We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where photos truly do tell the story behind a villa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Wolas Villas & Spa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2011

Many times(actually all times) when preparing your trip, unless you have a place you enjoy staying at in a particular city, you rely on reviews and photos. Most often than not, the photos are taken from a certain angle, with a certain contrast in tone and colour to make the rooms look pristine and welcoming - rightfully so mind you! But a lot of the times you are left disappointed the moment you step through the doors as it's never exactly what you expected from looking at the lovely photos you saw online. With The Wolas Villas & Spa the first words muttered from my mouth upon stepping in to our villa was, "it looks exactly like the photos".

The service was professional and accommodating yet were never over-bearing. I would politely like to dispute the claim from a reviewer below that the staff were "shifty". How is it the Wolas staffs responsibility to provide change which was not given by a taxi driver, when all they do is provide the service of calling cabs for customers? I had no problems whatsoever with the staff in any way, shape or form.

The rooms were clean, and spacious; I can not over-state how spacious the villa was. I was with my partner, and as much as we wanted to utilize the entire space of the villas, I still felt that there was just too much of the villa we never used, specifically the living room area. The bathroom was MASSIVE; thanks to Wolas I will continue to hear about wanting the same sized bathroom over and over again from my partner - I still to this day hear this from her! The bathroom came with a couples sink, so in essence the villa is a true couples haven.

I found the pools were clean, and I didn't find the pool deck as slippery as others mentioned - though it's possible that I took extra care knowing what I had read previously. We also found the pool spacious enough to swim and paddle around in, and we also noticed that there wasn't too much chlorine in the pools which was a good thing also.

In terms of the distances to other locations (Kuta beach), I would say it's not too far, but when you factor in the unpredictable(and often times adventurous) traffic it can seem much longer than you'd imagine. The costs for cab rides are extremely affordable and fair, and like mentioned above often times the cab drivers won't provide the exact change, but who really wants the coins anyway? So it is wise to break up your bigger notes, and always have small notes ready when traveling about at all times.

The only major negative which I'd bring up is in regards to the beds. The beds were very spacious, but due to (I'm assuming) the aging of the beds, there was a significant dent in the middle of it which my partner and I found discomforting at times. But in terms of comfort, pillows, air conditioning, and even the added touch of having your own water bottle system at hand, everything else was top notch!

If you want to stay at a location which isn't right in the middle of the hustle and bustle but close enough, and in need of some privacy, peace and serene surroundings, The Wolas Villas and Spa is the way to go. I look forward to going back again sometime in the future, and lets hope that not much has changed - well besides the beds.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kyungshikah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for The Wolas Villas & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

439 - 445 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2011

We stayed here in july 11. We usually stay at the padma in legian and initially thought we had made a mistake because it didn't have the "wow" factor of a five star hotel, but after a few days we started really appreciating the privacy, Gorgoeus pool, beaufuifully decorated, heaps of space for a couple, lovely people and very helpful in booking resturants etc. Shuttle to beach wasn't very hour as indicated, just 10 and 2, but with the price of taxis being so cheap, it's not an issue. Stock up on bintang and soft drinks from the shop accross the road or treats from the bali deli because there is a big fridge in the room. Seafood barbeque in room was great and romantic. Would definately come back if we were looking for some space from the crowds,

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tweetypie_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

stayed here last week and for the most part it was all very nice.
the good:
the pool was sunshiney and warm.

the not so good:
pool was a bit mossy/green.
bathroom could be more thoroughly cleaned.
front desk staff a bit shifty. always called a cab for us who never had change! and when we asked staff for change they pretended they didn't have access to any money. dodgy.
breakfast was stingy.

i'd probably not stay here again as there are so many similar places.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollylollypop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

We had excellent time in The WOLAS Villas and SPA. We had absolute privacy and totally enjoyed our stay. Would definitely recommend this place to my friends and family. In short, Loved it, loved it and loved it :)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ganga_Pradeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2011

Pros:
Staff sincerely try to cater to your every request. Air conditioning was nice and cool for the main room. Water dispenser with fresh drinking water supplied in the villa! Away from the hustle and bustle of Bali. On site spa has nice, clean facilities and prices are comparable to other spas. No-hassle motorbike rental available on site. In-villa BBQ on order. Mosquito coils provided (you can light your own or they will also light some for you as part of their daily turndown service)

Comments about your stay:
My wife and I had a fabulous stay here at the Wolas. It was clean and also newer than some of the other properties we saw along the way. Staff are very friendly and polite and will try their bests to accede to all your requests. They were able to come together nicely on our short-notice request and prepare flowers and a little chocolate cake for our anniversary.

Of our 3D2N stay, we spent one entire day in the villa just relaxing by the pool, tanning on the deck chair, snoozing in the air-conditioned room, going for a 2.5h spa, and having a romantic candlelight BBQ at night. Whoever said that you had to order the BBQ at least once was right! We had the seafood BBQ (king prawns, squid, red snapper, seafood pasta and dessert) for US$65. You let the staff know what time to come in and they set it all up for you, BBQ it on the deck and serve it to you in the dining area. It is quite a hassle-free affair. The wife had some self-marinated chicken and pork prepared which added a wonderful touch to the whole evening. We also had the pineapple and jackfruit crumble with ice cream (chosen again by the wife!) which we both enjoyed.

We enjoyed the spa packages that were available as well. Over 2 days, we did about 5 hours of spa treatments (Hot Stone massage, Balinese massage, Foot Reflexology and Facial). The Hot Stone massage is a must try! Upon check-in, we had a 30% discount + 1 hour free treatment for 3 treatments purchased (I think the other option is to get a lunch discount or something). The 5 hours of treatment cost us little over US$200 for 2 people, which we found very reasonable. It made quite a difference to be able to go for our spa and then be steps away from the comfort of our villa (as opposed to being stuck in traffic for hours to get to one in Nusa Dua).

The other thing is that you don't really meet very many people. I think there were a number of couples staying at the Wolas but we only saw them briefly at scattered times during the day. Other than that, it felt very secluded and private, which was good for us.

We also rented a motorbike for 60,000 rupiah a day (gas was only 10,000 rp. for the full day - we topped up much more than we used - I think 4,500 rp. would have done it), which was a really fun adventure for us and definitely made a difference in beating the traffic. Helmets are provided and they deliver the motorbike right to the villa.

A big plus that should be mentioned was that there is drinking water in the form of a dispenser with one of those counter-top 5 gallon water coolers provided. I personally drink water like a camel, so it helps to have it provided in the villa and not have to worry about buying and lugging water around.

We didn't have too big a problem with mosquitos, although there were some around (and I am a mosquito magnet). The property carries out regular fumigation and, as part of the turndown service in the evenings, they light a coil for you (which lasts a long time) so by the time you are back in the evening, the area is reasonably "sterile" (of mosquitos). And if you need to, they leave the whole packet there so you can light additional coils at your pleasure.

Areas for improvement:
One thing we were unable to get was a late checkout, so we had to check out quite punctually by 12 (although we managed to get about a half hour's grace). However, Wolas offered us the standard luggage storage plus the use of their spa shower facilities on our return, so that was fine.

We also had some problem getting the waterfall in our pool to function as this apparently had to be turned on by one of the property's engineers (from the outside?), which was a bit of a hassle but not a big deal.

As well, even though there is quite a fair bit of kitchen space for cooking, our villa kitchen was completely devoid of cooking utensils (there were a couple of serving plates and wine glasses etc., but no knives, chopping boards, pots or pans etc.). Staff again came to the rescue and we were able to borrow everything we needed literally from right out of the hotel kitchen, which was mildly hilarious! They did leave the utensils and all with us for the duration of our stay though, and the daily cleaning crew actually washed up our dishes and kitchen area for us. Amazing!

The main sliding door to the bedroom has curtains so it keeps the light out. However, the side door entrance (which connects to the main bedroom) does not. It is a small issue but can be rather annoying if you are sensitive to light as the light does come in to the main bedroom from the side.

All in all, however, we were not disappointed with our stay. Only wished we had more time to spend with each other there!

Travel tip:
(Hotel Feature tip)
Take advantage of the on-site spa which offers good service at competitive prices. Also, try renting the motorcycle for a day, for a fun honeymoon ride!

Value for Money - 4
Location - 4
Staff Performance - 4
Hotel Condition/Cleanliness - 5
Room Comfort/Standard - 5
Food/Dining - 4
Hotel Features - 4

Recommended for:
Romance/Honeymoon
Health/Relaxation

Overall were you satisfied with your stay at this hotel?
Yes

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank theo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2011

This is the first villa I've stayed at. The location is quite bad. Not many taxi drivers know this place very well so I'd recommend to get someone for pick up rather than looking for a cab there and end up somewhere else.

The villa is awesome. I love how it looks exactly the same in the photos. It's clean, big and you have basically everything you needed there.

Mosquito bites are quite common around that area be sure to bring repellents there.

  • Stayed: October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelholicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

So - this place is an amazing deal for the money. It's as good as the pictures, maybe even better! The room is a fully walled compound for the ultimate in privacy and luxury. You have your own private swimming with water fall, open air living, dining and kitchen. Full air conditioned bedroom and bathroom suite. Two big screen TVs and reasonable room service. We spent our last night in Bali here and just totally relaxed. Our plane was leaving late the following night, but since I arranged my airport transfer with the front desk, they allowed us a late afternoon checkout and the ability to hold our luggage and use their spa shower to clean up and change clothes before heading off to the airport at midnight. The service staff here is wonderful!

What a great way to end a trip! My wife and I love every moment.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AncientArtiZen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.4 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 147 in Seminyak
734 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Villas Bali Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nyuh Bali Villas
Nyuh Bali Villas
#3 of 421 in Seminyak
288 reviews
0.8 mi away
Space at Bali
Space at Bali
#5 of 421 in Seminyak
473 reviews
1.7 mi away
Sandi Agung Villa
Sandi Agung Villa
#8 of 421 in Seminyak
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wolas Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wolas Villas & Spa

Address: Jl. Yudistira 18, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 421 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £128 - £361 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wolas Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Haven of Timeless EquanimityOffering superb ambience and peacefulness, The Wolas Villas & Spa stands amidst the dazzling Seminyak tourist resort, premier shopping destinations and entertainment venues. Designed in minimalist modern and private luxury resort, it reflects the style and elegance of Balinese culture. This emanates from the glamorous entrance gate inspired by ancient temple and Balinese miniscule garden marked with frangipani and other verdant shrubs. Here is the haven of equanimity in Bali. Hence, look no further.Simply for your convenience, the villas have been equipped with supporting facilities like fine restaurant, spa and spacious parking lot.Besides, our villas are indeed perched at a strategic location. It is only 15-minute drive from the airport and less than 30-minute drive to destinations like Denpasar City, Golf Course and Sanur tourist resort. Even, the legendary paradise of sand at Kuta Beach is only 10-minute drive.The frenzy of Seminyak means nothing to us. As soon as walking into The Wolas Villas & Spa, it has been conjured up into tranquility without doubt. Our villa compounds are appropriate with travelers enjoying vacation in couple or with family. In harmony with these needs, we have provided you with 16 one-bedroom villas and 2 two-bedroom villas. Each villa is designed in stylish interior and equipped with first-rate quality furnishings. Meanwhile, its standard feature embraces a private swimming pool, kitchen, dining area and living area. Other facilities equipping them consist of 42-inch plasma TV, cable TV channel, in-house entertainment, and WIFI Internet access.Indeed, we offer you a true hospitality since you first make a reservation until you say goodbye. So, enjoy our Balinese affability in daily interaction, spacious walkway with rich greenery environment to villa, and genuinely homey living. In short, it is entirely dedicated for shrewd travelers wishing to immerse themselves in a splendid resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Wolas Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolas Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Wolas Villas And Spa
The Wolas Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing