We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Amala
Nearby Hotels
The Oberoi Bali(Seminyak)
US$398
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$350
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$405
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$358
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$402
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$327
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$266
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$267
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
IZE Seminyak(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$126
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$106
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$316
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$243
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$104
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$99
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Samaya Bali Seminyak(Seminyak)
US$676
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$492
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (702)
Filter reviews
702 results
Traveller rating
531
130
30
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
531
130
30
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villaour honeymoonsteam showerbanana pancakesplunge poolcooking classoutdoor bathtubrose petal bathbali delispa sessiondeluxe roomboutique resortbreakfast menuturn down servicebutler servicewould highly recommend this hotelfantastic stay
Filter
Updating list...
390 - 395 of 702 reviews
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Unfortunately I stayed only 6 out of intended 11 nights as the hotel was fully booked. I booked the SPA Package with the Spa Studio accommodation with 2 hours of spa treatments per day.
The Studio is very nice in size and has a big king size bed with a little seating bench on one side of the wall. The toilet and the shower are in a small courtyard outside the room, which is nice for the shower but not a great idea for the toilet.
The staff were very friendly and attentive. Location is a bit off and it takes you approximately 20 minutes to get to the beach and 10 minutes to the main street and shopping area.
The breakfast was very nice and you could chose from a variety of soft drinks, coffee specialities, fruit, muesli etc.
Even the lunch/dinner menu was smalls, it was sufficient and every meal was prepared very nicely and tasted amazingly, even comparable to some very high priced top restaurants around the world.

Room Tip: I asked the staff to show me the different villas and once I saw the Spa Villa, I immediately fell in love. That is what you should book. The pool villas a a bit more spacious but not necessarily nicer. The 3 bedroom villa is huge and makes sense for a family or friends traveling together.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Rade_M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we very much appreciate your detailed feedback and sharing with the Trip Advisor community your experience here with us. Our Spa Villas indeed are very charming and spacious, and one of our most popular category. We really hope that you will have another opportunity to return to the island of Gods and that we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little retreat.
Once again thank you for staying with us, sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

Although there are other quieter boutique villas around in other areas of Seminyak, this little boutique villa is great if you want the convenience of Seminyak shopping and 20 minute walk to beach, while still feeling you are away from the busy streets when in your own villa.
Great for a getaway on your own or with a friend/partner as it is clean, quiet, staff are very friendly, great amenities and the food is great (they provide nutritious alternatives).
The spa is one of the best experiences I have had yet, and primarily due to the skills of the staff.
I preferred it as somewhere to go that did not accept children under 12 (so there are no children there) and it is designed so that the rooms really only fit 2 pax spaciously.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Karen A,
First of all let me say thank you for choosing The Amala for your home away from home. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and especially our Spa services. We constantly try to improve our spa service and products with frequent trainings and using only very high end organic products. We truly hope to get another opportunity to welcome you back to our little boutique retreat.
Once again thank you for your time to review us on Trip Advisor
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

We stayed at the Amala in October and had a really lovely time. Before staying I contacted Madlen about my sisters birthday and the staff arranged balloons and a cake for her. It is a really peaceful environment and the staff were always really friendly and helpful.

We were staying as two couples, but out celebrating birthdays during the day and it was nice to come back to such a peaceful and clean environment. The breakfast was also really fresh and delicious.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sophie_t99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Sophie _t99,
It was our pleasure to have you and your sister here with us at The Amala, and I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I truly hope you can plan again soon a long weekend getaway to come to Bali for relaxation and bliss.
Thank you as well for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor.
Best regards from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013 via mobile

Was so happy with our stay at the Amala. The staff were so helpful & friendly & made our stay really enjoyable. Pool & facilities were great & the massage at the spa was the best I've had in Bali to date! Only thing we would do is opt for a non-studio room if we stayed longer as it was quite small but all in all a fantastic stay.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nickiliv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear Nickiliy,
Thank you very much for taking time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor. The team and myself are very pleased to hear that we could make your stay with us enjoyable and that we could especially pamper you with our Spa treatments. We truly hope that you will have soon the opportunity to enjoy another gate away to Bali and hopefully we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to The Amala, and hopefully you will be able to experience our spacious Spa Villas or Pool Villas.
Once again thank you for choosing the Amala for your stay. Sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Madlen the utmost attentive and ever charming resort manager from Austria.. wasn't it the Swiss being famous in hospitality? literally rolled out the red or was it the green carpet for us? Well, that's how we felt upon arrival.. and the time we stayed - and we stayed in a gorgeous private pool villa.. no carpet no frills but with a fantastic courtyard style look and feel with all the amenities and fixtures including a big tub you'd need for a honeymoon. Well, we weren't exactly on a honeymoon but had a great time while wining and dining at the poolside enjoying our oasis within Seminyak.
Next morning.. the sweet hearted masseuse introduced us to the resorts spa services on offer, so we couldn't resist. It's indeed the resorts forte - we were being pampered silly again and again.. I truly recommend the ear candles massage! Not that I just heard better than before:-) but it was so relaxing before the shopping and the island hopping were to resume.
Thanks Madlen you made our stay a memorable one.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tompe_saigon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2013

Dear tompe_saigon,
Receiving your review was very rewarding, thank you very much for spending the time to post it and to point out in such detail what you have enjoyed with us. Your stay with us was indeed to short and we can only hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon again, to our little retreat, here in Seminyak. I am very sure that for your next visit we can pamper you with new exciting Spa experiences and maybe at your next visit you manage to enjoy as well our Yoga classes.
Once again thank you for choosing Amala for your home away from home and hopefully to welcome you soon again at the beautiful island of Bali..
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews