We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect getaway - a haven of tranquility in the heart of Seminyak”
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bonsai Villas
Ranked #105 of 148 Hotels in Seminyak
Reviewed 8 November 2011

I have just returned from a 3 night stay at Bonsai Villas with my fiance - what an amazing place. Even though we arrived late at night, we were greeted with a smile from one of the staff, and led straight to our room. The room was exactly as per the photos on the website - fantastic! The villa was spacious, modern and clean. The staff had already provided mosquito coils before our arrival, which was a great thought. We were also offered a mosquito net on the second day, which we accepted as it made us feel like we we on safari!
The outdoor bathroom is a great idea. You can shower in the open air without any prying eyes, and when it rains it adds to the experience. The swimming pool is clean and secluded, and a great place to unwind after a busy day.
Rudi, the manager/owner is a delight. He took time to offer advice on places to eat, and also brought us a cappuccino on 2 separate days, whilst we lounged by the pool. Fantastic service.
This is a wonderful place to stay, offering great value for money. It is a 2 minute walk to the main road, with shops, restaurants and a supermarket, however it is a peaceful little haven away from the maddening crowds. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: All 4 rooms are the same layout and size, next to the pool. You will be happy whichever room you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthernLizzie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a great review.We especially appreciate the informative details
which i know will encourage readers to consider follow you Bonsai. We are so glad everything was to your satisfaction.It always pleases me that our night staff give the same attention to guests as the day.We look forward to greeting you again soon.

Kind regards

Rudi
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

149 - 155 of 212 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2011

My girlfriend and I spent 4 nights at Bonsai Villas recently and what stood out most for us was the tranquility of the place and the friendliness of the staff and Rudi coming by everyday to personally check on our wellbeing. Having only 4 villas in the complex it was that personal one on one experience that was so amazing.
Of course the decor was stunning adding to the serenity of the place.
It was my girlfriends birthday whilst we were there and when we came home from shopping the boys had decorated the room and written happy birthday with leaves and flowers and created frangipanni hearts on the bed...we were blown away by their thoughtfulness.
It was great to be tucked away off the main street but close enough to walk to the supermarket, shops, restaurants and the beach.
The Japanese theme was different for Bali and we love it at first glance. Very spacious and great self contained facilities if you wanted to prepare ur own meals..
I would ask for a mozzie net if you don't like mozzie coils (we didn't) ..but all in all it was an amazing experience and one that I would thoroughly recommend....

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giitanjali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

All at Bonsai thank you for your lovely review,especially the staff who arranged the flowers.They always look forward to guests who have a special occasion so they can show their talents, knowing the happiness it brings.You were two lovely guests who made our work so pleasurable .
We cant wait to welcome you back some time.

Kind regards

rudi & staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2011

My fiance and i stayed at Bonsai for 8 nights and loved it. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. The location was great, we walked everywhere... Bintang supermarket around the corner, jl. Legian, and eat street is only a 10-15 min walk. The beach is about a 15 minute walk away, with lots of shops and places to eat on the way. In saying all this, the villas were completely tranquil and private, you wouldn't know u were so close to everything. Pool was great, we had it to ourselves most of the time. Mozzies weren't an issue at all, the staff put coils in our room every night. Thank you for a lovely stay rudi and the boys, we'd love to come back next time and happily recommend! Oh yea, go to Warung Kopi just across the road from Bintang supermarket... Amazing indonesian food, always busy serving the locals... And at a tiny price. Honestly, the best meal we had in Bali, absolutely beautiful!

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MelGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you so much for your review.We are so happy when busy guests take time to make informative comments which will be useful for the many readers looking for the right accommodation in Seminyak.We appreciate all you have written about your pleasant stay with us,
and look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Rudi & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2011

My husband and I have just returned from a 5 night stay at Bonsai Villas.
This was my 10th visit to Bali, my first in Seminyak, having previously stayed in the Kuta/Legian area. Bonsai Villas would have to be the best place I have stayed.
What makes Bonsai Villas so good is Rudi and the staff. There are only 4 villas so the visit was a far more personal experience. The staff are so friendly, always smiling and checking all was OK. Even after our 3 ½ hour flight delay, our pre-arranged driver (through Bonsai Villas) was at the airport waiting for us.
The location was great. The villas are only a couple of minutes’ walk from Jalan Legian and Bintang Supermarket, but far enough away from the noise of the street. There are some good restaurants within walking distance. We visited The Pearl french restaurant a couple of times (only a 10 min walk). Its definitely worth a visit if you want an exquisite meal.
The pool is not large though throughout our stay, we had the pool to ourselves. There was only one occasion when another couple was using it.
One thing to be aware of, there are a lot of mosquitos in Seminyak. Coils are placed in the villas each night but we requested a net for over the bed. It worked a treat. We also bought some spray from the Bintang Supermarket for just in case.
We would definitely recommend Bonsai Villas to anyone and look forward to returning as soon as possible.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CoupleDownUnder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Well thank you for wanting to return and we can`t wait either.You ,like so many of our guests were a delight to look after.I don`t think we could get any of our staff to move to another position as they are so impressed with the wonderful guests that keep arriving at Bonsai ,with many leaving as friends.
Thank you again

Kind regards Rudi & Staff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2011

I stayed at Bonsai Villa's from the 4th of Sept to the 11th, it was the perfect place to relax quiet, clean and Spacious, loved the Asian theme really felt like you were away from it all.
Bonsai Villa's are close to everthing and many restaurants are within a 5 to 15 minute walk away. Rudi and his staff were very friendly and helpful had a wonderful time and I will be back as soon as I can.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 10 November 2011

Thank you for taking time to write a review.So glad you appreciated our Asian theme which is what we believe travelers expect to see in our part of the world .Just leave the western hustle and bustle and relax in the serene atmosphere of beautiful Bali... and Bonsai of coarse.We so look forward to your next visit.

Kind regards

Rudi & Staff.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2011

We stayed in Seminyak for two nights before we left beautiful Bali .. we booked Bonsai Villas after reading reviews on tripadvisor & we were very pleased with this amazing complex of 4 modern Asian style, self contained Villas. Bonsai Villas was in a good location, set back from the busy main road, down a small local lane. The rooms were large with a big open living area, a great kitchen with cooking utensils, gas stove, fridge & a breakfast bar, & a large semi-outdoor bathroom (thus the mention of security from some reviews on here).
The villa was very clean... spotless actually, with big windows looking out onto the garden with tasteful sculptures, We didn't spend a lot of time in our villa but we did enjoy the time we were here, and found the staff to be polite and helpful.
We found there were more mosquitoes in Seminyak than we had in Ubud, but Rudi (the Manager) was happy to add a mosquito net to our room upon request.
The Bonsai Villa Complex had free wifi ,a great info book on 'Eating out in Seminyak' & everything you could want to make your stay comfortable !
The pool area was in keeping with the Asian theme and very appeasing.
A supermarket & chemist, as well as a bakery & restaurant are within 5 minutes walk.
In my opinion, I would say one of the nicest spots in Semiyak would be Bonsai Villas!
thank you for our comfortable stay ... and the fresh flowers on our bed each day!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeapingLizz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2011

I stayed at Bonsai Villa on the 24-28 September and was really pleased with everything. Rudi, the hotel manager as well as the staffs are super super friendly!!! Really made me feel right at home. Love the rooms and the open air bathroom!!! Can't wait to be there again soon....

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Adim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.1 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#57 of 148 in Seminyak
130 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#76 of 148 in Seminyak
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#81 of 148 in Seminyak
257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 148 in Seminyak
644 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#30 of 148 in Seminyak
571 reviews
1.6 mi away
The Visala Boutique Suites Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#77 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range: £35 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonsai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing