We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for a honeymoon”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 March 2014

Our travel agent suggested the Amala for our honeymoon and we are glad they did. We arrived at the airport and a rep from the Amala was there to greet us and take us back to the resort. On arrival at the Amala we met the manager who was very helpful and told us about some of the places we should visit in seminyak. The butler who showed us our room was very informative and told us everything we needed to know about our stay. The meals were excellent although we ate out most of the time except for breakfast which was included. The resort is nice and quiet and it was hard to believe we were so close to a busy road. The main pool wasn't working for the last few days we were there but we had our own plunge pool we could use instead. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful and were more than happy to book tours for us, nothing ever seemed lile it was too much trouble.

Room Tip: spa villa is perfect for couples
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Heaves,
“Perfect for a honeymoon” is possible the best compliment we can achieve, thank you so much for sharing your thoughts with us and the Trip Advisor community. We are very proud that we could be part of your honeymoon and make your stay with us memorable.
The entire team and myself hope that we will have another opportunity to meet you again here at The Amala, maybe for your first Anniversary :-) ..
Once again thank you so much for entrusting us with your honeymoon vacation, have a fantastic week.
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (652)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

311 - 317 of 652 reviews

Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here for 3 nights in the spa villa, and it was bliss.

I was met at the airport by the Amala's driver, and he was very friendly and informative, when i arrived at the Amala, i was welcomed, and shown to my villa, and the butler explained everything.Full bathroom amenities were supplied, complimentary drinks in the fridge, dvd, flatscreen tv, sound system all worked perfectly.

It's not a large property, but so perfect, well maintained, and having the choice of breakfast in your own villa was great, terrific start to the day as they were nice and fresh, and the juices were yummy. As i went solo, i didnt go out at night so had a few meals in dining, and very nice they were.

The plunge pool was more than adequate for me, but couples may like the bigger pool in the deluxe villa, i did have a look at one , and although bigger pool and villa, i wouldn't hesitate to recommend the spa villa. So relaxing splashing around at night under the stars.

WIFI worked well, can't miss out on my facebook now can i ? lol

Amala is in a great position, close to the shops, and there's a deli at the petrol station just across the road if you don't feel like walking a few metres to the bali deli, where there's also a money changer.

I had a welcome massage and then booked a full massage which was fantastic.

The staff here are remarkable, so friendly and helpful, and i would not hesitate to my friends to stay here, ----truly a most relaxing stay, thank you everyone for making me so welcome, hope to see you all again..

Room Tip: Pool villas are bigger all round, and the bathroom is enclosed unlike the open air ones in the spa v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Dear Tarni,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful and very detailed review on Trip Advisor. Our prime location in Seminyak is definitely a big plus for our guests, being close enough to the beach but having the possibility to indulge into a great shopping & dining experience all around - that’s what Seminyak is all about. We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us, that our services and team could reach your high expectations.
We truly hope to welcome you soon again back to The Amala, to pamper you with more spa treatments and to welcome you with the world famous Balinese smile.
Have a great weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

My husband & I only had one night at The Amala but wished it had been more. From the time we arrived all the staff were friendly and helpful and took the time out to welcome you. When we were shown to our studio room the staff member took the time to explain how everything worked and what was and wasn't included (a refreshing change). We were given complimentary water, fruit, soda water and cookies. The Amala is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay and the surroundings beautiful. Breakfast (also included) was very good and in an beautiful area. The studio room has an outdoor bathroom but very private and tranquil. The following day we had a complimentary massage and the girls were very good and always concerned of your comfort. Would recommend this hotel/villa to anyone.

Room Tip: The studio room is their smallest room but still spacious enough for two people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Aussie E,
One night is indeed not enough to enjoy all the services we have to offer here at The Amala. I am happy you had the chance to experience our amazing spa services. To know that you would trust our services to recommend our Villas to your friends and family is one of the best compliments we can achieve. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and for spending time to review us on Trip Advisor. We truly hope to welcome you back soon again – hopefully not just for one night. :)
Have a great week, sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014

A very relaxing and peaceful stay in the spa studio after a busy week working. A beautiful ambience away from the hustle and bustle. A very good location, close to shops, restaurants. Excellent breakfasts and generally delicious food. A lovely stay!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jac2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Jac2020,
Thank you very much for taking the time to give a quick review for your stay with us. We appreciate that you have enjoyed your stay with us and our special Spa Studio deal. Our location is indeed very convenient if you are looking for something close to the center but not to be too close to all the noisy action.
Once again thank you very much for choosing us for your stay after a hectic work week.
Have a great and successful week, sunny greetings from the island of gods
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2014

My husband and I stayed 8 days in a Spa Villa which was perfect! Our first experience staying in a villa, and The Amala didn't let us down. Secluded and private, couldn't feel more relaxed. The hotel is far enough away from the hustle and bustle of Seminyak area but close enough to walk to the shops, only meters away from the Bali Deli.
Car service to take you anywhere in the local area was great, gave us easy access to all major and popular venues within Seminyak.
The 24 hour butler service on call, where nothing was too much trouble, every time we requested something it was delivered with enthusiasm and a smile. Fantastic breakfast, delivered and served in our villa, and we often ate lunch at our villa, the food never let us down.
High commend the management and staff in running a warm and welcoming boutique style resort!
We would stay here again!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Viv M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear Viv M,
We can’t wait to welcome you back to The Amala, we truly hope that you and your husband will find soon time again to have another get away. I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed every moment of your stay with us. I have forwarded your feedback in regards to your dining experiences to our culinary team guided by Chef Gede, and all of them were super happy to hear your comments.
Once again it was our pleasure to welcome you to The Amala, thank you for staying with us. We send you sunny greetings from the Island.
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2014

My husband & I stayed two nights here, it is really secluded and private. We were upgraded to a pool villa where we had our own plunge pool. The staff are very attentive and made sure we knew where everything was and how to use it. The bedroom was upstairs and air-conditioned with large TV, the bathroom is upstairs as well and is outdoors, the main area is downstairs and has ceiling fans(no aircon), small kitchenette, wicker couch and small TV. The night we arrived we had a late dinner and a few drinks in the restaurant which was pleasant but there are bugs around so bring your spray, they didn't spoil our dinner though, can recommend the quinoa salad. The breakfast in the morning is served in your room, with your own waiter, so there is no need to rush, its all brought to you. We walked down to the beach at Seminyak and Legian, it took us about an hour or so but we did look in the galleries and shops on the way. The beach was really disappointing, had rubbish washed up on it as far as we walked. We lunched in a favourite restaurant just off the beach then taxied back to the resort. In the afternoon we were then treated to a relaxing massage at the resort. Our dinner that evening was a BBQ in our villa, this was quite special having a chef and waiter just for us. The staff brought in a BBQ and all the food and cooked and served it in our villa, we had brought a couple bottles of wine from home so opened them. We have never had such personal service before, it was lovely, thoroughly enjoyed this experience (it was my husbands birthday weekend after all). The next day we were moving to a golf resort, the Butler was more than happy to organise us a car and driver and suggested a great place for lunch on the way. Really enjoyed the experience of the Amala Villas, it is very secluded and private, and the service is amazing. If you want to be out by the pool with everyone else this is not the place for you. If they could improve anything it would be to have a more comfortable sofa to sit on in the main area, the TV downstairs is dated but didn't really watch it anyway.

Room Tip: the private pool villas are very nice but have not stayed in the other type of rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1GlennyM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 4 March 2014

Dear 1GlennyM,
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed Trip Advisor Review. It is very important for us to hear what you have enjoyed and what could be improved to make your stay more comfortable with us. It makes me very proud to read that you have felt very good taken care by the team and their attentiveness was noted. The rubbish indeed is a growing problem here in Bali, many hotels including our self’s have signed petitions for a plastic free environment. Going Green has become a hot topic here in Bali. Regular beach clean ups organized by different Hotels and schools are only the beginning to hopefully an island wide long term solution for the rubbish.
Once again thank you for staying with us and we truly hope to welcome you back soon again to the island of gods
Best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

Everyone at the Amala Spa is devoted to ensuring all the small details of your stay add up to a wonderful experience. The warmth of the employees to the guests is matched by the care they have for each other. This creates an environment where the hospitality is genuine and the standards professional. My spa studio room was clean and comfortable. The shower and in room sink were accompanied by a good range of personal products, the shower gel and lotions were particularly nice being from the same range as their spa. I selected the same breakfast each day and the quality was almost unvarying. I loved the fresh juice, fruit with lime juice and the pesto on the tomato made it very tasty. The massage rooms were serene with little or no external noise entering the environment. The tv was accompanied by a dvd player and the sound system was acceptable. The Amala's location in Seminyak was convenient for walking to the shops and it was also beneficial to be near Sunset Road when catching taxi's to other locations. The road noise was occasionally noticeable but I never found it intrusive. All together The Amala provided me with a cosy, secure place to retreat to after busy days of exploring and shopping.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2014

Dear Lisa T,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your detailed experiences with the Trip Advisor community. We are indeed a fantastic team here at The Amala, I call myself very lucky and fortunate to have such amazing people to work with, and I am sure that our guest can feel that immediately and that’s what makes the team very special. I am very happy that the attention to detail were appreciated and that we could make your stay with us a wonderful experience. I hope we will have the opportunity again to welcome you to The Amala, and pamper you with our services.
Once again thank you for staying with us and have a great evening
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Blue Karma Hotel
Blue Karma Hotel
#21 of 148 in Seminyak
695 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#15 of 148 in Seminyak
2,064 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £95 - £276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Expedia, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing