We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This place needs a major overhaul”
Review of D'Djabu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
D'Djabu Hotel
Ranked #26 of 116 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Hong Kong, China
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This place needs a major overhaul”
Reviewed 23 February 2011

My 3 other girlfriends and I were really looking forward to our trip to Bali just recently. After seeing what was published on Villa D'jabu's official website, we were convinced that the 2-bedroom villa with private swimming pool would enable us the ultimate relaxation holiday with the chance to lounge by the poolside and spa for most of our stay there.

Unfortunately, when we arrived at the villa, we were quite surprised with what we saw. It was a far cry from what was represented on the website. Firstly, the place was infested by flies - Our welcome drinks became a pool of flies just minutes after there were served. The walls surrounding the villa really looked like it needed a major coat of paint. The day bed by the poolside (refer to attached photo) didn't look very clean and it really didn't look too inviting to spend our next few days lounging on it.

Although we expected skylight shower facilities (as described in the website), we didn't expect it to be so badly stained with rain water and moss -- the walls of the bathroom, toilet bowls and tub had a blackish stain. (Refer to attached photos) Needless to say, my girlfriends freaked out. So did I.

Natan Hospitality, our agent was very accommodating after I called them to explain that Villa D'jabu really wasn't up to our expectations. Within 2 hours, they found us an alternate villa - A beautiful 3-bedroom villa within the Seminyak area as well. We moved there immediately.

I hope the owner of Villa D'jabu will put some thought into refurbishing the place soon. Its location by the paddy field really does provide a sense of serenity. As such, with a major overhaul, this place would really be a gem!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vanessatan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali P, Sales E-Commerce at D'Djabu Hotel, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear Client

Management Change of d’Djabu Boutique Hotel and Villas On January 2012, d’Djabu Boutique Hotel and Villas has been handed and started over by Premier Hospitality Management, a Singapore-based hospitality company.

d’Djabu boutique hotel and villas is now in progressive renovation at the aim of leading its own way for a better service and satifactory. This property stands of 16 hotel rooms and 4 rooms in the villas bringing the total of 20 rooms to occupy. Premier Management, as the new company who is taking the responsibility in looking after the property, is progressively improving all the hospitality aspects of d’Djabu boutique hotel and villas as well as other properties. This property would be time by time supposed to be well-managed and grabbing the satisfaction from all components. Further, the placement of the management office which take a part in one spotted space inside this property creates warmth for any individual and group for their prompt-responded problem solving and safety-guarranted stay.

Known as a beautiful boutique hotel and villas which is situated only few minutes walking distance to famous Seminyak, this d’Djabu sustains for the comfort and easeness of the stayers. The property designed for easy living and utmost for privacy for guests.

To be honestly informing, currently this property is continously occupiable day by day pulling up a notification that renovation is preceedingly arranged to be progressively well done soonest causes the operation, especially for this condensed week, to face crowd but with an attempt to primarily satisfy the customers

Thank you and regards
Lismana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    65
    33
    12
    21
See reviews for
45
75
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2010

Stayed in this villa with a group of friends, and we all loved it. The staff were lovely, daily breakfasts made in the villa were pretty good. We loved the set up of the villas, it was perfect for us. The rooms were really nice and perfect for us. Only complaint was that one of the ensuites had a slight sewerage smell, but other than that everything was great.

Also just a short walk to the main part of Seminyak where there were lots of lovely places to eat and great shopping. My best trip to Bali so far.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thatclaregirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
Reviewed 21 October 2010

We had no idea how this villa would be when the agent informed us the villa we wanted was fully booked. However, we were glad that we stayed in d'Djabu Villas. We find the setting of the villa excellent with our own private pool. Breakfast was prepared in our villa with a choice of Western or local food. Mr Ardi - manager of the villa, his staffs and even the security officers were friendly and approachable. The staffs provided impeccable service and communication was not a problem. Mr Ardi even invited us to have dinner together with his staffs and we were treated like a family rather than guests.

I would like to thank each and everyone of the staffs who made our stay enjoyable and memorable. We will definitely stay at d'Djabu Villas again on our next visit.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bon_Jovi040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 27 September 2010

We discovered d"Djabu Villas on the internet. It did not disappoint us. We loved the remote situation, away from the busyness of Seminyak itself, it is surrounded by rice paddies, quiet and peaceful.
The Villa was spacious and well appointed, with our own private pool. Breakfast was cooked for us in our own Villa at the time we requested, with a choice of "Enlish" or Balenese both of which were excellent.
We stayed 12 nights and thorohghly enjoyed it. The service was outstanding from the Manager Ardi down to the gardener. Special mention to Derry who was forever there when you needed him. Great stuff and thank you all.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WTAUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 14 August 2010

Generally this is a clean and 4-star place to stay. It is not suitable for young children as the rooms are too far from each and there is a large pool in the middle without safety fences. The 5 bedroom villa is ideal for 5 couples or familes with teenage children.

This villa is in a great location - close to shops and restaurants in Seminyak but not too close to the hustle and bustle of the area. It's a nice quiet place to relax. The staff are friendly and will help out with most requests.

The breakfasts are not that great and we ended up asking for a basic mix of bread/buns and then eating a full breakfast elsewhere. The kitchen is very basic - the best thing to do here is hire a chef to prepare a meal - we had 2 fantastic Indonesian style meals this way.

Not a bad place to stay for several families for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Legian_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2010

We considered many villa options before choosing d` Djabu Villa and could not have been happier with our choice . The staff are delightful.
Nothing is too much trouble and yet the service is friendly and attentive without over - bearing - Just right for us.

The villa facilities are clean , We attended and ideal for a family

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rick_poole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FamilyinSeminyak
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 June 2010

The staff at D'jabu are very friendly and generally will help with anything if you ask.

However there is no settling in, about how you use the facilities ie. safe/tv's/hot water being in fountain etc. Again once you ask they are very helpful.

We booked a two bedroom villa with a cot for a baby and the villa we were provided was not suitable as the 2nd bedroom was quite far away. Both the management and agent would not acknowledge they should have told us this upon booking back in February, and hence we paid a lot of money for a room that we could not use.

I would like other travellers to know this property is only suitable if you are ok with your children being a little away from you, ie they are not in the room next door. There is a gap and you would not hear crying if it was an infant.

The photos on the website are gorgeous and hence why we booked. However it is a little tired and in desperate need of a good scrub. The grounds are kept very well. It is just the kitchen, bathrooms and floors that need a good scrub. The outdoor pool lounges had mould on them in our villa, it would be hard to prevent it with the humidity, but perhaps another type of covering should be used.

The location is good if you are a single/ couple or with children old enough to walk for 15 minutes into Seminyak. Also good if you don't want to be in the centre of Kuta and Legian and it is still close enough to catch a cab.

Our experience with the Management over taking the booking for two rooms with a baby and not expressing any responsibility because the booking was through an agent was very disappointing. It came across as a money grab because the management should have told the agent the property was not suitable for a baby to be in a separate room. I would also advise if you are going to bring a baby just book as a one bedroom and bring your own port-a-cot. You can get one from them, but it is old.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seminyak2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Seminyak hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
Paragon Ayola Seminyak
Paragon Ayola Seminyak
#104 of 146 in Seminyak
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kubu Cempaka Seminyak
Kubu Cempaka Seminyak
#4 of 116 in Seminyak
234 reviews
0.5 mi away
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
Villa Bunga Hotel & Spa
#12 of 116 in Seminyak
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#7 of 116 in Seminyak
303 reviews
0.2 mi away
La House
La House
#11 of 116 in Seminyak
100 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Visala Boutique Suites Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to D'Djabu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about D'Djabu Hotel

Property: D'Djabu Hotel
Address: Braban St, no 46, Banjar Taman | Kerobokan Kelod - Seminyak, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — D'Djabu Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is a world-class contemporary resort in Bali with a team of attentive yet discreet staff, who are committed to providing exceptional service. The quintessential island charm is something for which the people of Bali are renowned; they pride themselves on their welcoming hospitality. D'djabu Hotel is an exclusive ensemble of Luxury Boutique Hotel in Bali, set in idyllic landscaped gardens with Public pools. The lavishly adorned boutique hotel with their chic interiors will astonish discerning leisure and business travelers alike, seeking the perfect getaway holiday accommodations in Bali resorts. The Hotel Location in central of seminyak area with lot of shopping area, dining area and night life place to enjoy your holiday make lasting and memorable. the location is around 1o minutes from Kuta area, 5 minutes from seminyak beach and 20 minutes from Airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your D'Djabu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
d`Djabu Villas Hotel Seminyak
D'Djabu Hotel Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing