We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Luxury private villas with first class service and style”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #17 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Luxury private villas with first class service and style”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

My boyfriend and i stayed in April for 2 nights. And we were blown away instantly from the lobby facade. We were booked in for a Spa Villa but were upgraded to the Pool Villa which was fantastic in terms in amenities, own kitchen with hob, water cooler, complimentary fridge full of healthy drinks. Lounge and kitchen faced the pool, which was great.

The room was a great size and comfy bed, bathroom was huge with 2 sinks, bathtub, sky shower and toilet. Overall interior was in clean, contemporary and luxury with dark woods, grey marble/stone bathrooms. Right up our street.

Location wise is a 5 minute drive to the busier part of Seminyak, but a 10 minute walk from the cute local boutiques on Jalan Raya Seminyak. Is off a main road but when you're at the hotel you felt very secluded, was silent in the evening.

We each received a free 15 minute massage and airport transfer. We only wished we could've stayed for longer.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thisislouisalau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear thisislouisalau,
Thank you very much for your beautiful feedback on Trip Advisor. The Team and I are very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we could leave a long lasting impression with you. Your stay with us has been indeed rather short and I hope that you will have a chance soon again to book another getaway with us here in Bali.
Once again thank you very much for staying with us and hope to welcome you again soon here at The Amala.
Have a great weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & the Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

620 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    460
    121
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
38
415
40
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 22 April 2014

“How was your trip?” my friends asked.
I responded with just one word, “AWESOME” hence the title of my review.
They said the place I stayed was huge!
I explained myself that I had booked for the Pool Villa instead and got a free upgrade to The Residence (TR) when I check-in because of some maintenance going on at my pre-booked villa.

HERE IS MY REVIEW
I was overwhelm by the hospitality of The Amala (TA), the airport pick-up who waited patiently for 2hours at the airport, gave us ice cold pokka green tea & hand towels once we sat in the vehicle.

Within an hour, we arrived and proceed to check-in. It was hassle-free, just provide the necessary documentations that’s all. That’s when the staff explained the maintenance and the free upgrade.

I was brought to TR straight away, the friendly staff enlightens me how many villas are there, and there is ONLY ONE, TR. When I step into TR, the place was huge just for me and the missus and the staff notifies us that the rooms on the second level of TR will be locked since there are only two of us, but the public area & balcony on the second level are still accessible.

He went on explaining on the facilities within TR from the kitchen, water dispenser, cutleries, cups, to the living room, living quarters and the bath area.

The “black book” comes in handy whenever I needed something from meals to television channels (I was watching F1 and Soccer over the weekend), activities and all I need to know information…etc just a ring away~

You would think TA is near the main road and would be polluted with noise, the answer is NOPE. It is rather quiet once you’re in TA and in the serenity of your comfort villa.

The staffs even decorate two lovely swans with candle light and rose petals at the jacuzzi area & bathtub on our second night back from our outing.

Overall, I will strongly recommend The Amala to my friends and family members and will visit again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StevenKKTAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 26 April 2014
Dear Steven KKTAN,

Your feedback was a delight to read this morning, thank you very much to take your time to write such a detailed AWESOME review for us on Trip Advisor :). We are very happy that you have enjoyed our services and the upgrade was appreciated. Unfortunately we cannot give all the time room upgrades but whenever possible and available we are always happy to let our guest experience the unexpected.
I truly hope we will have the chance to accommodate you both again here at The Amala.
Once again thank you for staying with us, with best regards from the sunny island of gods
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

My husband and I have just got back from a lovely holiday to Bali. We stayed in a spa studio at The Amala. The room was gorgeous, typical Bali style with a wooden pitched roof and outside shower/loo. The Amala is hidden away from the main road and they play relaxing music throughout the exterior, it's a little eden.

We had a fantastic breakfast everyday as well as a free hours treatment that's included in the spa studio rate.

The staff were beautiful people so I can't understand the negative reviews. They went above and beyond for us, booking transfers, private cars, tours and restaurants.

The negative review about the bugs & mosquitoes, well what do you expect in Bali?! It's a tropical island! Every day the staff came in to our room and lit a citronella candle, they even sprayed our room with bug spray if we wished. The water is not drinkable anywhere in Bali so I don't understand this comment either.

If you want to stay close to Seminyak and would like a relaxing stay, then I would highly recommend the spa studios. We will definitely be booking this again for our next visit.

Room Tip: The spa sudios do not have a pool, however there are only 3 spa studios so the pool area is very qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liza A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Liza A,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your wonderful review on trip Advisor. It’s a great compliment for us to have met your high expectations. After all you have booked a holiday to get away from a stressful daily routine and you want to relax and be pampered with a good service, and I am very happy that we could achieve that for you and your husband.
I truly hope to welcome you again to the Amala for your next getaway. Do not hesitate to contact me personally for your next booking, madlen.ernest@theamala.com
The entire Amala Team and I, wish you a great weekend and send you sunny greetings form the island.
Once again thank you for staying with us, hope to see you soon again
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

My experience at Amala was really mixed so I struggled to give it it's overall rating. My first room (a studio) stunk of cigarettes so I asked to be moved. As I had stayed in a spacious villa at my prior accommodation I was shocked at the room size of the studio and instead got an upgrade to a spa villa. This was much better as there was some room to lounge about. I was traveling alone and would have found the studio very small if I was traveling with a partner. But if you are intending to use it as a base and not be there much it's probably not too bad. The Amala is nice, and has a nice zen feel, but in my view it's not the best property available for its price. I was at Villa Kresna prior and got a lot more for my $$$ space wise.
The upsides: friendly staff, great breakfasts, amazing spa treatments, a very helpful manager (Madlen), the free drop offs.

The downsides: the constant buzz of traffic noise (I'm not just talking about the sound of scooters, Amala is directly around the corner from a main road with fast and constant traffic), the location on a borderline industrial area (not as cute or attractive as areas closer to the beach), the small size of studio rooms.

Did I enjoy it - mostly yes. Would I recommend in terms of value for money - probably not.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Libapotamus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Dear Libapotamus,
First of all thank you very much for your time to write such a detailed review. It is very important to hear what you have enjoyed and what you like us to improve. In general anywhere in Seminyak you will be surrounded by a certain level of noises, they might be bar music late into the night, construction works, ceremony music at early mornings or honking motorbikes or cars or a barking dog throughout the night. Seminyak is a fantastic place it’s known for the great night life, Spas and beauty salons, amazing restaurants, sport activities and a lot of shopping. I personally believe that we have created here at The Amala a great retreat with our feng shui gardens to ensure the most relaxing atmosphere close enough to all the happenings. We always recommend to our guest to take the opportunity to also experience the opposite to Seminyak and explore surrounding areas such as Ubud. Ubud is very well known for its tranquility and can be truly recommended for any kind of retreat.
Once again I would like to thank you for staying with us, I am happy to see that you mostly enjoyed your stay with us, and I am truly sorry that we could not give you the ultimate experience.
The entire Amala Family and I wish you safe travel wherever you might go
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

I booked into this lovely boutique spa hotel in Seminyak for three nights to recover from my jet lag before meeting friends in Ubud. I was picked up from the airport & offered a cool cloth and iced tea. I was late due to congestion in the Arrivals area at the airport but the staff kindly let me rebook my welcome massage. After travelling almost 24 hours from Canada this was heaven!
From beginning to end the staff was welcoming, polite and accommodating. They arranged a driver to take me to Ulu Watu as well as Ubud. The spa treatments were lovely as well. I was not too happy with the hand indulgence though - it was more like a basic manicure (and she filed my nails way too short) but a minor glitch overall. I was expecting hands to be dipped in wax etc. I chose to leave a personal tip for another girl who had given me a couple of treatments as her sweetness and eagerness to please was endearing. I left her a sealed envelope with her name on it and I sincerely hope she received it and that it was not shared with others.
The Amala gives special attention to mosquito control and I can honestly say that along with the DEET I applied religiously I did not get one bite, not even at night in the outdoor toilet! This hotel is clean, immaculate, quiet, and everything you would want for a getaway. This is not the place to stay if you want a vibrant beach scene but if you want quiet, zen, spa - it is totally perfect.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mizboots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear Mizboots,
Thank you very much for taking your time to post a Trip Advisor Review. I really appreciate that you have been taking the time to point out what you enjoyed during your stay and what you would improve. Feedback is so important and the only way to improve our services and the attention to details. In regards to the tip envelope left by you with our Spa Manager Widi, Rasmi the Therapist you refer too has received your personal appreciation; she would like to send her regards and special thanks to you.
We are all very happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us. Once again thank you for your feedback and suggestions in regards to the hand indulgence treatment.
We hope to welcome you back to The Amala soon again
With sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
161 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This review should have been written in January, but better late than never.
I have to say, the SPA treatments we had were sublime!!! I had the organic facials and my husband and I had the detox body treatment and massage. It was so good that we both snuck in another treatment before we had to check out on our last day, we had the Balinese massage, so therapeutic and executed brilliantly from start to finish. The spa pre-treatment drinks, the snack, the use of the cymbal to get your body and soul ready and in tune for the treatment... All very well delivered and executed. Now this is a real compliment as, we have been to many great spas around the world...

Now for the Spa room, comfy and cozy with a good supply of spa amenities, but here and there needed a bit of maintenance which the Manager assured me would be carried out all over the property soon as the low season would start, giving a great window of opportunity to do necessary upgrades and care to the property. The spa room had an outdoor bath tub, plunge pool/jacuzzi and a separate shower. You could spend all day just lounging by the plunge pool listening to music and just chill in between your spa treatments.

Breakfast was ala carte, fresh and it tasted healthy and delicious. We could have it in our room, which was a great plus.

The complimentary hotel car service to near by stores and restaurants was very helpful, as well as all other small personal touches that they made a point of catering to with per-arrival questioner that they emailed.

Overall, a wonderful experience. Great job Amala team!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UmiSam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear UmiSam,
Thank you very much for posting a review on Trip Advisor, we really appreciate that you have taken the time for it. I am very proud of our Spa team and the positive feedback we receive for our treatments & services here at the Amala. I am so glad that you had a relaxing time and that our Spa could pamper you with our treatments.
Hopefully we will get soon the opportunity again to welcome you back at the Amala for more relaxing treatments.
Sunny greetings from the Island of Gods
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

A girlfriend & I spent 3 nights here in March - wonderful well trained staff who are extremely pleasant and helpful. Beautifully appointed rooms with lovely touches such as fragrant oil burners as part of the turn down service. Breakfast was sensational (they've taken the banana pancake to a new level!) The spa treatments were heavenly, we had the stone massage which we had assumed was a hot stone treatment but it wasn't - part of the massage was performed with a smooth stone. it was so nice we had it twice plus a lovely facial. A nice quiet place to relax and retreat from the hustle and bustle. The location is convenient in Seminyak. We had said we would try Ubud for our next short stay, but after experiencing Amala we're not sure now, it's tempting to return. Thank you Amala!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 07sistas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 19 April 2014
Dear 07sistas,
Thank you very much for your feedback and sharing your experience during your stay with us. Our Spa treatments are indeed a pure bliss and I am very happy to see that you have enjoyed our Spa services to the fullest. We hope that we will have the opportunity soon again to pamper you here at the Amala.
Once again thank you for staying with us. Sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#12 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,810 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
Cicada Luxury Townhouses
#9 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 442 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#1 of 144 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#15 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#17 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing