We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great Experience!”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A great Experience!”
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Amala for 4 nights in May and were blown away by the quality of the villa's. This was our 3rd villa/ Hotel which we stayed in during our visit and was by far the best experience. The Villas are well appointed, spacious & private.
We found the quality and choice of food, particular breakfast was the best quality verses the other villas we stayed at on this stay. The greatest asset at the Amala though is the staff. what a great team led by Madlen the resort Manager. I can highly recommend the Amala and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coxyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Good Afternoon coxyx2,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and especially pointing out the Amala Team and myself… very flattered :)
Personally the magic of Bali and the environment here at the Amala is such bliss that it is just a pure joy to work here, and this definitely reflects on to the team.
I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back.
Enjoy a fantastic weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    126
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
426
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hannut, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The Amala was our first hotel in Bali and so far we haven't met its equal in service, comfort and quietness. This is a marvelous place to relax. The staff most helpful and attentive while being very discreet! The room was tidy and clean, very large and the private pool and outdoor bathroom is a blessing when you suffer from the heat. We were spending part our honeymoon there and we had special attention, that was really nice! The food was absolutely divine... It was so good we never wanted to eat out... The chef will come to greet you and cook anything to your liking. On top of that, it's pretty cheap for the quantity and quality you get.The Amala is the perfect hotel to start or/and end your trip in Bali!! Thanks a lot to all staff, we had a wonderful stay with you...

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cotewest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Cotewest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, and to share with the community your honeymoon experience. I am very proud that we had the possibility to be part of your honeymoon and that we could reach your high expectations and make your stay comfortable and enjoyable.
I hope we will have the possibility to welcome you back to Bali for your first Anniversary celebrations :)
Once again thank you for staying with us it was a pleasure to get to know you
Best regards from the sunny island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Recently spent 5 days at the Amala and absolutely loved it. The staff were warm and friendly and the villa was beautiful. Great to have a courtesy car to drop us off at our favourite bars and restaurants...a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Iain W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Iain W,

Thank you for taking the time to give The Amala a review on Trip Advisor – very much appreciated. We are happy to see that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that you rated us 5*- what a great compliment.
Once again thank you for staying with us and hopefully we will be able to welcome you again to the Amala in the near future.
Enjoy a great weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the amala pool villa for 3 nights at the end of April. We loved the villa, the outdoor indoor feel to it was perfect, the supplied spring water, breakfast delivered to your room, cooling off in the pool, the butler and all the staff were more than always helpful, the booking of reservations and suggestions of where to go, the car dropoff to anywhere in seminyak was so convenient, the spa facials were delightfully relaxing, the tidying/cleaning of room twice a day was superb. We came home the first night after a delicious dinner at ultimo to the villa clean, all the necessary lights on, and the mosquito coil already burning away. Will definitely be back - gorgeous place and people!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JOLearyPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear JOLEaryPerth,
Thank you for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor, and for posting such a wonderful review. It makes me and the entire team very happy to see that we could make your stay special and that our attention to details have been noticed and appreciated. I truly hope that we will be able to welcome you back to the Amala soon again. Do not hesitate to contact us directly for your future bookings, we are always happy to apply repeater booking benefits. bliss@theamala.com or madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Once again thank you for staying with us
Happy weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Amala as part of or honeymoon for 3 days. They collected us at the airport and took us to the hotel to have the most amazing Balinese massage. After a whole day of traveling it was just what we needed!
Breakfast is delicious, the place is very quiet and it is really easy to relax. The staff was very helpful too. We had a nice time.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Erika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Erika M,
Thank you for choosing Amala to be part of your Honeymoon, what an honor for us and the team to be part of such important part of your life. I am so happy to see that you have enjoyed your moments with us and that we could give you a great start into your honeymoon.
Once again thank you so much for your time to review us on Trip Advisor and for staying with us. We hope we can welcome you back maybe for your first Anniversary :)
Have a great weekend and sunny greetings from the island
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Priced well if you can get the discount as a little tired in the rooms. However a great location and lovely staff made the trip 5 star even though I would say faiclities were nearer 4.5 star.
Do your research online first as the staff are happy to organise but dont provide many suggestions for day trips unless they are "text book". Overall a great place in Seminyak and I would stay there ahread of the W Hotel & other 5+ star resorts as far more peaceful and unique.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gayle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear GayleD,
Thank you very much for taking the time to post a review on Trip Advisor. I really appreciate that you have pointed out what services you have enjoyed with us and what could be improved to make it top notch. I am sure especially with trip suggestion we can be more considerate toward the individual guest.
Once again thank you so much for your feedback, and I hope we will get the opportunity again to welcome you here at the Amala
Have a great weekend
Sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014

I stayed in April for 9 nights. Despite being a solo traveler, I was pleasantly surprised with my experience. The hotel is small, so the front desk remembers everyone's names and the staff goes out of their way to ensure satisfaction. I stayed in a pool villa which was spacious, modern, and had a private plunge pool, steam shower, outdoor tub. The rate included a la carte breakfast and I cannot speak highly enough of the food. Though to be fair, the food leans towards healthy options. The staff also arranged a variety of tours and activities for me, all of which were incredible. I enjoyed my stay immensely.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mawusi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Mawusi M,
Thank you for your review on Trip Advisor, great to see that you made it home well; it’s such a long journey you had to endure to get back home. I have traveled on different occasion alone and I personally think that it is not always easy to be a single traveler, therefore I am very happy to read that you have enjoyed your stay with us and that we could make your stay enjoyable.
Once again thank you for staying with us and safe travel wherever you go
Sunny greetings from the Island
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 146 in Seminyak
1,949 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 146 in Seminyak
357 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing