We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ Pleasantly surprised”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

Decided to book this villa after reading the great reviews here. We stayed at the Spa Studio which included a 1hr daily spa treat for each guest... That's what got us hooked to this deal! The resort provided complimentary 2 way airport transfers as well. When we got into the car, our driver provided us with nice cold towels and water to refresh ourselves.
Upon arrival at the resort, we were swiftly escorted to our room to do our in-room check in. The room was a little small but it's cozy for 2 gals... The entire bathroom was outdoors... nice idea but just need a little more lighting... You wouldn't want to shower/do your "business" in the dark :)
Breakfast was decent with very good freshly squeezed juices. Loved the Spa treats to pamper ourselves!
It's a small property with only 15 rooms and villas so service is good.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Michelle T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear Thamkl,
I hope you arrived well back home and that the Christmas shopping is not stressing too much. Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. The spa studio is indeed our smallest room category but YES the deal is very tempting to get pampered every day with a one hour spa treatment :)
Thank you for sharing what you have enjoyed with us and what you would like to improve. The outdoor lightning in the bathroom is definitely something we can work on to improve and hopefully by your next visit you can enjoy a brighter Spa Studio.
Once again thank you for staying with us and The Amala team and myself wish you a Merry Christmas and a happy New Year…
Best regards
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

346 - 352 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2013

These were our favorite villas in a city. There is no street noise yet you are very close to the main areas of Seminyak. The villas are well appointed with a kitchen, very large outdoor covered lounge area with the largest of private pools we stayed at! The bedroom is air conditioned and the bathroom is nothing but classy and spacious. The service is amazing and they help with everything you need. They deliver your food to your villa upon request. They have a ride service to areas around Seminyak. They treat you as a valued guest. It happened to be my birthday and my wife told them so the entire staff showed up to our villa with a very nice cake and sang me happy birthday.

The spa was amazing and I had one of the best massages there. I will 100% stay there next time I am in bali. Thanks so much for making our stay perfect!

Room Tip: Villa #8-Pool Villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PhilSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 December 2013

Dear PhilSD,
Thank you for your feedback and spending time to review us on Trip Advisor. We were honored that you have chosen The Amala as your stay away from home during your birthday and we are happy that we could make it a little for you.
Our Spa Therapists are all amazing girls and I am very fortunate to have them on our team. I am so happy to share your positive comments with them. They are always so excited to see the positive comments on Trip Advisor. I truly hope we will have soon the possibilities to welcome you back to The Amala in the near future. Merry Christmas and a happy New Year…
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

The Amala was very pleasant, from the moment you walk through the door you are surrounded by smiling,helpful faces,always very eager to assist with all manners of request. From surfing lessons to suggesting the best nasi goreng in town. Comfortable beds and accomodations,great private swimming pool and some of the best food in Seminyak.

Room Tip: The pool rooms are very special and very private and well worth the extra dollars
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eugene B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Eugene B,
Thank you very much for staying with us, it was our pleasure to accommodate you here at The Amala. We are very excited to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. As well big thanks to you for spending time to review us on Trip Advisor, even though you might be busy with your daily routine back home.
Once again we truly hope to welcome you back soon again to The Amala – thank you and have a wonderful day
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We recently stayed here for 5 nights in a spa villa and from the moment we arrived we were constantly impressed by the cleanliness, level of service and overall ambience of the whole place.

The room- amazing. Clean, well designed and perfectly comfortable. Lovely turn down service where your room is also sprayed/prepared with bug repellent.
Having breakfast served to your own personal space is also a great extra- and the breakfast are wonderful. I am not a fan if buffet breakfast so the choices suited me perfectly.

The staff at reception were great- offering recommendations for dinner and making reservations and arranging cars to collect us- sometimes taxis, but sometimes the bigger restaurants will collect you and return you to your hotel. They recommended we ate at Jambaran beach one evening to watch the sunset, and we would not have done this had it not been suggested.
The hotel will also arrange a driver for 4/6 or 8 hours. We had one for 8 hours and the cost is very reasonable,they also gave us a suggested itinerary of places we may like to visit.

We also had spa treatments and what a delight this was- the treatment rooms like the rest of the place are perfectly designed and very relaxing.

I was slightly worried just before travelling here as I read some not so great reviews on trip advisor, but I can honestly say that I think they are totally unfounded as our experience of The Amala was perfect and I would certainly recommend it to all of my friends visiting Bali.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah1232
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Sarah 1232,
First of all let me express our thanks to you for spending time to review our services in such detail. The entire team and myself are very happy to hear that you have had a great time with us and that you have enjoyed our services to the fullest. Thank you for sharing with the Trip Advisor community your point of view, we really appreciate your honesty and compliments. The entire Amala Family and I really hope to welcome you back to our little retreat soon, and that we have another possibility to pamper you.
With a little rain shower this morning we hope the sun will come out soon to send you sunny greetings from the island of Gods
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in spa villa
Great rooms with open space
Fantastic breakfasts
Loved the free drinks in the mini bar and the free drop off service to local restaurants
Madeline the Resort Manager was fantastic and is a real credit to the Amala she made the difference from a good stay to a great and remborale stay
See you next November

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markrobyn08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear markrobyn08,
We are all looking forward to next November to welcome you back. It has been such a pleasure to have you and your wife with us. We are happy to hear that you had a memorable stay with us and that your appreciated our driver services.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to review us on trip advisor and for staying with us.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Tha Amala is a surprise. One second you are traveling in the traffic, the next you are in a heavenly haven. We found the service to be exceptional, the room was a sheer delight with an outdoor bath and shower that also turns into a sauna. Ideal for honeymooners or people seeking a wellness escape.

Room Tip: The room with the splash pool is divine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GretchenW1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 24 November 2013

Dear GretchenW1,
Thank you for your review, your stay with us has been too short. I truly hope to get an opportunity soon again to welcome you back to our little retreat, for more relaxing and of course shopping :-) ..
Once again thank you for staying with us - Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Unfortunately I stayed only 6 out of intended 11 nights as the hotel was fully booked. I booked the SPA Package with the Spa Studio accommodation with 2 hours of spa treatments per day.
The Studio is very nice in size and has a big king size bed with a little seating bench on one side of the wall. The toilet and the shower are in a small courtyard outside the room, which is nice for the shower but not a great idea for the toilet.
The staff were very friendly and attentive. Location is a bit off and it takes you approximately 20 minutes to get to the beach and 10 minutes to the main street and shopping area.
The breakfast was very nice and you could chose from a variety of soft drinks, coffee specialities, fruit, muesli etc.
Even the lunch/dinner menu was smalls, it was sufficient and every meal was prepared very nicely and tasted amazingly, even comparable to some very high priced top restaurants around the world.

Room Tip: I asked the staff to show me the different villas and once I saw the Spa Villa, I immediately fell i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rade M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2013

Dear Rade_M,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, we very much appreciate your detailed feedback and sharing with the Trip Advisor community your experience here with us. Our Spa Villas indeed are very charming and spacious, and one of our most popular category. We really hope that you will have another opportunity to return to the island of Gods and that we will have the chance to welcome you back to our little retreat.
Once again thank you for staying with us, sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 148 in Seminyak
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#15 of 148 in Seminyak
2,065 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £97 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing