We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant rooms, lovely staff”
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bonsai Villas
Ranked #101 of 146 Hotels in Seminyak
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Pleasant rooms, lovely staff”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at Bonsai villas for a week and it was a great experience - the rooms are fantastic value, in a good location, and have everything you need.

I fell quite ill on my last night in Bali and the staff went out of their way to assist - one even took me to the doctor personally. I can't express my gratitude enough as they were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

If you are looking for valuable accomodation without unnecessary frills (eg breakfast, not needed in Bali!) then I definitely recommend Bonsai Villas!

Thanks to Rudi, Ari, Muss and the other staff members for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

210 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    139
    54
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
116
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ubud, Indonesia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Thank you to Melv Rudi and all the lovely staff ..you guys were amazing for your charm generosity and caring for our whole five days ...the experience was beyond reproach from design of the villas to the awesome towel designs that changed every day. The shower was never a problem to us ..although other people have commented previously, there was plenty of hot water for our needs , The location is perfect for shopping and dining try Sip for great French food and even though you don't do breakfast Cafe Seminyak right next door on the main rd does the best traditional English breakfast ...love to bring my family from Aus next year it's the perfect place for a family or four couples to book out the villas with that beautiful warm pool to share..we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: This is great accommodation in a fantastic location they do not do food here but if you want to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BidadariGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Jackie & friends
Our brilliant guests are why we do what we do.It was fantastic to meet you and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thanks for acknowledging our staffs efforts in providing the 4 of you with the best service we can offer.We look forward to you returning.with your family and taking our 4 villas which we can ensure will be a very happy time for all.
Kind regards
Rudi & staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Bonsai Villas is a small property about 150 meters off the main road on Jalan Raya Seminyak behind one of the landmarks of Bali the Bintang supermarket. There is a narrow single car width road leading to the property and the four villas are built around a central pool.

Reception is on call 24 hours and housekeeping is quite efficient. No restaurant and no room service. A lot of Restaurants do deliver. There is a restaurant delivery service with printed menus from a lot of the restaurants in one booklet called Hallo (No it’s not my spelling error that’s the name!) www.hallorestaurants.com

We had made arrangements for a 2 way Airport transfer with Bonsai and we were received by their representative and escorted to the car. We were in a hurry and so forgot to pick up a sim card at the airport. When I mentioned this to Tin Tin who received us, he helpfully tried with a couple of shops enroute but could not get the ones we wanted. The one we were looking for was the Telekomsel Simpati Sim card (Just say Simpati) and you also should look for the same.

On check in Rudi, the owner welcomed us and gave us a small orientation and info on the popular hangouts, money changing, transportation etc. along with a few maps with the interesting places marked out and was pleasant and friendly.

We arrived about 10.00 PM after leaving Phnom Penh 12 hours earlier, transiting at Kuala Lumpur and were tired hungry and thirsty. We gave him our passports and went to the room to place our luggage and returned when Rudi asked for the payment. We told him we would give it to him in the morning and were just going out for dinner. He insisted on keeping our passports till we settled up. We went back to the room irritated and dug out the AUD from our luggage and made his payment, retrieved our passports and went out. Because of this we were late for the last order at a nearby restaurant and somehow requested the staff to give us whatever was available. If he had been a little flexible we would have enjoyed our first evening out at Bali.

Holding someone’s passport is against the law anywhere in the world. No one can keep your passport and any doubters can Google on this subject. Some hotels illegally do it to ensure payment of their dues before departing. We had just arrived; he already had all my credit card details so there was no risk of the hotel dues not being paid and the entire luggage was placed in the room too.

Rudi in person is very pleasant and helpful and while going through some of the reviews where people have criticized him he had responded very rudely. This was a big negative when we were checking out places to stay but even then went ahead. He should understand that a lot of the reviewers are not criticizing him but advising him about the resort layout or amenities that he should modify or problems he should attend to. He takes criticism on Tripadvisor very personally and becomes aggressive and confrontational. In the service industry one cannot afford to have that attitude.

From what I read in Tripadvisor about the various issues with the resort, when we were researching for a resort at Bali, I found the following on first-hand experience to be true and Rudi should do something to straighten them out.

When one person complained that the outdoor sit out area of the Villa was too humid and hot to use during the day and this area becomes useless to the guest, his response to the guest was that he Rudi could not control the weather and maybe the guest could. The reviewer was right and when we were there in end April the outdoor area was not very pleasant to hang out. We all know how hot and humid any tropical climate is. A few guests have said the same about this outdoor area so Rudi should look into investing some money and enclose the full area either with full height sliding windows / glass or some equivalent and install a powerful Air Conditioner in the sit out area.

At Bonsai Villas, in a few things design considerations rule over practicality.

Some guests have also mentioned the inadequacy of the quantity of the bathroom hot water from the geyser. Rudi’s response was that he had the same geyser at his residence and 3.5 persons would shower without any problem. We were a family of 3 and were there in end April so the weather was hot and humid. Hence we used to shower twice or thrice a day and we had a lot of experience with the geyser. The second person would have to start to shower in tepid water which would rapidly become cold towards the end. The third person would have to wait for a while and then shower. Again he must put out in some money and upsize these geysers

The open bath and toilet did not bother us much but during the rains the area may be difficult to use.

The Wifi was spotty so we had to go across to an internet cafe as we had to change our tickets and make a payment to the airlines. The last thing we needed was to lose the signal in the middle of an ecommerce transaction. For other things the Wifi was fine.

The lighting in the rooms and the sit out area could have been brighter to give a vibrant and lively feel to the place. The lighting is too dull to be even classified as romantic.

The Towel origami everyday was a delight. My daughter used the pool a lot and it was fine.

Mosquitoes are a problem here as in much of Bali and they placed mosquito coils in the room at sunset even if we were out. We were also carrying and using our own so the combined effect kept the Mozzies away.

Lastly the bedroom air conditioner does an OK job of cooling the room but does struggle with its compressor being on all the time to cool the room. A slightly larger one would have let the Air Con cycle on and off periodically and thus not overwork itself.

The location and the price are the plus points of Bonsai Villas. The beach is a good 15 - 20 Minute walk but in the daytime hot sun one should only take a taxi and not try to walk.

All in all it was a passable experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JKK459
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this review, 21 September 2013
There are a few corrections needed for this review.
When we send our confirmation receipt we clearly state if you have only paid a deposit or just given credit card detail please pay the balance on arrival.This especially applies to card holders as we do not have facilities to process same until the guest arrives giving us access to the card to proceed.A failure to have any kind of payment leaves us open to a guest to up and leave with no payment.This has happened a couple of times to us.All business`s make rules which in our case our staff must try to adhere to.However normally we are happy to wait until the guest has settled in and pay when it suits them.
Its a pity you like 1 or 2 other guests ignored our sign in each villa , stating IF YOU HAVE ANY SUGGESTIONS OR COMPLAINTS NOTIFY THE STAFF OR RUDI AS SOON AS POSSIBLE .SOME THINGS CAN BE RECTIFIED IMMEDIATELY OTHERS MAY TAKE TIME OR ARE OUT OF OUR CONTROL.
Unfortunately you have waited 5 months to submit your review with some of the comments you made already attended to.Its also a pity you had to use other peoples reviews to add to your complaints.
We advertise our villas as 1 bedroom villas for 2 persons.The personal hot water units are quite sufficient for 2 normal showers, if 1 person uses excess there must be a short wait for a 3rd person to use.We are doing our best to conserve water and electricity which is in short supply in Bali.
The 2 villas which are open one side have only the shower open to the elements.We get often get requests for villa 1 or 2 from some guests hoping it rains when they shower.
The pool area has 4 pool loungers with beach umbrellas for shade.The pool temperature is governed by the sun just as in all tropical area`s .A suggestion to cover half a small pool is not a practical suggestion.
I don`t think anyone wanting 5 star accommodation can expect it for $ 100. per night.
Regards
Rudi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 September 2013 via mobile

Staying here for 4 nites. The villa has an open plan kitchen and living room which leads to a swimming pool that is shared with 3 other villa. Really really love the outdoor bathroom, it is so refreshing to be able to have shower in the open with all the small trees around you.. The villa it self has a japanesse theme, it's simple but beautiful.
All the staffs are super friendly and helpful, and the owner Rudi is also very nice.
Location is fantastic too, in the heart of Seminyak, close to absolutely everything from Supermarket, cafes, restaurants and shops. Walking distance to Legian and Kuta.
Price is really good for what it offers.
Will come back next time going to Bali again.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Iren2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was diving on one of the other islands and simply needed somewhere for one night at the start and two nights at the end of the holiday, but wished I had had more time at the Bonsai Villas.

Its a perfect location for all the shops and restaurants, and far enough away from all the hustle and bustle to be peaceful and quiet at all times.

The villa was incredibly clean and had everything you need, including all important aircon!

Rudi and the team were also incredibly helpful and attentive and as is often the case, are what made the stay so enjoyable.

Thanks guys! No doubt see you again.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimmyPLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
331 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

I booked all four villas at Bonsai in late August for a family holiday with two adult children and a brother. The booking process direct with Rudi was friendly and set the scene. We used Bonsai to arrange transfers at USD15 for two cars to cater for 6 people and their luggage. All went smoothly and the " check in" process was smooth and easy.
The villas are not five star - how could they be at the rates charged? - but are comfortable, private and extremely well located as other reviewers have commented. Furnishings are simple and each villa has its own personality (my wife and I were in villa 3 which was just fine, with an indoor bathroom whereas 1 and 2 had outdoor bathrooms). The bed was comfortable but the sheets were somewhat stained (not dirty or unclean but carrying some stains) which did let Bonsai down somewhat. We didn't see much of Rudi so didn't get to chat to him about that issue.
The staff were just great; chatty and friendly and eager to help. Muss; Ary; Widi and co are lovely people who got on very well with us and with all the members of the group. They were keen to assist and always polite.Room cleaning was efficient and structured around our absences; evening service was good, with mozzie coils placed in the bathroom and living room and the bedroom sprayed. Bedroom is air-conditioned and the living room has a ceiling fan; satellite TV was good. The variety of towel shapes each day was amazing and a source of fun.
One previous reviewer criticised the pool maintenance and with six of us swimming in the morning, during the day at different times and always in the evening before and after dinner - and covered in sunscreen etc - the pool did get cloudy. But I spoke to the staff about it and the pool was super-chlorinated at a time designed to minimize disruption to our enjoyment of the pool and was sparkling the next , so we have only praise for the response and action.
Bonsai is fantastic value. It is a welcoming, relaxing and comfortable place which I have no hesitation recommending.
The villas offer privacy and convenience, together with ready access to many restaurants and the Bintang supermarket, as well as shopping in Legian and Kuta. Don't go there expecting a five star villa; you do not get that for AUD110 per night. What you do get is wonderfully friendly staff; a very comfortable private villa accommodation; great location at what is extraordinary value.
Thanks guys; we had a great time!!

Room Tip: If you enjoy an outdoor bathroom and plenty of greenery Villas 1 and 2 are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GWGGWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this review, 11 September 2013
Dear Garry

We appreciate your basically positive kind review.However i am most concerned by your remark about stained sheets ( plural ) our sheets which were all renewed a few weeks before you arrived are along with hand towels & face cloths laundered daily.Our well trained staff would have seen any imperfection and replaced same. There is a sign in all villas requesting guests if they have a complaint or suggesting for improvement to the villas to tell me or the staff so that it can be attended to immediately.This sign you chose to ignore and wait to put it on Trip Adviser for the world to see.I am very disappointed by the word plural and your action as
we do our utmost to satisfy our guests at all times.
Kind regards
Rudi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We just got back from having 3 weeks at Villa Bonsai. We had the best holiday, which was mainly due to the most wonderful staff. They were always happy to help with anything and nothing was ever too much. They always offered us coffee and biscuits when out at the pool. They were very thorough when spraying the villas for Mosquitos and placed mozzie coils in the villas every night, we never had a problem with Mosquitos. Every day the staff (especially Muss & Widi) made animals out of the towels and displayed them on our beds, our daughter loved this and the boys always made an extra special effort to surprise her......which they always did. The villas are tastefully decorated, spacious and well laid out. We never had a problem getting a sun lounge by the pool and rarely saw anyone at the pool. It is situated a short 2 min walk down the lane from the Bintang Supermarket which is very convenient, however the drinks in your mini bar at the villa are at supermarket prices anyway which is very nice. The villas are located in a busy part of Seminyak yet they are still quiet and peaceful. Thank you to Rudi, Muss, Widi, Gidday, Ari & Freddie for making our stay with you most enjoyable. It was nice to make such lovely friends.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sambo207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#78 of 146 in Seminyak
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#77 of 146 in Seminyak
268 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#57 of 146 in Seminyak
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#31 of 146 in Seminyak
548 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 146 in Seminyak
621 reviews
0.5 mi away
Bali Agung Village
Bali Agung Village
#62 of 146 in Seminyak
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Property: Bonsai Villas
Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#72 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonsai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing