT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear SueziQT,
Thank you very much for your time to share your feedback with the Trip Advisor community. I can only agree with you that Ubud and Seminyak are two very different areas here in Bali, Ubud has all the holistic and wellness to enjoy a quiet togetherness, Seminyak could not be more to the contrary with all its busyness on the streets, shops, restaurants and colorful nightlife.

The Spa Studio is indeed our smallest room category but entitles you to a daily 1 hour spa treatment, which receives a lot of positive comments and makes up in some way for the room size.

Thank you very much for also pointing out what you have enjoyed the most with us, we appreciate your feedback and thank you for spending the time to review us.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen Ernest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews