We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astana Kunti- a toilet in a toilet”
Review of Astana Kunti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Astana Kunti
Ranked #24 of 118 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 June 2012

The Astana Kunti was not very well in tune with the needs of somebody looking to spend a relaxing time away from home. Unless you spend all your time away from your villa. Constantly had to ring and ask for sugar, like every day, usually twice. Housekeeping never replenished any tea or coffee/sugar etc unless asked to. There was not even a kettle to boil water. Villa consisted of an open gazebo type lounge/kitchen and an enclosed bedroom. At night if you want to sit and relax you have no choice but to go to bed as this is where the TV is mounted and the gazebo/villa would be inundated with mosquitoes after dark. The villas were not that new and the facilities within were aged and tacky, and the villa pool was very small. OK for us because we do not swim but any body who did would be struggling to make two strokes before the length of the pool was exceeded. For the price paid, the service and standard were that of a toilet in a toilet, as Bali itself is a horrible horrible place compared to similar destinations such as Phuket.

Room Tip: Go to Phuket
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sodapopwollongong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (395)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

293 - 299 of 395 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2012

Stayed in the Hotel 1 bedroom suite, room 124, rooms are a good size, King size bed, good size Ensuite, Lounge area & a Kitchenette with large fridge, Room was nice & clean, We did check the Villas out & they looked OK as well.

Hotel pool area was OK, but the water was pretty cold as it wasn't in the sun for much of the day, pool is about 3mtrs wide by maybe 20mtrs long.

Didn't get the Breakfast in our package so can't comment on that.

Hotel is located down the end of a bumpy street, a little bit of a walk maybe 10-15min back to Sunset rd from hotel, Hotel will ring a taxi for you & they are pretty quick arriving with in 5min.

Staff are very friendly & will organize anything for you eg: motorbike/car rentals, tours etc.

The only drama we had was my mums room, room 111 smelt mouldy & she had problems with the shower.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kalais308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012 via mobile

Stay here for just over a week. Good place to stay if you are interested in staying at the hotel and relaxing as it's a fair walk to the nearest shopping district. The quality of the room, the service and included food was great. Would stay here again. Only two complaints, 1. Wifi would time out after 1 minute of inactivity making it very difficult to do anything. 2. The road into the hotel has lots of pot holes making it a bit difficult for taxis/cars to navigate.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SC_85_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2012

Location
This place is a little out of the way from everything else so you will need to call for taxi or rent a bike. Our balcony overlooks the pool with a view of the paddy fields from the door. A good retreat for those seeking peace and tranquility or for those who would like to book the venue for group (such as for their wedding guests but there are much better ones out there).

*note: On the subject of taxis, the driver quoted us 50,000 rupiah from Double Six Beach back to our hotel. It was past midnight so none of the taxis were willing to run on meter. We negotiated for 25,000 rupiah and he agreed. Then after we got into the taxi, he asked us for directions!!! As a wedding planner, I always make it a point to note down the venue locations/convenience of travel/etc so thank goodness, we remembered our directions!! So always bargain/nego before getting into a taxi.

Service
Sometimes, good service make up for the more inferior properties but this place is totally lacking in service quality. Receptionist is not helpful and unfriendly. Should really improve in service quality.

Room
Spacious room with nice furnishing and interior design. Love the blend of modern interior with a touch of Balinese aesthetics.

Facilities
Love the pool and cozy lounge area to read a book or for coffee.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank natashakhm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2012

Location is ok but rooms smell and the breakfast is awful. Would not rate this hotel. We purchased this hotel on a deal but found out the published rate was the same as the deal. Would like to warn travelers ? Staff are friendly and pool is very nice

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank amigos09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

Fair enough, the place is pretty, price is great. Very intimate pool area, which is delightful. They charged quite a bit for WiFi (could be free if you opt for the villas). I went to the Royal Beach Seminyak (friends were staying there) to use their FREE WiFi, on the sand by the beach, no less.

As per the other reviews, people staying in villas do get better treatment. I’ve asked for their shuttle service a couple of times, to which the staff replied, “subject to availability”. I did try to get them to define “availability”, they just giggled. Charming. Needless to say, it was never available for us.

Location is not bad, not central, you have to walk for about 30 – 45 minutes to get to central Seminyak. It was fairly easy to book a cab from the hotel. I felt bad for the cab drivers though, all the lumps can be really damaging if they are not careful. One night on the way back to the hotel, the cab driver decided to just drop us off at the end of the road, in the rain, because “the road is bad for the car”. The road needs fixing pronto. According to one of the nicer cab drivers, Astana Kunti has always been up for it, but one of the other villas down the road won’t chip in. There you go.

I’ve been to Bali a couple of times, I would not stay here again. It’s a hassle to get to/ from the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dnilbroloc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2012

Large rooms. Great garden and pool area. The staff are helpful and a little hidden treasure. 5 min taxi to seminyak and not close to anything but if u have a motorbike it's great value. Give it a go.

Stayed: May 2012
Thank Carolyn L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
1.5 mi away
Astana Seminyak Villas
Astana Seminyak Villas
#120 of 148 in Seminyak
7 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#108 of 148 in Seminyak
115 reviews
2.0 mi away
Astana Batubelig Villas
Astana Batubelig Villas
#124 of 423 in Seminyak
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#8 of 118 in Seminyak
307 reviews
0.4 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#62 of 423 in Seminyak
191 reviews
1.1 mi away
Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astana Kunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Kunti

Address: Jl. Dewi Saraswati III no. 39, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 118 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range: £24 - £99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astana Kunti 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down a remote passageway in the sophisticated Seminyak, the upscale and classy part of Bali, partly surrounded by rice paddy field beyond the banana cluster and designed with modern minimalist style and assembled around community pool and tropical landscaped garden of scattered Frangipani trees. Astana Kunti Suite Apartment & Villa is a fine-composition of 28 suite apartment and 19 villas that securely located in Seminyak area; where the essence of cosmopolitan style in the full swing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astana Kunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Kunti Hotel Seminyak
Astana Kunti Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing