We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A little disappointing...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wolas Villas & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Wolas Villas & Spa
Ranked #11 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A little disappointing...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had originally booked a two bedroom villa, but a week before we were due to leave, the management advised us that this option was no longer available and that they would substitute two one bedroom villas, this was not a great start to our stay at the Wolas...

First the positive stuff....The staff of the Wolas were fantastic, greeting us on arrival with a cold towel and cold drink was just what we needed. The breakfast menu was excellent, perfectly cooked and served by "Leo" and the room service meals were also delicious...The Villas were, at first glance, fantastic, but as the week progressed you could start to see the age of the rooms...

Now, the negative stuff...the mosquitos were quite a bit of a problem and the Wolas solution was a can of fly spray and a tube of mozzie repellent in each room, the least they could have provided was one of those electrical mosquito repellent devices that our other villas had supplied. The towels were old and ragged as were the sheets and quilt cover, plus they did not even have a top sheet, so you had to sleep under a quilt with the air conditioner on to try to keep the mosquitos away. Both of our Villas showed signs of lack of general maintenance, on the first morning, our bed even broke right in the middle....the sliding door kept coming off of the track and the hairdryer was cracked and would barely heat up...!!!

The promised "regular" shuttle bus only went twice a day, once at 10am and then at 2pm and definitely one way!!!

Unfortunately, I don't think we will be back to stay and would not recommend this to any of our friends....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudanamade, Manajer Umum at The Wolas Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Roz R,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property.We truly value the opinions of our customers.

I apologize for any inconvenience you have experienced . I would like to thank you for providing your feedback on the your booking ,mosquitos and the towels issues.

I have taken a note and will share with our team member to take a necessary action to improve our service continually

Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again

Sincere regards,

Made sudana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    349
    89
    19
    8
    8
See reviews for
53
324
9
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Overall condition of villa was decrepit ( old and used-up ). Walls were showing sings of moisture and mold. At first we were provided with grey towels with so many stains but after complaints we received clean white ones. Overall cleanliness was good inside the villa but toilet seat and bathroom were full of yellow scales and stains.
The only thing missing in the kitchen was the pots and bowls, if we were supposed to live there and cook for ourselves are we supposed to buy cutlery and cooking bowls set?
Overall pleasent stay but disappointed, we expected so much more.
Spa offer was very nice and pleasent, for a decent price you can enjoy 135 minutes treatment for complete body.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dive P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudanamade, Manajer Umum at The Wolas Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Dive P,

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. I am very sorry that you had a far from favorable experience with us on your recent stay.

Your comments with regards to Toilet conditions and the missing of Pots and bowl are well noted and I will share your review with our team member and personally follow up on the issues you have delighted.

Thank you once again for staying with us, and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again at our villas.

Sincere regards,

Made Sudana
Genera lManager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived very late at night to be personally greeted by friendly staff with a cold towel and a refreshing cold juice drink.
The 1 bedroom villa we stayed in had all the amenities we needed for our 2 night stay but we could easily have managed to stay for much longer here.
Very comfortable and peaceful, a lovely private pool at our disposal, Wolas is everything, and more, we hoped it would be.
Very comfortable furnishings, efficient and friendly room service we were able to totally relax.
Didn't get to try the spa service due to a misunderstanding with the front desk but that's probably our own fault for trying to do everything in a rush where really Bali is a place to chill and take your time. But the spa service menu looks really comprehensive.
A great cocktail and dinner menu for room service also; and really great to be able to phone through a breakfast order before getting out of bed in the morning and being ready by the pool when breakfast arrives.
Recommend Wolas to couples and families - we will certainly be back soon.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Martyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sudanamade, Manajer Umum at The Wolas Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Martyn B,

Thank you for choosing the Wolas Villa and Spa for your family vacations and taking the time to share your experience with TripAdvisor readers.

We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and the overall facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you and family again.

Best regards,

Made Sudana
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thane, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My husband and I visited this place in November 2013. It might be a bit too late to write this review,but I just remembered the amazing time that we had there!
Wolas Villas was the perfect getaway for us!
The food was great! The staff was excellent and cordial! The place was well kept and the pool was super clean! The location is just so great, it was very close to the Seminyak square and the Oberoi Road, with lots of great options for food!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnuBho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagusBhaskara, Manager at The Wolas Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear AnuBho,

Thank you very much for your recent visit in The Wolas Villas & Spa,
Love to hear that our property has been exceeded your holiday in Bali, will absolutely to share with our team who enhance your visit in The Wolas Villas & Spa.
Looking forward to welcome you back at The Wolas Villas & Spa

Sincere regards,

Bagus Bhaskara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed at The Wolas for 5 nights a month ago and had a great time. We spent a lot of time looking online prior to our trip for the perfect place to stay & we were not disappointed!

The staff are so kind, friendly and helpful and the setting of the resort is beautiful. I was worried about Mosquitos but needn't have been. We diligently applied Bushman's repellant (which we had purchased in Aus prior to the trip) and neither of us got a single bite.

We spent lots of time lounging around the pool which was beautiful, the open air living space was a nice addition. I would highly recommend The Wolas :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank StillCallAusHome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagusBhaskara, Manager at The Wolas Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Dear StillCallAusHome,

Thank you for your time to review your recent stay in The Wolas Villas & Spa,
Your review has been a great compliment to our property in delivering the product & service to our customer, we are always been happy to enhance the value for money of our clients.
Will looking forward to welcome you back at The Wolas Villas & Spa.

Sincere regards,


Bagus Bhaskara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed in 1 bed room pool villa at Wolas during our honeymoon for 3 nights in December, 2013. We were greeted with garlands and fresh fruit drink. The check-in was swift. The villa was beautiful, clean and well maintained. They had bouquet on the bed, bath tub covered with rose petals and a small chocolate cake made to perfection for us! The bathroom was as big as our room. Our stay included complimentary breakfast and oh boy, what a spread of dishes they had. Nearly all dishes were yummilicious. I particular loved their fried rice and fresh apple juice. The property is beautifully done. Huge room, comfy bed, beautiful living room and lovely pool. The location is perfect – not too far nor too close.

The service was at par with that of any five star. The staff was friendly and very hospitable. On our first night, we booked a cab from the hotel to Queen’s Tandoor. Not knowing the regular cab rates, we landed up paying 5 times more than what was the usual rate. Luckily we have the cab driver’s card. Though without much hopes, we did approach the hotel staff and to our great astonishment, they were able to track down the driver and get our money back! My husband’s birthday coincided with our stay at Wolas. And yes, we were in for a surprise – The entire hotel staff gathered around us with the chef holding a special birthday cake prepared for him and all singing the Balinese birthday song!

I agree that mosquitoes are an issue but that’s not particular to Wolas but a problem faced everywhere in Bali. The staff makes sure they are enough coils in/around the villa. Those visiting the island should we better prepared. The only thing that I wish Wolas can work upon is the lighting. I do love dim lighting (romantic) but at night it really becomes a big problem, especially for the ladies to get ready.

Wolas is a home away from home and much recommended by me. It will be very special to me as it made my honeymoon memorable! If we ever come back to Bali, Wolas is our place!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lipika R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagusBhaskara, Manager at The Wolas Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Greetings Lipika R,

Thank you very much for your recent visit in The Wolas Villas,
We are very happy to enhance your Honeymoon in Bali.
As you are inform that Bali is located in the tropical area, where mosquito spread and live in every part of Bali, and in The Wolas we have conduct a lot of preventive action for reducing the mosquito inhabitant.
Looking forward to welcome you back in The Wolas Villas & Spa.

Regards,

Bagus Bhaskara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

Very good deal especially for last minute booking. Villa looks great on first sight - Wolas seems to be delivering a lot on paper: big private pool, great last minute deal, outdoor shower, indoor shower, bathtub, big rooms, balinese looking roof...

However, in my 1 night stay: I spotted
hair in the swimming pool
blood stain on my pillowcase
All towels look old and yellowish
A lot of mosquitoes in the evening time, can't leave the room doors open.
The bed is noisy and it moves every time there is movement in bed.
Pillow is very very soft, no head support!

The in-room slippers however are surprising very comfy and of good quality.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sixiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BagusBhaskara, Manager at The Wolas Villas & Spa, responded to this review, 27 June 2014
Dear Sixiu,

Thank you very much for your recent stay in The Wolas Villas & Spa,
Your input on our cleanliness is very much appreciated, apology for your inconvenience in experiencing below standard of service in regards of our cleanliness, and please do not worry we are already very focus on that and will improving our cleanliness into our standard.
For the mosquito, we have been conducting a treatment in preventing the mosquito to spread out in our establishment, however in the tropical country like Bali we will always been seen some mosquito around especially with a nice garden spread out in our establishment which is the common place of living for mosquito.
Please contact me to manager@thewolasvilla.com for detail input for us in improving our product as you were experience.
again, thank you very much and hope that we will welcome you back to our villas in showing our improvement ahead.

Sincere regards,


Bagus Bhaskara
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.8 mi away
The Trans Resort Bali
The Trans Resort Bali
#13 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,702 reviews
1.5 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Seminyak Icon
Seminyak Icon
#6 of 141 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.5 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#14 of 410 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.5 mi away
My Villas in Bali
My Villas in Bali
#2 of 410 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wolas Villas & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wolas Villas & Spa

Property: The Wolas Villas & Spa
Address: Jl. Yudistira 18, Seminyak 80361 , Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 410 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Wolas Villas & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Haven of Timeless EquanimityOffering superb ambience and peacefulness, The Wolas Villas & Spa stands amidst the dazzling Seminyak tourist resort, premier shopping destinations and entertainment venues. Designed in minimalist modern and private luxury resort, it reflects the style and elegance of Balinese culture. This emanates from the glamorous entrance gate inspired by ancient temple and Balinese miniscule garden marked with frangipani and other verdant shrubs. Here is the haven of equanimity in Bali. Hence, look no further.Simply for your convenience, the villas have been equipped with supporting facilities like fine restaurant, spa and spacious parking lot.Besides, our villas are indeed perched at a strategic location. It is only 15-minute drive from the airport and less than 30-minute drive to destinations like Denpasar City, Golf Course and Sanur tourist resort. Even, the legendary paradise of sand at Kuta Beach is only 10-minute drive.The frenzy of Seminyak means nothing to us. As soon as walking into The Wolas Villas & Spa, it has been conjured up into tranquility without doubt. Our villa compounds are appropriate with travelers enjoying vacation in couple or with family. In harmony with these needs, we have provided you with 16 one-bedroom villas and 2 two-bedroom villas. Each villa is designed in stylish interior and equipped with first-rate quality furnishings. Meanwhile, its standard feature embraces a private swimming pool, kitchen, dining area and living area. Other facilities equipping them consist of 42-inch plasma TV, cable TV channel, in-house entertainment, and WIFI Internet access.Indeed, we offer you a true hospitality since you first make a reservation until you say goodbye. So, enjoy our Balinese affability in daily interaction, spacious walkway with rich greenery environment to villa, and genuinely homey living. In short, it is entirely dedicated for shrewd travelers wishing to immerse themselves in a splendid resort experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Southall Travel, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia and Odigeo so you can book your The Wolas Villas & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Wolas Villas Hotel Seminyak
The Wolas Villas And Spa
The Wolas Villas & Spa Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing