We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A tranquil place in the mid of Seminyak”
Review of Clio Apartments

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Clio Apartments
Ranked #57 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2013

Arrived in the evening with a pleasant outlook of the place where all the green grows in between, Clio Seminyak is a hidden tranquil place in the mid of the city. It is located just behind cafe Moka at Seminyak and around the Bali Deli. A very convenient place to stay. The rooms are clean and well maintained. The staffs are very helpful and Iluh at the front desk is very efficient too.
Breakfast are great at the cafe Moka. Definetly its a place to stay for those who loves to walk around Seminyak and yet have a quiet place to stay at the end of the day.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TranquilIndonesia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusDM, General Manager at Clio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2013

Dear reviewer,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.
We are lucky to have a great team at the moment, and we are glad you found the property
relaxing and central, your review sums up our aim with this property, so it was great to hear it from you.
thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (142)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

84 - 90 of 142 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

located just off the seminyak road, this small hotel is good if you just want a place to stay near the busy area. The design is minimalist, while the price is not too expensive. they have a small garden outside the room which acted like the alleyway. The reception closed at sunset but there is a security guy who can help you with basic things.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaySparkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2012

stayed 1-3 October 2012 at the LOFT2. it was a great experience staying in a stylish and cozy zen themed apartment in Bali. love it. ask about the rooms? just see their website, they picture it perfectly as the same as the real life. stay with my mom, sister and my 1yo baby. we regret that we didn't stay here from the first day in Bali. they forget to gave us the breakfast at the 1st morning, phoned them and got it for dinner, fresh fruits with coffee and tea. location is good, the surrounded is nice. will come back? definitely YES! i'm in love i guess.

Room Tip: LOFT is the best experience, LOFT2 get the best than others i say.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sallynatanegara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusDM, Manager at Clio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Sally,

Thank you for your feedback, it is a joy to log on and see some positive feed back from our customers, so glad you enjoyed the loft.

Marcus

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2012

I booked for 3 nights stay at Clio, but at the very last minute had to add additional night as it turns out we will be arriving earlier than we thought we would be. The staff was very helpful on my sudden request so i was quite happy with the service.

The place was nice and comfortable, it wasn't exactly a five-star hotel but definitely exceeded my expectation. The interior is really good. the bed is comfortable (which is very important for me). The only downside was, i think the hotel was doing a renovation then, so it's a bit noisy. however it didn't affect me that much.

Location-wise is very convenient. It's quite close to my favorite eateries and shops. me and my boyfriend were really happy with Clio and will definitely stay at Clio Bali if we're in Bali.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Reine J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusDM, Manager at Clio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Dear Reine

Thank you for your positive review, all apologies about the renovation, the good news is that
we have finished yesterday,
We have replaced all the natural stone in the bathrooms with something lighter and brighter,
This has really improved the look and feel of the rooms, sorry for the inconvenience
and thanks for staying at Clio

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

Great place in seminyak, its down a small road off the main road of seminyak so its very quite but only 5mins away from most of the great restaurants and beaches nearby. my partner and i stayed there for 4 nights for a romantic get away, its very private and the room was well kept and cleaned daily. overall i would come back again and would definetly recommend

Room Tip: i had a look at the skyloft, would definelty book that next time
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank visarun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusDM, Manager at Clio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 20 December 2012

Thank you for your review,
We are indeed a little bit different as far as hotels go,
not really the standard hotel experience,
we are glad you enjoyed your stay!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2012

I found out about Cilo Apartment through Tripadvisor/ Wikitravel. It is a boutique hotel so you need to manage your expectation. The location of the property is not along some major road although it is still walking distance to the main Jalan Raya Basangkasa (maybe 100m). Not an easy place to find. The place is not anyway near to the beach. No pool as well.

Booking was a bit of a hassle. There is no immediate reservation or online credit card payment, payment was by Paypal. When I checked in, there was only a security guard who could not speak English. No information on the wifi and other facilities in the room. It would be great if they could give guests (especially those who checked in after office hours) a simple welcome package with basic information about the property.

I stayed in the Twin Studio room. The room looks chic. But some of the amenities were not practical. For example, the shower was built on a platform at least 40cm- 50cm above the floor. No wall just a shower curtain. No shelf to put your toiletries. Although you could bend down to put beside the kitchenette sink. The room also had this moldy smell.

For the amount of money I paid, I think there are better places to stay around the area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank genleorus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarcusDM, General Manager at Clio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2012

Dear Reviewer,

We apologize our property was not suitable for you, However your review contains some falsehoods and your photo's are already out of date.

Considering we are behind cafe moka, and have another entrance next to bali deli,
If you can't find these 2 places in Seminyak, then you will indeed have a hard time finding Clio.

We do have a map on the web to assist people getting here, but the bonus of being off a main road, is its nice and quiet at night. We are only about 1km from the beach, and bars such as La plancha, etc, but the good news is we are a short walk from hundreds of shops and restaurants.

We do have an online booking system, since May this year, so maybe you missed out on using it by a few weeks.. sorry for that.

There is also an information board in every room since the last 4 months.. with wifi codes and general information.

We have also doubled our operational staff since you stayed with us, as well as many improvements such as new sinks, extra mirrors, and a water filtration system.

After reading the review I went down to the twin room and found 2 locations where one can place their toiletries, with-out so much as bending over. Firstly the sink bench, secondly the window sill.

Also the shower level is 30cm off the ground level , not 40-50cm as you stated.

Clio is indeed a design apartment, and a lot of traditional features have been morphed into the design, it can be challenging for some but most of our guests appreciate these differences.

Thanks for staying with us, you did have some valid points of things that needed to be changed, but by the time of your review, they had been done already.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2012 via mobile

"Cool" design and lots of space. Feels a bit cheaply done, but then you aren't paying much. Ground level rooms are quite dark. Sheets are polyester and make you sweat! How much it would have improved a night's rest to have decent, cotton sheets!
Also, there is a fan and A/C, but no mosquito nets. If bugs like you, best stay elsewhere b/c the mosquitos harassed me all night long! Room too large and ceiling too high and dark to find them.
In short, I would not go back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BigSkyBrightLights
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Likewise77, Manager at Clio Apartments, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2012

Dear Reviewer,

Our sheets are a cotton blend, we would never expect our guests to sleep in plastic sheets.
we use the hotel standard AVC T-200 as do most other hotels and villas on the island,

We do recall your stay, and your complaints about the mosquito's, and the staff did recommended that you use the mosquito spray supplied in the room,

However you stated that mosquito spray was poison and didn't want to use it.

We are sorry that our large room and high ceilings were not to your liking, maybe the studio would better suit your requirements, it is a little smaller, with a lighter ceiling.

Its a shame that you won't be staying with us again, as about 50% of our bookings are repeat guests.

To make sure that future guests are not annoyed by mosquito's we will be writing instructions in the room, the best way of dealing with them is by spraying the room before you head out to dinner, and keep the door closed at night, I am fully aware how annoying a night of mosquito's is, and how it could influence your thinking on our property.

Thank you for your input.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.6 mi away
M Suite
M Suite
#32 of 424 in Seminyak
146 reviews
0.3 mi away
Uma Karan
Uma Karan
#56 of 424 in Seminyak
180 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kutaville
Kutaville
#52 of 424 in Seminyak
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Bali Yarra Villas
Bali Yarra Villas
#36 of 424 in Seminyak
413 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kubu Cempaka Seminyak
Kubu Cempaka Seminyak
#3 of 117 in Seminyak
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Valka Bali
Valka Bali
#122 of 424 in Seminyak
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clio Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clio Apartments

Address: Jalan raya seminyak gang mangga No. 7, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 424 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £29 - £42 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Clio Apartments 3.5*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Clio studio Apartments in Seminyak is a small enclave of thirteen individual studio apartments and lofts. Offering minimalist style for the budget conscious traveler, Clio is located down a secluded lane way behind the famous Moka Cafe, in the middle of the major shopping street of Seminyak. Fashion boutiques, trendy eateries and supermarkets are all just a short walk away, providing a convenient base for your stay in Bali. Clio's contemporary design, dedication to a quality nights sleep and in-room entertainment is what sets it apart from the competition. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Clio Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clio Apartments Hotel Seminyak
Clio Apartments Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing