We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent location and service”
Review of Bonsai Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bonsai Villas
Ranked #102 of 144 Hotels in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent location and service”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

Had a fantastic time here. Rudi, Widi, Ary and Muss were so helpful and friendly and helped us out. Villa was lovely and pool was beautiful. Made our stay a very pleasant one. Would highly recommend it. Location was really good, very close to the shops and restaurants and Bintang supermarket.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    137
    53
    6
    7
    4
See reviews for
19
115
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013 via mobile

Rudi and his wonder boys,Widi,Muss,Fredy,Gede,Ary n if i left out anyone..pls forgive me.orang tua lah..u all have made our stay at bonsai a memorable one.
Your guys are ever so obliging..ea of them make sure we have what is needed for our comfort stay at your villa. All my little requests like extra scoop ladle n extra pot for my little cooking in was well provided.
Thank you for your excellent service.
One last feedback would be..if the lighting in the bedroom can be improved,that would be an added bonus to d overall rating.Once again, thank you so much for everything.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lyndaSSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Bonsai Villas deserve their excellent Trip Advisor ratings. My Mother and I stayed for 7 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our spacious villa; beautifully decorated, set amongst lush bonsai gardens and beside a swimming pool kept at the perfect temperature!

The staff and level of service are amongst this complex’s greatest assets. Everyone, from Beny, our driver for many of the 8 days (usually at AU$45 per day), to the owner Rudi and his staff including the lovely Muss, Ary, Fredy, Gede and Widi were professional and lovely. Really, these people made our time in Bali so very special. They reaffirmed the island’s reputation as having some of the nicest people in the world. They are attentive, always helpful and it was very sweet chatting with the staff who were often keen to continue mastering the English language!

Considering the Bonsai Villas are set back off a busy Seminyak road, they are incredibly quiet and tranquil. They are sent at the end of a road of which a few accommodation providers are along. From the moment you walk through the gates and over the fishpond, you feel at ease and relaxed. Personally, I wanted a low-key peaceful break, friendly local staff and generally a different experience from staying in a hotel or resort. That I did get at Bonsai Villas. In fact, our stay there provided us with a truly authentic Balinese experience of which we are thankful for.

From the research I did online and via people staying in the area, these villas are exceptional value. Each is surrounded by a high Japanese style fence and lockable gate. Upon entering, you can’t help but be in awe of the décor and layout. Our villa was divided in two. The first part upon entry was a large room with loungers, chairs and at the back, a kitchen with a mini-bar and most cooking utensils including a coffee plunger (which I kindly broke!).

The bedroom and ensuite is next door. There is a lockable door leading into this area, which consists of a large bed with beautifully folded towel art, a TV and bedsides. We requested a mosquito net, which is a must. Each evening they bring mosquito coils that do a great job, as I hardly got bitten the whole time. I’d recommend bringing some tea tree oil for extra measure, especially if you wish to sit by the pool in the evenings.

The ensuite is sufficient and cleaned daily, along with the rest of the villa. The villas are agreeable and comfortable. We felt safe the whole time, which was absolutely paramount for us being two women travelling together. The villas are lockable and someone is on duty 24 / 7. The staff are entirely trustworthy.

Internet connection (free) was pretty good and considering we were both relying on it for business, we had enough connection to get by. I believe some units have slightly better reception. Ours was average, but much better first thing in morning, intermittently throughout the day and late in evening.

Bintang supermarket is a five-minute walk and huge with everything you could need. We mainly ate mango and muesli for breakfast, cashew nuts as a snack and stocked up on our beers, tonic water, juices and waters every couple of days. For dinner, go for the Japanese Restaurant Zushiya that has very nice food (opposite side of the road from Bintang and down a little inset further along the road). Nicest meal we had there was at Potato Head Beach Club, but at Western Prices. Nice place to have a cocktail and swim though!

Rudi has a lot of local knowledge. He’ll tell you the best taxis to catch, where to get your money changed, where the good restaurants are etc. If you’re a business traveller he seems to have a grasp on where everything is manufactured! There are money machines nearby and a currency exchange place across the road.

Definitely utilise Beny or Tin Tin as drivers while you are there. Beny took us all around the island and provided wonderful commentary. He’s a very safe, considerate driver.

Bonsai Villas are 5 star rated because they are exceptional value for money, the staff are wonderful, they’re well located and the surroundings are lovely. They are not a resort or a hotel, they are very well managed villas with staff that will warm your heart. Well worth a stay and one day, I will be back ☺

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Kate B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I travel a lot and stay in mostly high end hotels. Whilst this property is not high end, in terms of value for money it is definitely 5 star. Ditto other people's comments on very friendly and helpful staff. Tin Tin the driver is excellent and super nice.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 18 October 2013

Have recently had a 9 day stay with my wife at the Bonsai villas and what a great experience it was, the staff treated us with respect and were very helpful nothing seemed to be to much trouble. Tucked away from the busy main road the Villas was very quite, one would say that the bonsai was very romantic. The rooms were cleaned daily as were the ever changing towel designs the pool was always clean I will return to the Bonsai in the near future. So thank you to Rudi,Melv, Muss, Ari and all the staff that made our stay a memorable one. Lee and Sue

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 October 2013

I stayed at Bonsai villas for a week and it was a great experience - the rooms are fantastic value, in a good location, and have everything you need.

I fell quite ill on my last night in Bali and the staff went out of their way to assist - one even took me to the doctor personally. I can't express my gratitude enough as they were so helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

If you are looking for valuable accomodation without unnecessary frills (eg breakfast, not needed in Bali!) then I definitely recommend Bonsai Villas!

Thanks to Rudi, Ari, Muss and the other staff members for a wonderful stay :)

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wendy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ubud, Indonesia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2013

Thank you to Melv Rudi and all the lovely staff ..you guys were amazing for your charm generosity and caring for our whole five days ...the experience was beyond reproach from design of the villas to the awesome towel designs that changed every day. The shower was never a problem to us ..although other people have commented previously, there was plenty of hot water for our needs , The location is perfect for shopping and dining try Sip for great French food and even though you don't do breakfast Cafe Seminyak right next door on the main rd does the best traditional English breakfast ...love to bring my family from Aus next year it's the perfect place for a family or four couples to book out the villas with that beautiful warm pool to share..we really enjoyed our stay

Room Tip: This is great accommodation in a fantastic location they do not do food here but if you want to co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BidadariGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonsaiseminyakbali, Owner at Bonsai Villas, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear Jackie & friends
Our brilliant guests are why we do what we do.It was fantastic to meet you and it was our pleasure to have you stay with us. Thanks for acknowledging our staffs efforts in providing the 4 of you with the best service we can offer.We look forward to you returning.with your family and taking our 4 villas which we can ensure will be a very happy time for all.
Kind regards
Rudi & staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.3 mi away
Artemis Villa and Hotel
Artemis Villa and Hotel
#72 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Karisa
Villa Karisa
#75 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#29 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 593 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
Vansari Hotel Seminyak
#56 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#26 of 144 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.6 mi away
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
Villa Kresna Boutique Villas
#89 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bonsai Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bonsai Villas

Property: Bonsai Villas
Address: Jl. Raya seminyak gang keraton 188 | seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#40 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#73 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Bonsai Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bonsai Villas offers spacious uniquely designed Asian and Japanese style fusion accommodation.Built with natural teak timber and tasteful antique furniture gives a serene relaxing atmosphere.In this quiet haven you will feel a sense of special friendliness free from everyday pressures.Situated in the centre of Seminyak,within walking distance to shops,restaurants, night life and all the excitement of this area.You will arrive as guests and leave as friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Bonsai Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bonsai Villas Hotel Seminyak
Bonsai Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing