We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor rooms”
Review of The Amala

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Amala
Ranked #16 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Cairo, Egypt
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Poor rooms”
Reviewed 22 May 2014

I booked my stay for 4 days and on the 1st day i decided that i need to move out of this room and i did leave the room second day, very poor hygiene, insects inside the room, lizard inside the room, lights are not working, no sealed ceiling or windows or main door, not a clean spa, poor room service (comes late and say no to important stuff like water and lights).
The hotel itself is in a very good location, walking area to shopping & restaurants. I gave my feedback to the hotel manager before i leave and hope they can do some maintenance and this hotel will be a great one.

Room Tip: Spa Villa room, also i checked the Pool villa and not good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ramy_Safwatm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ramy_Safwatm,
First of all let me say that I am very sorry that our Resort has not met your expectations and that you did not enjoy your stay with us.. Unfortunately, being on a tropical island brings its own challenges when it comes to insects and unfortunately cannot be avoided. You may be able to avoid such encounters with lizards and other insects if you book your stay in a totally enclosed hotel room, but in a semi open villa style with outdoor bathroom, which we provided for your stay, it will be very difficult to avoid the little buggers.
Unfortunately we did not get the chance to meet, since your check in was Saturday evening and you have checked out on Sunday, which was my day off. I would have very much appreciated to hear your feedback personally.
Its sad and disappointing that you felt the need to make such a negative comment on Trip Advisor, after all the help we offered to you and your wife. We tried our best to accommodate and be flexible with your situation and your wife’s fear of lizards, unfortunately we did not have the possibility of upgrading your stay to a pool villa, since all our units were fully booked, but we took appropriate measurements for your stay and were flexible with your non - refundable nights.
Should you have any further concerns, do not hesitate to contact me directly via madlen.ernest@theamala.com
Regards
Madlen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    126
    28
    7
    4
See reviews for
41
426
40
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We had gone for this trip to celebrate my wife's birthday and had booked Amala for our stay at Bali. Amala is a nice and peaceful resort located 15 minutes from the beach. The thing i loved about this resort was the service of the staff, they made us feel at home and made my wife's birthday special. Having the morning breakfast at the resort restaurant was fantastic. Only thing was, i felt the studio was a little small in size, maybe next time i will book the villa, as the villa was quiet cool. Forgot to mention, the spa experience was awesome. And overall if i have visit Bali again, i will like to go back to the Amala.

Room Tip: If possible take the Villa, it spacious and really nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GG5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear GG5284,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with the TA community. Indeed our Spa Studios are our smallest room category; the great benefit is to get the daily 1 hour spa treatment benefits included with this room category, which you enjoyed.
I am so happy to hear that on your next trip you are considering Amala again, please do not hesitate to contact me or our reservation team directly for your upcoming booking, in order to apply our repeater booking benefits for you.
Once again thank you for staying with us and have a great weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level 6 Contributor
62 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Myself and 5 friends stayed at this resort for 3 nights past week as a association retreat. We stayed at the 3 bedroom Amala residence and also took two more rooms, one a Spa Studio and another the Spa Villa. Overall, the hotel is very well priced and excellent value. The rooms are generally spacious, with bathrooms outside for the spa bedroom and villa which I really enjoyed. The big residence also had a full kitchen, living/ dining room, and a lounge on the 2nd floor which was great to do some yoga or meditation. Though it cannot be compared to 5-star properties like St. Regis/ 4 Seasons or Banyan Tree, it offers a very personal service that definitely comparable to the big boys. Best of all, it was available for 1/2 or 1/3 of the price.

Some complaints - Food generally was not good. Breakfast is a-la-carte but selection small. It also took us at least 45 minutes to get all the dishes for a lunch for 7. Meantime, the toilet on the ground floor really reeked.... old pipes need some serious flushing out i suppose. The pool is quite clean and calming, yet the decking is weathered.... the sun lounge cushions were also abit worn and may need to be replaced.

Overall, I think it is an excellent choice for what they charge and would recommend to most travelers.

Room Tip: Definitely get a Spa VIlla, so much better than the Studio. The 3 Bedroom residence is great for fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nelson204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Nelson204,
Thank you very much for taking the time to share you’re your feedback with the TA community and us. I really appreciate that you have taken the time to point out what you have enjoyed and what was special to you during your stay and things which could be improved. I am glad that you have enjoyed your association retreat here with us and I truly hope that we will have another opportunity to welcome you back to The Amala.
Once again thank you very much for staying with us for your company meeting and we truly hope to see you soon again on the wonderful island of Bali.
Have a great weekend and best regards
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Stayed in both studio and villa for the 3 nights in Bali. Studio room is a little small and you get to shower in the open (of course in your private compound). The perk of this room is that you will receive an hour of spa from the hotel (total two hours for two persons). However, the aircon in the room is rather weak as it takes a long time to cool the room. Also, the water pressure in studio is really weak, taking a shower can be rather frustrating.

Similar issue I find with the pool villa - airconditioning. However, pool villa is much more spacious with a private plunge pool, bath tub, steam/shower room and a WC. If you can afford and would like to spend a lot time in the room, pool villa is definitely worth it. If you are going to be out for the whole day and only need the room for shower and rest then studio would be sufficient, not forgetting the free spa it comes with.

The service is great, everyone is really prompt and Butler service is 24 hours. Still recall that I called for a bathtub clean up late at night so that I can enjoy it. Breakfast taste great and more importantly, you can have it delivered into your room so that you can dine within your own room (not recommended for studio is space is limited).

Overall, great place with dedicated service. If you are after the beach, then this location would not be a great.

Room Tip: Pool villa 6 is a corner villa, should be bigger. :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 23 May 2014
Dear Michelle L,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a detailed review on trip Advisor, war appreciate it very much that you have taken the time to point out the services you really enjoyed with us, and things which could be improved.

All your recommendations for improvements are things we can easily upgrade. Once again thank you very much for staying with us and leaving your feedback.

Sunny greetings from the sunny island of Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed there as 3 girl friends and it was great but it is targeted to more of a romantic getaway.
Transfer was very easy and great from the airport
Hotel room was great with the toilet and shower outside
Food was awesome
Massage was extra awesome
And the service and staff where extra extra awesome
I would highly recommend this hotel to people who are looking for a quiet and very relaxing holiday, especially couples

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank travelas3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear Travelas3,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your review with the Trip Advisor community. We are indeed very much tailored for couples, honeymooners and romantic getaways, but I am happy that you and your friends had a great time here with us and that we could pamper you with our Spa treatments & food options.
We hope that we will get another opportunity to welcome you back to The Amala.
Sunny greetings from the Island and happy weekend
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haarlem, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

We spent our last 2 days in Bali at The Amala and these were 2 wonderful days.
I did not expect to find anything so peaceful in the middle of the city. The rooms are perfect, services (including butler service) could not be better and good choice of vegetarian food. Besides all of this we also had daily massages included on our packages which made our stay even more enjoyable.
We had a late flight and we got a late check out without any extra charge. The Amala staffs really do everything they can to make your stay wonderful experience. We definitely recommend The Amala and we will for sure return again. Thanks a lot to all , we had a wonderful stay with you

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sonia f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Dear sonia f,
Once again thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to review us on Trip Advisor. I am glad we were able to provide you with the free late checkout and that it made such a positive difference to you. Our Chef Gede is very happy to see that you enjoyed his menu, and our Butlers are very proud to be mentioned on your feedback too.
The entire Amala team and I, hope to welcome you back soon again – enjoy your weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We recently stayed at the Amala for 4 nights in May and were blown away by the quality of the villa's. This was our 3rd villa/ Hotel which we stayed in during our visit and was by far the best experience. The Villas are well appointed, spacious & private.
We found the quality and choice of food, particular breakfast was the best quality verses the other villas we stayed at on this stay. The greatest asset at the Amala though is the staff. what a great team led by Madlen the resort Manager. I can highly recommend the Amala and we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coxyx2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madlen E, Manager at The Amala, responded to this review, 17 May 2014
Good Afternoon coxyx2,
Thank you very much for sharing your feedback on Trip Advisor and especially pointing out the Amala Team and myself… very flattered :)
Personally the magic of Bali and the environment here at the Amala is such bliss that it is just a pure joy to work here, and this definitely reflects on to the team.
I am very happy to read that you had a wonderful time with us and we are looking forward to welcome you back.
Enjoy a fantastic weekend and sunny greetings from Bali
Madlen & The Amala Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 146 in Seminyak
1,936 reviews
0.6 mi away
Courtyard Bali Seminyak Resort
1.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 146 in Seminyak
355 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Amala? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Amala

Property: The Amala
Address: Jl. Kunti 108, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#14 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#16 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
#25 Family Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Amala 4.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the ancient Sanskrit language Amala means pure and unspoiled.The word has endured over the centuries and today graces the very latest luxurious wellness spa retreat on the magical island of Bali.The small and discreet Amala offers its guests an adult only oasis of tranquility, a world away from the stresses and pains of daily life.The Amala is an adult only exquisitely designed collection of 12 modern luxurious villas, including the magnificent Amala Residence and additional 3 units Deluxe Rooms.At the heart - and soul - of the resort's lush and peaceful grounds stands a modern holistic spa with one of the widest and most creative ranges of treatments in Bali.The Amala is indeed pure and unspoiled, making it the perfect place to unwind, for your body and mind to rejuvenate in blissful luxury ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Amala reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Amala Hotel Seminyak
The Amala Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing