We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing little oasis”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Although there are other quieter boutique villas around in other areas of Seminyak, this little boutique villa is great if you want the convenience of Seminyak shopping and 20 minute walk to beach, while still feeling you are away from the busy streets when in your own villa.
Great for a getaway on your own or with a friend/partner as it is clean, quiet, staff are very friendly, great amenities and the food is great (they provide nutritious alternatives).
The spa is one of the best experiences I have had yet, and primarily due to the skills of the staff.
I preferred it as somewhere to go that did not accept children under 12 (so there are no children there) and it is designed so that the rooms really only fit 2 pax spaciously.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Karen A,
First of all let me say thank you for choosing The Amala for your home away from home. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially our Spa services. We constantly try to improve our spa service and products with frequent trainings and using only very high end organic products. We truly hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back to our little boutique retreat.
Once again thank you for your time to review us on Trip Advisor
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (653)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

353 - 359 of 653 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Amala in October and had a really lovely time. Before staying I contacted Madlen about my sisters birthday and the staff arranged balloons and a cake for her. It is a really peaceful environment and the staff were always really friendly and helpful.

We were staying as two couples, but out celebrating birthdays during the day and it was nice to come back to such a peaceful and clean environment. The breakfast was also really fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie_t99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Sophie _t99,
It was our pleasure to have you and your sister here with us at The Amala, and I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I truly hope you can plan again soon a long weekend getaway to come to Bali for relaxation and bliss.
Thank you as well for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Best regards from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Was so happy with our stay at the Amala. The staff were so helpful & friendly & made our stay really enjoyable. Pool & facilities were great & the massage at the spa was the best I've had in Bali to date! Only thing we would do is opt for a non-studio room if we stayed longer as it was quite small but all in all a fantastic stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nickiliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Nickiliy,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. The team and myself are very pleased to hear that we could make your stay with us enjoyable and that we could especially pamper you with our Spa treatments. We truly hope that you will have soon the opportunity to enjoy another gate away to Bali and hopefully we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Amala, and hopefully you will be able to experience our spacious Spa Villas or Pool Villas.
Once again thank you for choosing the Amala for your stay. Sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Madlen the utmost attentive and ever charming resort manager from Austria.. wasn't it the Swiss being famous in hospitality? literally rolled out the red or was it the green carpet for us? Well, that's how we felt upon arrival.. and the time we stayed - and we stayed in a gorgeous private pool villa.. no carpet no frills but with a fantastic courtyard style look and feel with all the amenities and fixtures including a big tub you'd need for a honeymoon. Well, we weren't exactly on a honeymoon but had a great time while wining and dining at the poolside enjoying our oasis within Seminyak.
Next morning.. the sweet hearted masseuse introduced us to the resorts spa services on offer, so we couldn't resist. It's indeed the resorts forte - we were being pampered silly again and again.. I truly recommend the ear candles massage! Not that I just heard better than before:-) but it was so relaxing before the shopping and the island hopping were to resume.
Thanks Madlen you made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompe_saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear tompe_saigon,
Receiving your review was very rewarding, thank you very much for spending the time to post it and to point out in such detail what you have enjoyed with us. Your stay with us was indeed to short and we can only hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon again, to our little retreat, here in Seminyak. I am very sure that for your next visit we can pamper you with new exciting Spa experiences and maybe at your next visit you manage to enjoy as well our Yoga classes.
Once again thank you for choosing Amala for your home away from home and hopefully to welcome you soon again at the beautiful island of Bali..
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We stayed in The Amala for 2 nights, first in a spa studio (and left for Gili islands) and back after 3 days for a night in the Pool villa.
Madlen and her staff are excellent! Very welcoming, makes an effort to remember our names, were accommodating to our requests and we enjoyed our stay very much!
We appreciated the nice little things they had included in the package, nice spa session with great therapists, pick up/dropoff services,butler who was very helpful and yummy breakfast. I did feel that the internet was not fantastic while we were in the pool villa, but what to do when you are in such a huge and spacious accommodation!
Indeed there are some things they could have improved on, cleanliness of the villa was one, but overall, we had a very pleasant stay, nice conversation with the team and would recommend this to others. Oh, location was not an issue, taxi was cheap, walking is fine if you are okay with the heat. :)
Great job Amala team! *sorry we cant remember all your names, we met so many of u over our stay, but u were all tops!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank starie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Starie,
Thank you very much for your time and feedback on Trip Advisor. We very much appreciate your feedback, the internet indeed has been an issue over the last cpl. of weeks, but we are happy to share with you that since you have left we finally managed to change our internet provider and we are now having a much faster internet connection. I truly hope you will be back some time to enjoy the upgraded internet service.
I am really happy to read that you have enjoyed your short stay and services with us, and it was a real pleasure to have you with us.
Once again thank you for staying with us….sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Stayed in a pool villa for seven nights, will start with the positives!

- free drop off service within seminyak really handy, we used this quite a bit to be dropped at lunches and dinners, then got a taxi back
- complimentary daily homemade cookies, really yummy
- day spa nice, had a 60 min massage each, therapists knowledgable. Juice prior to treatment was really nice and tea afterwards was nice.
- complimentary airport transfers were great
- we had dinner twice at amala and breakfast each day which was yummy, breakfast is a la carte so if you are a buffet breakfast fan then maybe book another resort. Tried most of the breakfast options, banana pancakes were delicious.

Some negatives are
- villa doesn't appear to be overly clean, especially the toilet
- welcome massage included in rate but we never got this
- we had daily afternoon tea included in our rate, if we wanted this we had to phone reception and ask, this was a little annoying, we kind of expected the 'butler' to initiate this.
- on numerous occasions our plates and any un eaten food were left in our villa for long periods, which then attracted bugs etc
- location was our biggest let down, while it doesn't take long in a taxi or cost much the amala is not within walking distance to main restaurants and seminyak square. You could walk if you really wanted to but it is virtually unbearable in the heat. If we did return to bali in the future we would stay at a resort a lot closer to the shopping/restaurants.

Some restaurants we are at and liked included: Metis, sarong, grocer and grind, the junction, ku de Ta, potato head, the bistrot, la lucciola, also went to rock bar in jimbaran which was beautiful for sunsets.

It may sound like a lot of negatives but all in all the amala was a lovely place to stay it was really just the location as the main negative, it is also right hear the main highway so can be noisy.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BEC1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear BEC1234,
I am glad to see you have arrived well back home again, and I only hope that the busy daily routine is taking it easy on you. Thank you very much for your review and pointing out the things you liked and things which could be improved. We value your feedback and always try to improve our services, which is only possible because of our guests feedback.
Some of the things, such as clearing up the plates faster, or initiating the daily Tea package by the butler could have been easily correct right away during your stay if brought to our attention immediately. But being aware of it now, the service has been adjusted to the benefit of our guest.
Once again I would like to say thank you for your feedback and taking the time to review us.
Sunny greetings from the Bali
Madlen & The Amala team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2013

As a regular visitor to Seminyak, I was disappointed with this hotel. In all my Balinese experiences the attention to detail has always been overtly apparent. However, this was the main thing lacking at this venue in all areas - welcome by manager, staff, security, cleanliness, organisation, etc. There was nothing luxurious about this villa complex. The location backs onto a main highway, and it is very noisy. Mosquitos a big problem in this area, and having outdoor bathroom facilities made it a battle everytime you stepped out at night. The standard of cleanliness I would consider to be poor for Seminyak standards. And unlike other hotels in Seminyak security at this hotel was non-apparent. The communual area is small including poolside facilities. It is more for show.
It is important to note that the rooms are visually appealing and generally well designed, and the free transfers in and out of town and to the airport are a definite feature of this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Aussiebeccyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

Dear Aussiebeccyc,

I am truly sorry to hear that our facility did not reach up to your expectation and that your stay with us was disappointing. In terms of the location of the Amala, the majority of our guest think that our location is very convenient and some of our guests have different expectation, and as you have mentioned, there is always the free drop off in Seminyak we offer whenever we can. In regards to the Mosquitos, that is indeed a common and annoying problem in Bali and we try to prevent it in the best possible way.

In regards to your comment about the attention to detail, I personally feel very sorry that we, as a team here at The Amala, could not reach up to your expectations, with all the efforts and world-famous Asian smile and friendliness, we are so well known for. I would really appreciate if you could take some time to share more of your feedback with me directly via mail madlen.ernest@theamala.com in order for us to improve. We value the feedback of our guest, and I thank you for taking the time to review us, and I am looking forward to receive your mail.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen Ernest

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 148 in Seminyak
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#15 of 148 in Seminyak
2,066 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £71 - £277 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing