We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“we really didn't want to go home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Akara Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Akara Villas
Ranked #76 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“we really didn't want to go home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2012

a couple of girlfriends and i decided to book a 2 bedroom villas at akara after going through many reviews on tripadvisor. after much hunting, we figured its location and price range was acceptable, but nothing really prepared us for what we received.

(1) our reservation officer was very prompt with his responses while we were figuring out whether to book a villa: something we were grateful for.

(2) we had booked 2 diff airport transfers for the 2 diff flights which were coming in (one was arriving about an hour or two later than the other..) but due to flight delays, we ended up only requiring one - our reservation officer accommodated the change without any fuss, and came to pick us up himself!!! (how personalized is that?!)

(3) the villa itself is about an hour away from the airport if the traffic is good. and it's at a very good location: potato head is literally a street away and ku de ta is about 10 mins away on foot. the beach is also a stone's throw away... we hardly spent any money on transport!

(4) our butlers were *fantastic*. when they knew it was my birthday, i received an entire cake from the staff, and everyone greeted and gave me their blessings throughout my trip. they were ever so attentive. we were told before hand that they would come in to clear our rooms in the morning, again at around tea time, and finally for the turn down service. if we didnt want them too, they gave us a little sign to place on our villa's front door. because we were constantly at the pool / beach, we went through countless towels / robes, which they were kind enough to replenish 3 times a day.. service with a smile from *everyone*. we had never been so pampered.

(5) the villa itself was gorgeous. it was serene and beautiful. if i had any negative feedback, it would be that the air conditioning in the living area was a little gentle despite being at 20 degrees. other than that.. we loved every minute of our stay and simply didn't want to leave.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank priyarskumar84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    14
    2
    0
    2
See reviews for
30
16
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

First of all before I begin, we have no negative comments to say about the villa or villa staff, they were the innocent parties in this fiasco. The villa itself is beautiful, very elegant and very tastefully decorated, magnificent. The only problem was that it had the most disgusting smell in the bedroom. It smelt like rising damp, a very musty smell that virtually hit you the minute you walked in the room. It actually made you fell ill. So we gave it the benefit of the doubt and opened up the bifold doors that led from the bedroom onto the pool decking to air it out, for 4 hours !!!! We also turned on the airconditioner and let that run thinking maybe the villa had not been occupied for a few days and give it a chance to freshen up a bit. After doing all that and the smell still being there we decided to let the front reception know we weren't happy. After all I wasn't going to pay $350.00 a night for a bedroom that you couldn't sleep in because of the smell. The girls at reception came to the room with a can of air freshener that I kindly suggested would not do anything to rid the place of the smell which after they walked into the bedroom, looked under beds, behind curtains, behind furniture, they agreed air freshener was not going to cut it. It smelt like old wet towels that had been left in a washing machine for a month and it was gross. We asked if it were possible to move rooms and they proceeded to go and check. After about another hour I went back down to reception and asked what was going on and they said that they were still confirming if we could move. They then returned to our villa and said that they would move us, would we like to check the other villa before we agreed to moving. We viewed the villa and agreed that we would move. Everything was going well until then, we have travelled a lot around Bali and understand that these things happen and were taking it in our stride, until they then told us that we could move but only for 1 night then we had to go back to original villa for the rest of our stay which was 5 nights in total, because there was construction going on either side of the second villa and it would be noisy. They said that the smell in original villa would be gone in the morning, well unless they were going to work all night, replace all the decking which had a large water feature in the middle of it and it looked like that was where the smell was coming from, there was no way the smell would be gone in one day. We respectfully told them that unless they could come up with another solution we would not be staying at their villas at all. We proceeded to start packing telling them we were leaving, the staff then started saying we had to move to the second villa and not leave. We finally got down to the reception and I was asked to speak to the Manager or Owner of the villa (not quite sure which it was) on the phone. She then started threatening me saying that she would take the full amount of the villa booking $1640.00 out of my credit card because their policy was that if we did not give them a weeks notice that we would not be staying in their villa they could debit the full amount of our stay. I did not know a week beforehand that their villa would stink !!! My husband then got on the phone and she was literally screaming at him, saying that it was their policy to take our money, at which time we told them that they had not lived up to their obligation to delivery a room that we could stay in. She told him that she could not sell that room now as we had booked it for 5 days and he told her strongly that she couldn't sell it anyway because it smelt. After the threats about our credit card we had to cancel our card immediately so as to make sure they didn't debit our card. We are just lucky that we hadn't paid for the villa in cash, which was the plan, when we first arrived. Anyway we were able to ring our Villa that we were planning to stay at after Akara and they sent a taxi to pick us up.

Once again I would like to say that the villa itself and the girls at reception were fantastic, but their management leave a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaz66Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivineVillas, Manager at Akara Villas, responded to this review, 5 April 2012
Thank you for writing about your recent stay at Akara villas.

We agree that the standard caused by the smell will not be acceptable to anyone standard.

For the unpleasant experience please accept our sincere apology.

We would like to offer a very special deal if you happens to be planning another holiday in Bali.

Please kindly contact Ayu, our marketing & e-commerce :ayu@divinevillasbali.com for your reservation.

We look forward to hear from you soonest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2011

My wife and I went on our honeymoon in Bali in September 2011 and stayed at the Akara Villas after finding the place online and reading great reviews and oohing and ahhing over beautiful pictures.

The Akara was fantastic. The staff was not just professional, but warm and friendly. They took excellent care of us during our five days there. The accommodations were absolutely first-rate, stunning. From the seclusion of the private pool to the semi-outdoor bath to the breathtakingly open living room area, this place was heavenly. Moreover, it's located near all the current hot spots in Bali. If you're into fine dining, (a little too much) shopping, and beach leisure, this is the place to be. A short walk from the beach, and with access to trendy beach clubs everyone loves, like Potatohead and KuDeTa.

Perfect for getting away, disappearing, and sinking blissfully into the lap of Balinese luxury.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank texburgher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2011

My partner, myself and two other friends just came back from a stay at the akara villas. we had a fantastic time and were extremely happy with the akara. We booked through exotiq who were great. The recommended akara to us as the original villa we wanted to book was full, it turned out to be an excellent suggestion. Exotiq organised VIP express customs clearance at Denpasar for us. Which for the 30usd I can't recommend enough. This meant we were at the villa within an hour of getting off the plane. We were greeted at the reception by the fabulous staff, and we were told "welcome home" when we stepped into the villa we felt at home. We stayed in the 2 bedroom ayana villa which was on 2 levels. One bedroom upstairs (ours) which had a huge bathroom with separate shower and bathtub. The bed was really comfy and loads of wardrobe Space. We also had a balcony off our room. The bedroom downstairs was equally as good with gardens around the bathroom. The pool area was small but big enough. The pool itself was clean if a little cold as the garden did not get lots of sun. However this didn't matter as there is also a sun deck in the ayana villa on the 2nd floor. The living area was large, very comfortable and had a large flat screen tv. My partner was very excited (maybe a little too much) to find that the tv had an HDMI outlet so she could hook up her iPad if we wanted to watch a movie.
The breakfast was great and very tasty. Certainly a bonus that we did not have to go out for breakfast of go shopping for food.
The location was really good, 10mins walk to la lucciola and the very cool potato head is just in the next street. At night you can hear the music a potato head but it's not loud and did not interupt our sleep.
To top it all off the staff were absolutely brilliant. So friendly, happy and polite.
I look forward to coming back and visiting the akara villas again, we really enjoyed our stay, I can't recommend them enough.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kirstenallen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivineVillas, General Manager at Akara Villas, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thanking you for the very encouraging comments.

I am sharing all comments that we received from our guest with our villa team to let them know that our guests certainly well look after by them.

The Akara Ayanna is certainly the luxury 2 bedroom in our Akara Villa complex, no expenses are spared to ensure the facilities extend match the demand of discerning traveller.

On behalf of the Akara villa team, I thank you for staying with us and we look forward to be in service on your next return to Bali.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
113 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2011

Stayed at Akara Villa about 12-months ago and only mow get around to reviewing it. We stayed a week in both the 3-bedroom and 1bedroom villas as extended family was only in Bali with us for part of the time.

Both villas we stayed in were spacious and very well decorated. The kids loved having a private pool and it was tempting to just hang out at the villa the whole day. After a full day of sightseeing, the villa was a very welcomed place.

There are a few restaurants within walk distance although the villas are tucked away slightly from the main road and further away from the main restaurant and shopping strips. Nothing a quick cab ride can't fix. Taxis are readily available just outside anyway.

The beach is walkable in 15-min though Seminyak Beach is perhaps not the main attraction of the area.

Service was good with a right balance of attention and privacy.

Overall a very nice experience given the amount of space, privacy and amenities/service. One certainly pays a premium for the villa but it is a special treat that justifies itself fornthe most part.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank QuakesNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DivineVillas, General Manager at Akara Villas, responded to this review, 20 October 2011
Thank you for writing this great comment after your last visit.

Allow me to explain the changes our 3 bedroom villa have gone through, we have added a 2nd floor terrace and a Bale that act as a lounge place as well a proper barbeque station which both have been the guests favorite place whether just to lounge and enjoy the sunset or throw a private barbeque party.

Seminyak have developed to be a very trendy place and Akara villas are just 2 minutes away from Potato Head Bali which so so far Seminyak's best beach front restaurant.

12 months is surely a while away, perhaps its time for you to return to Bali?

We all look forward to be in service hopefully in not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

My Dad had originally booked to stay at Villa Kei which was also in the Divine Villa portfolio when he booked a few months prior, but it turned out from Feb 1, 2011, Divine were no longer going to be managing that property. He was told of the change from Dewi Saryani from Reservations at Divine Villa Management in a very detailed email along with the news that we were being upgraded and transferred to Villa Akara at no extra cost . All the correspondence was polite, helpful and clear in terms of where the villa was located, the amenities, the inclusions of the booking and a link to the website. He was more than happy with the change and the service showed to us to communicate it.

My Mum, Dad, sister and I stayed here for 8 days in early June, My sister and I shared one room with the twin beds and Mum and Dad had the room with the king bed. The villa was fantastic! So clean, tastefully decorated, well equipped, comfortable and quiet. The ipod and Bose docking station had a good selection of music, and the TV was large and had lots of channels. The only complaint was the Wifi was a bit unreliable and we were without internet for 48 hours (not usually an issue at all, but on a few occasions we really needed it we just had to go down to reception to send emails). However, the staff acknowledged the issue and it was sorted out and it was fine for the rest of the stay , albeit a little slow.

The staff are amazing! So attentive without being obtrusive – you didn't even know they were there half the time. Just silently going about their work but always so willing to help with any small request like arranging a driver for a day trip or getting more towels for the bathroom. They were friendly and polite and with beautiful smiles. It was nice to be greeted by name when you return from shopping or dinner out and to be asked genuinely how your night was and if you enjoyed yourself.

The rooms are spacious, have lovely big bathrooms, lots of space for hanging clothes inc clothes hangers, a safe in each room, mosquito nets around the bed (never used these so we just tied them back), ample bathroom supplies like tissues, shampoo, body wash, conditioner. A/C worked perfectly and the lighting is good too. Big comfy beds with nice pillows. Look out for gecko's and other bugs when you get in the outdoor shower as it does have a garden around it where the critters live. Turning down the beds of a night was a nice touch too.

Breakfast was included each day by ordering on a form the night before and if we forgot, they gently reminded us which was good as sometimes we were either too tired or a bit tipsy to remember! The omelettes were very tasty, warm fresh baked Danishes and croissants were delicious and the juices were freshly squeezed. Lots of coffee or tea too. You can nominate the time you want it served too so if you want to sleep in and have a late brekkie, its up to you. The fridge always had chilled safe drinking water and ice made from the same water so its all safe for consumption.

Location is excellent. Located just off Jln Petitenget down a side road, you go right to the end of the side road and reception is clearly visible. There is a security guard on service 24 hrs/7 days. There is a free Wifi café on your right as you turn onto to side road as well a 7/11 convenience store across the road as well as a big sign with Akara Villa above the side street. Just as you turn into the side street off Jln Pettitenget, there seems to be an unofficial taxi rank where drivers wait for fares so it's very easy to just walk up from reception and get a cab. It's within walking distance to the new Potato Head Beach Club, Sarong Restaurant, Hu'uu Bar and many other cool places to go out.

I will definitely stay here again. We had family and friends staying down at the Sentosa Villa's at the same time, which were a lot more expensive but had a similar layout and amenities as Akara so after looking at our villa, they ended up cancelling the booking at Sentosa and staying at Akara instead!

Thanks to all the staff for a wonderful stay - we'll all be back.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Missdaksie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ZeebatBali, General Manager at Akara Villas, responded to this review, 1 August 2011
It was such unfortunate case with Kei Villa and such a limited time for us to arrange our guest who already booked Kei Villas and we tried our best to ensure a smooth transition for our guest.

I am glad that you and the rest of the family enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to look forward to welcoming you back to Akara Villa.

In a truly delighted to be at your service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2011

Four of us stayed at Akara villas in May for three nights and found it struck the perfect balance between a completely private apartment while benefitting from the services of a hotel. Close to the beach and Seminyak's fabulous shops, bars and restaurants, yet in a quiet spot away from the road.

Villa was clean, with smart decor and mod-cons including flat screen TV and iPod dock. Bedrooms were spacious and comfortable with large en suites.

We also stayed at Ayanna villas in Canggu, which belongs to the same group - Divine Villas (divinevillasbali.com). This offered an equally high standard of accommodation in an area where tourism hasn't taken over a traditional way of life. A million wonderful miles from the westernisation of Kuta...

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KathKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.1 mi away
The Kayana Bali
The Kayana Bali
#18 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hu'u Villas Bali
Hu'u Villas Bali
#78 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Buah Bali Villas
The Buah Bali Villas
#9 of 114 in Kerobokan
4.5 of 5 bubbles 118 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Petitenget 501 - Boutique Loft Studios
0.1 mi away
Kei Villas
Kei Villas
#30 of 105 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
0.2 mi away
KoenoKoeni Villa
KoenoKoeni Villa
#11 of 412 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Akara Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akara Villas

Property: Akara Villas
Address: Jl. Raya Petitenget. Gang Cempaka No 4, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #76 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3 star — Akara Villas 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just a stone’s throw away from Petitenget Beach, the exclusive one, two and three bedroom Akara Villas are designed to anticipate every need of the taste-conscious traveller to Bali. Consistently booked out, Akara Villas showcase chic villa living in the midst of Bali’s hippest resort area, a perfect alternative to a weekend city-break or a sneaky week away with the family. A private entrance to each villa leads via walkway through to tastefully appointed and spacious living quarters, replete with adjoining pool and sun deck lounging areas. Luxurious bedding and furnishings give the villas a cosy yet modern feel as days are spent reclining and unwinding poolside whilst enjoying the flat screen TV with DVD player, WiFi Internet, Bose iPod dock sound system with butler on call to cater to every whim. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Akara Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akara Villas Hotel Seminyak
Akara Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing