We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 February 2014

Possibly the best hotel we have stayed in. Staff were so helpful and couldn't do enough to make us comfortable. Villa was beautiful and clean and actually looked like the photos we had viewed online. Breakfast was consistently good and room service was reasonable and food was great quality. Only downside was the wifi, slow and sometimes no connection at all but this might be a good thing if you want some quiet time. Can't wait to return

Stayed: February 2014
Thank Elaine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 18 February 2014

Dear Elaine K,
What a compliment to read your Trip Advisor review, thank you very much. We are, the entire Amala Team, extremely happy that you have enjoyed our services and stay with us. We appreciate very much your feedback and that you shared with us what you have enjoyed the most and what could be improved.
We truly hope to welcome you back The Amala Villas soon again, once again thank you for staying with us. Good luck to all your travels to come
Best regards and greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (651)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

325 - 331 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 4 February 2014

The intimate small retreat is very quiet and nice, attentive service from the staff and most importantly, a very good spa treatment thrown in for free when you book the studio room.

The only thing is the room layout was a little weird - the wash basin is in the middle of the room, with shower and lavatory outside.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mediocre_Gal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Mediocre_Gal,
Indeed you had a short getaway only, but hopefully you can plan another long weekend away from Singapore soon. Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments with the Trip Advisor community. We are happy that you have enjoyed our services especially the relaxing moments at our spa. We truly hope to welcome you back to The Amala again on your next trip.
Take care and happy working week, best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed at the Amala for two nights in early January 2014. We had found it recommended by Mr and Mrs Smith and it suited us because it was quite close to the airport (we arrived quite late in the evening). Although The Amala is just off a very large round the complex itself is very quiet and peaceful. The staff were warm and welcoming (we particularly appreciated the cold towel and drink when they picked us up at the airport). We had booked a Pool Villa and it certainly lived up to expectation. The pool and living room were quite large though the bedroom was quite small but with great air-conditioning. The food was generally excellent and the breakfast and lunch menu provided ample choice. There is even a free option to have breakfast in your room just cm away from your pool! The hotel staff were also very helpful and good at organising for a car with driver so we could go and see Tanah Lot and the Royal Temple. Their advice on places to go for drinks and dinner was also great and they are able to book registered caps even at short notice. We would definitely recommend The Amala though we generally felt that staying in Seminyak for two days was enough. It is certainly the busiest (and most expensive) part of Bali.

Room Tip: Pool Villa :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sophie20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 17 February 2014

Dear Sophie20142014,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. It was our pleasure to have you here with us and we are very happy that we could make your stay comfortable and relaxing. Seminyak indeed is a busy spot, the shops, restaurant & nightlife could easily overwhelm you with impressions, we are very happy to hear that you found the right balance and relaxation at our villas during your stay with us. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and recommending our services to other fellow travelers. We truly hope to welcome you back again someday to the islands of gods.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

What a wonderful place we were fortunate enough to choose to stay at for the first week of the New Year. It was so good we could have been anywhere, and would have been happy to be confined to the beautiful boutique Amala property with all that it had to offer.

The staff from arrival at the airport, to drop off at the airport a week later were exemplary. The service was faultless, the rooms beautifully appointed and private, and the food was out of this world.

The most special evening spent in Bali was at the Amala for a dinner specially created and prepared by Chef Gede. This memorable occasion arose from my partner (a chef) asking about the availability of fresh lobster over breakfast. Within a couple of hours the chef had sourced and priced fresh live lobster and prepared a specially designed five course menu for us. Of course we were delighted to take up his offer. This was seriously one of the BEST meals I have ever had. This is a bold statement given I have been fortunate enough to dine at many world renowned restaurants. Every little detail made a big impact, especially the unexpected transformation of our room for the occasion. This evening will be treasured in our memories forever.

And yes sure it rained, but it didn't dampen our great time. The Amala is wet season friendly ..... and the rain encourages you to stay in and soak up the wonderfulness that is Amala.

This serenity, privacy and personalised service at Amala sure beats the big 5 star + properties nearby. Such a great choice. A month later, we are longing to and surely will return.

Room Tip: They are all great. We booked late and took the only one of the 12 villas still available from New...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jodie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2014

Dear Jodie S,
Thank you very much for reviewing your experience on Trip Advisor. We are all very happy to see that you have enjoyed your moments here with us at the Amala. Especially Chef Gede would like to send his regards to you and he truly hopes to delight you with more tempting menu options on your next return, he and his culinary team really enjoyed to put together a “out of the ordinary” menu for you both. Please do not hesitate to contact me or our reservation team directly if you would like to stay with us at your next return. We would be truly honored to welcome you back and to apply our repeater booking benefits.
Sunny greetings from the Island of gods
Madlen & The Amala Team
madlen.erenst@themala.com, bliss@theamala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The Amala's service was perfect right from the start upon arrival at the airport. We had free airport transfers as part of the package we paid for, and the staff that came to pick us up was courteous, and served us cold water once we stepped into the car.

Upon entering the property, it felt like a totally different world from the street outside. Peaceful, calm, green and comfortable. The staff at the front desk were very friendly as well, and check in was super easy quick. They also checked with us all the activities we had confirmed with them (a cooking class, spa session), as well as the hiking tour to Mt Batur I had gotten a contact from them for. As we were going to be setting off very early, they even checked if we wanted to have a pack breakfast box to bring along, and also gave us a late checkout so we could hower after our hiking trip and before our flight back!

When it came to activities to do in Bali, they were very helpful in suggesting places to go around the area, and they even went out of their way to help call a couple of places for dinner for us to ensure we could have it at a sunset facing restaurant!

The villa we stayed in was the spa villa and the room was gorgeous! The outdoor spa pool area was where we spent most of the time chilling, and we also had our breakfast in the comfort of our own villa. No complaints at all about the room! Looks just like it does on photos and was very clean!

I also have to mention the cooking class we had with their in house chef, Gede. He was great in explaining to us the different ingredients and what to do. We definitely had lots of fun, and a great meal after as well!
The spa session we had was also great, the masseuse knew what they were doing, and used just enough strength. It was perfect!

Location was great, it was near the busy shopping and eating area in Seminyak, but not that near so we still had our peace and quiet. Great for people who are look for action in the day, but good rest at night.

All in all, I would definitely be recommending The Amala to my friends and we wished we stayed longer!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getassha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Getassha,
There is not much I can say to your amazing feedback for us. What a nice way to start our day to read you review on Trip Advisor. Thank you very much for your review on Trip Advisor and your time to write this very detailed review.
We are all very happy that you have enjoyed our services and we could make your stay with us so memorable. We truly hope to welcome you back soon again and that we can again pamper you with all our services.
As well Gede sends his regards to you, and he hopes that you will apply your Balinese cooking skill at home for your friends as learned here . :)
From the entire Amala Family best regards and a wonderful week
Sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We visited The Amala in October 2013 for 5 nights in a spa studio room. Amala family, I am so so sorry it has taken me so long to write this review. From the time we were met at the airport, the Amala staff were exemplary. From the resort manager, right down to the young man who sweeps up the leaves each day, the dedication shown to their jobs was amazing. I could not fault any of the staff, they were so friendly and always willing to go out of their way to make our holiday experience magical.
Madlen and her team provided us with great recommendations for restaurants and shopping, and made numerous reservations for us. Nothing was too much trouble.
The size of the room was fine, and I loved the open air bathroom. I also loved the daily fruits and drinks in the mini bar.
We utilised the spa several times, as a certain amount of treatments was included in our package. The spa staff were lovely, and discreet. The spa treatments were on par with the quality of treatments in Australia. I have read some reviews complaining about the cost of the spa. The spa is still great value for money, and is much cheaper than what you would pay for a spa treatment in Australia. Do book in advance though, as their spa is in high demand!!
Breakfast was great, so healthy and yummy, a great way to start the day. I definitely recommend trying the wheatgrass shot! We ordered room service a few times for lunch and dinner, and the food was generally pretty good, except for one time the steak was undercooked from what I ordered.
The Amala was very tranquil and relaxing, and a great place to chill out. It was quiet, and we rarely saw other guests, even though I think they were close to fully booked when we were there. The Amala is definitely an oasis in the middle of Seminyak.
I have two small criticisms, one is that the bed was two single beds joined together and the other is a think the lunch and dinner menus could be expanded and have some more options added in.
I cannot wait to return!!!!!!

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Rebecca P,

Thank you so much for your Trip Advisor Review, I really appreciate that you took the time to write such a detailed review about your stay with us, even though it’s been a couple of months :-) your Feedback is very important to us, to know what you have loved about your stay and the things you would change or improve are the key points for our success.
In regards to the menu, I will definitely use this opportunity to realize an idea create by Chef Gede and myself a short while ago, to implement an afternoon “snacks & easy bits” menu, as well I shared with the culinary team your feedback in regards of the steak.
The Amala family and myself we can’t wait to welcome you back hopefully soon again, and to impress you with changes and improvements and to pamper you during your stay.
With best regards and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

We thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay in a pool villa from Jan 11 this year. We were made feel welcome from the moment we were picked up at the airport. We arrived very early in the morning and the reception staff ensured we had a room immediately. Excellent location to the main shopping & dining areas of Seminyak too. The Bali Deli across the road is a bit expensive but is super clean, well stocked & they have a secure money exchange booth. They even have doormen! It is very popular with expats.
The staff of The Amala were extremely accommodating, very knowledgeable of the local Seminyak neighbourhood and always offered to assist us with suggestions and bookings. It's great to always be greeted by name when returning from a long day of exploring too!
Our pool villa was very spacious, with a well equipped kitchen, wonderfully cool bedroom and enormous bathroom. Housekeeping did a great job of servicing our room each day. They offered to spray for mosquitos each evening however the mosquito coils in the room were effective.
The morning breakfasts were very fresh and prepared us well for the long day ahead. The Bali coffee is fantastic and endless if you like it that way!
A special hello & thanks to the property manager, Madlen who greeted us in the restaurant each morning, shared conversation about our daily adventures and was always ready with helpful information. Madlen also organised for us to keep our room for a very late departure on the final night of our stay - a great gesture we appreciated so much.
Your hospitality experience is evident and you are a great mentor for your team Madlen. So, we will definitely stay with you when we return to Bali one day. Thanks!

Room Tip: The pool villas are very spacious however we spent most time out exploring so one of the smaller vil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Dear Partex,
I truly enjoyed the daily morning chats with you, which are definitely my most favorite part of my job, to get out of the office and to get to know our guests. I always remember how much I appreciated every insight information and personal recommendation when traveling; sometimes information on the Internet or in Travel books can be overwhelming.
I am so happy to hear that you had a great time with us and I truly hope to get the opportunity to welcome you back soon again. Once again thank you so much for staying with us and for taking the time review us on Trip Advisor.
I wish you all the best for all your upcoming journeys and a safe travels wherever you go.
Looking forward to see you soon again
With best regards and sunny greetings from the Island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 148 in Seminyak
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#15 of 148 in Seminyak
2,059 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £95 - £272 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing