We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Astana Kunti Seminyak - just what we needed!”
Review of Astana Kunti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Astana Kunti
Ranked #23 of 116 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We stayed at the Astana Kunti over the 2013 Christmas and 2014 New Year. Some mixed comments of other reviewers had made us unsure of what to expect but we were absolutely thrilled with this little boutique resort. True if you were looking for 5 star dining , bars and clubs you wouldn't choose here BUT if you wanted a larger than average room, quiet and more than adequate pool area along with some of the best service we've ever had when travelling in Asia this is the place to go. Excellent free shuttle into Seminyak Square and Legian (near Enough to Kuta to walk)makes up for distance from restaurants etc plus taxis are cheap (except for around New Year when price quadruple!) staff were friendly, helpful with advice, courteous, welcoming and always quick to respond to requests or queries. Our daughter (age 25) was staying with friends in nearby Kuta and even stayed with us a few nights so she could enjoy an uninterrupted night's sleep without the "partying" noises of Kuta - she loved it and will book here next time too! Will try for a villa next time ourselves, place is a little older etc but rooms are clean and beds very comfortable, microwave and kitchenette provided capacity to self cater if we wanted. And a great breakfast included! Only thing we'd change might have been a table/chairs in room for meals (it had a desk/table but only one chair) but it wasn't a real problem. Give it a try! No gym was made up for by walking into Seminyak

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this reviewResponded 8 January 2014

Dear Mr./Ms. Heather L,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

Thank you very much for taking your valued time to post your review on trip advisor.
I'm very happy to hear that you have a very pleasant stay with us. And also we happy to hear you will book our villa for the next your holiday in Bali, I will share your good comment to all our staff.

Thank you and we look forward to serving you again at our lovely property.

Best Regards,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (393)
There are newer reviews for Astana Kunti
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

227 - 233 of 393 reviews

Reviewed 9 December 2013

We booked a two bedroom apartment. We were a bit hesitant about this having read other reviews about the pool size, however the pool was fine. The staff went out of their way to help. We used the shuttle many times and this never seem to be an issue.
The hotel is a bit out of the way but taxis are so cheap.
The rooms were clean and comfortable.
Breakfast was normally on time, give or take a few minutes and was lovely.
We would defiantly recommend.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
Thank lidfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this reviewResponded 12 December 2013

Dear Mr. Lidfam,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

Thank you for your positive feedback following your recent stay at Astana Kunti .

I was very pleased to hear the details of your comments of what you loved, which will certainly be helpful for our future customer to make decisions about our place.

Thanks again and we hope we will have the pleasure of having you back again soon.

Your sincerely

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Nice large, clean rooms, balcony, minibar with freebies, free airport pickup and dropoff, free shuttle in to Seminyak or closer to Kuta, pleasant pool blessedly out of the sun for most of the day, lots of good cable channels including HBO and breakfast included in the price. Well worth it and the staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. Being away from the beach just means it's quieter - definitely nice to be able to escape the chaos of the town.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hammockdaze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Mr./Ms. Hammockdaze,

Greeting from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

It was a pleasure to read your wonderful review during your stay with us at Astana Kunti.

Thank you from myself and all our team for your very kind and appreciative comments, it is guest satisfaction like this which gives our staff a great deal of positive motivation that their efforts are noticed.

We wish you a pleasant and enjoyable few more days in Bali and we all hope to be able to welcome you in the future.

Best wishes from all our team at Astana Kunti.

Gede Sukanata,
Operational Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2013

The Astana Kunti is a few blocks off a main street in Seminyak. If you're looking to be near the beach, this isn't the place to be. That said, taxis are inexpensive in Bali (if you don't get ripped off), so it's easy to get wherever you want.

The hotel is really a bargain compared to newer/fancier resorts, but you get what you pay for. The property is on the older side, though it's comfortable. It's just not all that nice and the apartment rooms show signs of wear and tear. My friends stayed in the villas and they seemed to be a bit nicer, though of course then you're paying a correspondingly higher rate.

The pool at the hotel was disappointing. The pool itself was not impressive, and the seating areas around it were not comfortable or relaxing.

The hotel doesn't have an on-site spa, but there are many good options nearby and you probably save money from going to a hotel spa. Transportation is usually included by the spas, so I really didn't miss having one at the hotel.

Overall I had a good stay at Astana, but it depends on what you're looking for. I was with friends and barely spent any time at the hotel, so it was fine. If you're looking for a romantic getaway and/or sitting by the beach or pool, this is not the ideal place.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cillierabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this reviewResponded 9 December 2013

Dear Mr./Ms. Cillierabbit

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

We thank you and appreciate your comments on tripadvisor, On behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our 3night stay. The villa room is spacious and very comfortable. The staff is friendly and very helpful. Thanks to guys on reception & also Juliawan . Breakfast is their only challenge as not on time found easier to go order & ask in person. Otherwise - it's wonderful. The hotel also provides services such as scooter rental, free bicycles and great advice for tours.
We enjoyed the time here & look forward to same at Astana Pengembak in Sanur. The villa was mostly clean on checkin but a few items needed attending which on raised all were. Always the staff were friendly and helpful and its fairly close to central Seminyak. Clise to Murano Spa which was a bonus as I frequent this spa over past years if up Seminyak/Legian way whilst in Bali. Astana Kunti isn't a resort style hotel (main pool is quite small) however it's about 10-15 minutes walk. We stayed here for 3 nights in 1 Bed pool villa. The bedroom is separated by pool to kitchenette & sitting area. What I loved was the indoor bathroom with large sunken bath tub but toilet & outdoor shower separate. So in daytime was great to shower outdoor & in evening I preferred to soak in tub :) our private villa pool was always cleaned daily even very late in afternoon which was nice not to woken by room attendants moving about other villas & rooms at 8- 9am. Only complaint is outdoor garden lights are left on all night, a bit annoying given is not block outs on french doors to pool. As said not really in centre of Seminyak, is about 15min walk but guests at Astana Kunti do need to cross very busy Sunset Rd and for people by themselves I definitely wouldn't recommend walking back to the hotel at night by yourself as its only about US$2 by taxi from central Seminyak, very cheap. Hotel dors offer a free shuttle if pre book to Seminyak & legian areas one way only, was handy as we took this option to go about 5ish & first do bit of shopping then dinner after. One night we actually walked from Jalan Laksmana but wouldn't recommend doing this late or alone. Future guests take note is a large hotel well under construction nearby so outside building noise will increase so for those like me you may find Astana Kunti not suitable over coming months. If noise no issue then can highly recommend you try the villas

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vallju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Mr./Ms. Vallju,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

We thank you and appreciate your good comments, On behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We booked a 1 bedroom villa for our minimoon trip to Bali in Oct. I read a lot of reviews before I proceed with the booking as there are so many villas to choose in seminyak area. we were happy that the villa in Astana Kunti turned out to be as lovely as what we've seen in the pictures, the private pool was bigger than I expected. We requested for honeymoon setup so they did put some rose petals on the bed, prepared 2 glasses of house wines & a slice of complimentary honeymoon cake upon our arrival, very nice gesture indeed.

Service was good, but the wifi connection wasn't really stable. Do consider to rent a bike if not you will have a hard time getting around in seminyak area as Astana Kunti is not located at the main street and there's a distance away if you were to walk.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vacationer_F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this reviewResponded 8 December 2013

Dear Mr./Ms. Vacationer_F ,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

We thank you and appreciate your good comments, On behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure and we hope you had memorable stay. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

We stayed in one of the pool villas for 5 nights in November 2013.
Firstly i will say they are as they are seen in pics... Clean and modern. Our private Pool was great... Nice temp (not to hot or cold) and a good size. I loved the outside living room and bathroom and actually missed it when we moved to our next hotel! Air con in bedroom was good and bed was really comfy. Breakfast was good and there was an ok choice. Staff were all friendly and helpfull. I thought the hotel was very good value for money. As for the insects i was worried about this but really they are NOT a problem. You are in Bali so you are going to have them, just try to forget about them! Staff came around every evening to fumigate and light a new coil. We both really liked this villa and enjoyed our time here, the only downside i have about it is the location. We hired a scooter so it was not an issue for us, but i could see it being a pain if you had to get a taxi EVERY DAY, although they are sooooo cheap! We never felt unsafe and i would definatly use hotel again if i return to Bali.
Thanks Astana Kunti!x

Room Tip: Villa for sure!!!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank little_vic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AstanaGroup, Manager at Astana Kunti, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2013

Dear Mr./Ms. Little_vic,

Greetings from Astana Kunti Suite Apartment and Villa..

We thank you and appreciate your good comments, On behalf of management and staff we would like to thank you for staying with us during your recent trip to Bali. It was a pleasure hearing your loved our villa and we hope you had memorable stay. As time goes by, we look forward to welcoming and serving you again in nearest future.

Yours sincerely,

Gede Sukanata.
Operational Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
1.5 mi away
Astana Seminyak Villas
Astana Seminyak Villas
#118 of 147 in Seminyak
6 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kunti Villas
Kunti Villas
#107 of 147 in Seminyak
114 reviews
7.6 mi away
Amaroossa Suite Bali
Amaroossa Suite Bali
#50 of 54 in Nusa Dua
272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Astana Batubelig Villas
Astana Batubelig Villas
#122 of 421 in Seminyak
233 reviews
0.1 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#7 of 116 in Seminyak
305 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Tukad Villa
The Tukad Villa
#80 of 421 in Seminyak
109 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Astana Kunti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Astana Kunti

Address: Jl. Dewi Saraswati III no. 39, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range: £24 - £92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Astana Kunti 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located down a remote passageway in the sophisticated Seminyak, the upscale and classy part of Bali, partly surrounded by rice paddy field beyond the banana cluster and designed with modern minimalist style and assembled around community pool and tropical landscaped garden of scattered Frangipani trees. Astana Kunti Suite Apartment & Villa is a fine-composition of 28 suite apartment and 19 villas that securely located in Seminyak area; where the essence of cosmopolitan style in the full swing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Astana Kunti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Astana Kunti Hotel Seminyak
Astana Kunti Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing