We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Amala
Nearby Hotels
US$418
US$320
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The One Boutique Villa(Seminyak)
US$309
US$217
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Legian Bali(Seminyak)
US$654
US$561
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Pelangi Bali Hotel(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$109
US$94
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Anantara Seminyak Bali Resort(Seminyak)
US$958
US$418
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$548
US$520
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$312
US$279
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Amadea Resort & Villas(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$88
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Kunja Villas & Spa(Seminyak)(Great Value!)
US$577
US$556
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$225
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (693)
Filter reviews
693 results
Traveller rating
522
130
30
7
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
522
130
30
7
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsspa villaour honeymoonsteam showerbanana pancakesplunge poolcooking classoutdoor bathtubrose petal bathbali delispa sessiondeluxe roomboutique resortbreakfast menuturn down servicebutler servicewould highly recommend this hotelfantastic stay
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
337 - 342 of 693 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Amala made my 3 day Bali trip absolutely fantastic. The good experience started right after my booking ending only after drop off at the airport.

Amala asks for guest preference and tailors fruits, cookies, rooms, breakfast all as per individual preference. We got complementary airport pick up and drop off in a hotel car complete with magazines and bottled water. Check in was smooth and we were first taken to our villa prior to 'Check in' or 'Registration'
The booking came with afternoon tea - selection of teas, coffees and deserts which is served to your villa if you wish. Breakfast was nice and there is a 24hr Italian Cafe right next door. The staff smile, chat and greet warmly and always go the extra mile to help.

The hotel organised a car for getting around Bali - way better than cab and it's got plenty of Spas in the immediate neighbourhood starting from Glo Spa opposite the resort all the way down the road.
We were 15mins from Kuta which has become my new favourite Party Street!

Villa was fantastic but certainly comes with a good price tag attached.

Spa massage 1hr Seminyak - US 20
Nasi Goreng (local fried rice) - US 3
Kuta Spa Massage - US 10 upwards

Villa had jacuzzi pool, sauna + indoor and outdoor seating and dining areas. Good location, easy to get cabs and a few eateries and bars in addition to the spas.

Overall I had a fantastic stay and would gladly return when I can cough up the cash again!

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mal D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Mal D,
Thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. We are very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that our service was consistent and all the way through until your departure. We truly appreciate your feedback, it is very important to us to know what you have enjoyed and what was less appealing to you.

Bali has a lot to offer in terms of pricing, with more properties opening in Bali you can indeed find a wide range of Hotels & Villas starting from 30 USD a night to 1.000 USD a night. I believe that here at the Amala we have a fair and average pricing policy, but you are very right it is easy to find cheaper food or spa options around and especially in Kuta area which focus in young budged travelers.

Most of the cheaper spa places have very hard working conditions for the therapists, with no social security or other work benefits they only get about 10% on the treatment price sold to the guest. While we provide fair working conditions, health benefits for our employees and their family members, and appropriate salaries for our team members. Which I believe is reflected to their work attitude and makes them a happy team which enjoys working and providing first class service.

I truly hope that my above explanation gives a better understanding about the general pricing policies here in Bali. I am very glad you pointed it out, because I believe many people are confused with the price differences here in Bali.
Once again thank you very much for staying with us and we truly hope to welcome you back again to The Amala, do not hesitate to contact me any time directly for your future booking and we will be more than pleased to apply our repeater booking benefits for you.
With best regards from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
madlen.ernest@theamala.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We booked a 1 bedroom villa with private pool in February after recommendations from a friend who had stayed here previously. We really regret that we could only stay for 2 nights as we were heading to the Gilis. As I had arrived on my birthday, the staff surprised me shortly after check in with a candle laden cake singing happy birthday to me at our villa! I was also given a birthday card personally signed by members of the Amala family. Needless to say I was very touched with this personal note.

The villa is a hidden gem in Seminyak. It was nice to come back to such a serene place at the end of the day to wind down. It is clean, spacious and very romantic. I love all the nice smelling bath products provided.. It was really hard deciding whether to have a nice relaxing bath or a laze in the private pool. Life is so hard here at Amala!

The breakfast provided is very tasty and plentiful with lots of choices. We chose have breakfast at our villa but you can also have it at the restaurant- which is in a beautiful setting overlooking the pool and lots of greenery.

While it is not in an area where all the Seminyak night action is, it is walkable to most of the shopping and eating places. There's also an Alfa mart across the road and Bali deli 1 min walk away. When we don't feel like walking, it's only a cheap taxi ride to and from Amala to anywhere.

We would definitely come back to stay here again!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Sparkey84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear Sparkey84,
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback on Trip Advisor, to be called a hidden gem is an amazing compliment. I am very happy to see that with the personal touch we could make your birthday special for you.
Your detail description of our location and services is a great way for Trip Advisor followers to get an idea about The Amala and our services and surrounding areas.
Once again thank you for posting your feedback, and we truly hope to welcome you again soon back to Bali.
Have a great week
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

The Amala is a luxurious oasis in Seminyak! This was our second stay at The Amala and we still remain very impressed! We stayed in a pool villa and it is truly beautiful; there is nothing like waking up to the view of a pool to make a complete holiday. We can not recommend this place enough.

The staff are wonderful and make you feel like you're a member of The Amala family. They are always happy to assist and have gone out of their way to make our holiday enjoyable.

The villa has great facilities and all the commodities that you could desire. A highlight has definitely been having a bath with essential oils provided by The Amala. Having breakfast in your villa, overlooking the pool is a definite must. (The banana pancakes are delicious and so are the fresh juices).

We also recommend having a massage at The Amala. We had our massage at the Spa at the therapists were fantastic. The ambience of the spa is excellent.

This is the place for you if you want romance to flourish! The ambience of the villa is outstanding. It is also a lovely retreat to hang out, relax or take a dip in the pool in the privacy of your villa.

We can not thank the staff at The Amala for making our holiday amazing! We feel completely rejuvenated after our stay here and when we are back to work, we'll be dreaming about being back at our pool villa! We look forward to returning.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank VinAndLou L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear VinAndLou,

Happy Nyepi to both of you, today is the Balinese Silent Day, also known as the Balinese New Year. It feels like that the time is standing still. It’s the most quiet atmosphere I ever have experienced since being in Bali. Every Person on the island is to stay in their homes or resort, there is nobody on the streets, no traffic, no planes coming into Bali or leaving. I am sure you would have loved to experience this silence here, maybe something for you both to plan on your next year visit :).
Dear Vin and Lou, thank you so much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Its been an honor for us to host you again and to make your stay special. The entire team is looking forward to welcome you back again soon.
Have a great week and see you soon on the island of gods – sunny greetings
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

Everything we loved about the Amala can be summed up in one sweet, generous, thoughtful act. When the doorbell rang way too persistently one morning as we were getting ready to go out, my husband got irritated and told staff to come back later. What we didn't know was that behind the door to our villa a number of staff had gathered, candle-laden cake in hand, to sing me Happy Birthday. Incredibly, they were undeterred, and returned later that night when we got home from dinner. It was amazing--and illustrative of the friendly, helpful, fun-loving environment the people at the Amala have created.
We stayed in a one bedroom villa, with private pool, at the beginning of February. It was large, comfy, very clean and surprisingly quiet given the villas' location near Sunset Road. It's not the classiest area of Seminyak, but it IS a stones throw from the famous Bali Deli and Chill spa.
Breakfast was delicious -- not a wildly extensive menu, but local and western options, including a lovely Nasi Goreng. Each day of our stay, manager Madlen would stop by to offer suggestions for day trips, restaurants, shopping etc. all of which the staff are happy to arrange.
Seriously, we couldn't fault the Amala. It was a microcosm of everything we love about Bali -- especially the people.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank LookMumNoKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2014

Dear LookMumNoKids,
Thank you very much for sharing your Amala experience with us. I am very happy at the end we managed to present our Happy Birthday singing skills to you. :)
The Team and myself are happy to see that our personal recommendation made a difference to your stay in Bali. Personal service and attention to detail are very important and we are happy that we could project that to you and your husband during your stay with us.
Once again thank you very much for staying with us and your time to post a review on Trip Advisor.
We truly hope to welcome you back soon again, happy week and best regards from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

Just stayed at the Villa Residence, had a wonderful service from the whole team (front desk, butlers, service staffs & chef). However one major flaw from being a perfect holiday, poor shower and WiFi. Throughout the stay, there was weak water pressure and WiFi signal, a must have for every holiday. :(

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Jonchua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2014

Dear Jonchua,
First of all thank you for staying with us for your holiday, we really appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments about the things you liked and things which could be improved here at The Amala. I am truly sorry that you have encountered water pressure issues during your stay with us, unfortunately the water pump which we tried to repair could not be fixed and a new pump was installed after your stay. In regards to the WIFI, after a lot of complaints last year we have chosen a new provider and upgrade our WIFI services, all in all we have received a lot of positive comments in regards to the wifi, however we will definitely follow up with our Internet provider to see if it’s a hardware problem or just a general Bali problem.
Once again thank you very much for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. Your feedback has been very much appreciated.
We truly hope to welcome you again to The Amala , have a great week
Madlen & The Amala Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews