We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bliss”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Willunga, Australia
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Bliss”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just spent five days at this fabulous hotel and we can't fault it. This was our second stay. Breakfast is fabulous and there is much variety as the choices are changed daily. Our room was amazing - overlooking the beach with a king sized bed and a huge room with large bathroom and very close to the pool and day lounges. Staff are fantastic and very attentive. I emailed the hotel before we arrived to let them know it was a special occasion. On arrival, we were greeted with a home made cake and canapés. It was the perfect start to a lovely stay. They have introduced a daily aqua gym class which is a most welcome addition as it is one thing I thought the hotel needed - some form of water activity - this is perfect but perhaps it could be a little better advertised as I think some people may not know it exists.

The worst thing about this hotel is having to check out - we just wanted a few more days!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank RachelNT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 December 2013
Dear RachelNT,

Thank you for choosing our resort again last November

It is pleasing to read your positive insight regarding our resort and our hospitality service. We are committed to always improve all aspects of our resort including our property and service quality and we are glad that our hard efforts are well recognized.

Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in our resort

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,919 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,295
    437
    110
    46
    31
See reviews for
280
1,122
83
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (520)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

We just spent 3 wonderful days at the Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa,wonderful service, great rooms spotless clean, wonderful massages, the staff couldn't help enough. Gym was great, aqua aerobics was well run and fun... the swim up beach was great... pool side service was exceptional

Room Tip: Beach wing... ground floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SandraBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear SandraBowden,

Thank you for taking the time to share this review of your recent stay with us. I'm extremely delighted that you had enjoyed such a memorable experience and your generous comments about the service and facilities are highly appreciated.

We hope your memorable experience will bring you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for special deal.

Kind regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Syracuse, New York
Level Contributor
236 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

Although a bit pricey this place was worth it. The grounds are breathtaking, rooms nice and service above average.
Great location on the beach and best breakfast buffet so far, everything was fresh, tasty and beautifully displayed.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
5 Thank AlamosJude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 25 November 2013
Dear AlamosJude,

Thank you for posting your review regarding your recent stay with us.

We are happy to read that your stay was enjoyable and that you found our breakfast as the best so far. We are also glad that our hard efforts to provide you with the excellent hospitality are well recognized.

Looking forward to welcome you back in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for special deal.

Kind regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We recently stayed at The Seminyak for a 5 night short break. I have to say that all of the staff we encountered were courteous and friendly right from our pick up at the airport.

Positives:
Our Ocean View room was worthwhile – a far better option than staying across the road. It provided a pleasing place to while away an afternoon. Although, our room did face directly west, so we had to abandon the balcony once the afternoon sun arrived until the early evening otherwise we would have been roasted. Perhaps some sort of roll down shade or an umbrella on these west-facing balconies would be an idea. The ocean view rooms facing across would be more pleasing for those like us wishing to use the balcony.

We were impressed with the array of towel animals that appeared on a daily basis from housekeeping. We began to wonder if it was a skill requirement for employment!

We also liked the in-house restaurant, and were amazed that more guests didn’t dine here beyond breakfast. We had lunch and dinner there on a couple of occasions and the food choice was good and presentation very modern.

The pool adjacent to the pool bar was great, as was the pool bar. This area is also a great spot to watch the sun go down with a beverage in hand.

The garden cabanas were a nice way to relax in the middle of the day.

The poolside cabanas were also pleasant – IF YOU COULD GET ONE!

Now comes my negative comments:
The management of the pool area needs improvement. In particular, the use of the cabanas. There are three in place. Our best example of how this area is NOT managed was the afternoon we spent in and around the pool watching this cabana with personal effects sitting in it, but no people. Two girls returned mid-afternoon after parking their items in a cabana mid-morning. They had obviously been shopping at the markets and were gone for a few hours. During this time, we could have utilised the cabana. This was repeated the following day, when we saw a couple appearing to pack up but when we headed over they said, ‘oh we’re just going to lunch.’ They were gone at least two hours and then the husband made a point of telling us when he was leaving.

In the room, you might want to get some instructions on how to get the shower tap to work efficiently. The control tap was awkward at best and the hottest shower I managed was lukewarm.

You also might want to take some ear plugs. Whilst it was nice to return to a cool air conditioned room in the afternoon, the air conditioning itself is quite noisy. We had to have our vent fixed to remove an annoying rattle. Also, the traffic noise is fairly constant until late, so if you’re a light sleeper, be warned.

Overall, we enjoyed our stay at The Seminyak. It was just unfortunate that the selfish actions of a few other guests left a bad taste in our mouth.

Room Tip: Ocean view rooms NOT facing directly west.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Tracois29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear Tracois29,

I am delighted to hear of your exceptional experience in our hotel recently and appreciate the details you have outlined. I have taken note of the issues, and will work with the team to improve upon our property and experiences.

Hope you will allow us another opportunity to give you a better experience in the future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for further assistance.

Kind regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was my 2nd stay here, I stayed last year with girlfriends and returned this year with my husband. They upgraded us to a suite, overlooking the garden, and we had a magnificent view of the ocean waves. The service was unbelievably friendly and efficient, nothing was a problem. We accidentally left our safe open one day when we went out; when they discovered this, the cleaning staff called reception, who came up and closed it for us, not a cent was taken, this is how honest their staff are!!
The rooms are really beautiful, clean and large!! The bed is really comfortable. The infinity pool and the pool next to the bar with the private cabana's that surround the pool are to die for.
Since the hotel resort is not incredibly large in size, (compared to the W), the staff gets to know you and your needs, very quickly.
The hotel, organised a complimentary cocktail evening, (which has never happened in the 20 years of our travels), it turned out to be a really lovely evening, meeting like minded people staying at the resort and watching the sunset!! Our flight home, was late in the evening, so the hotel allowed us to use the facilities all day and treated us as if we were still booked into the hotel. They also organised for us to shower and get ready for our trip home in their beautiful wellness spa's guest bathroom (huge) and organised a hair-dryer and a curling wand to use. It was a great end to our trip, with no extra charge!!

Room Tip: Spend a little extra to get the beach view room or the beach suites!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MaryD1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear MaryD1976,

Thank you for sharing your memorable experience with us.

We are so happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and glad to know that our staffs had extended an exemplary level of personalised service to you during your time with us.

We do hope to welcome you again in the future, please do not hesitate to contact us directly should you need further assistance.

Kind regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

This was the most expensive hotel we stayed at in bali and our least favorite by far- here is why.

The good:
Rooms- very nice with lots of amenities

Pool- huge and gorgeous with enough chairs to suit everyone and a great view of the beach

Location- great and close enough to walk to most great restaurants within 10 min

The not so good:
Hotel grounds-
Landscaping was basic for such a nice hotel. No lush plants or fauna, just trimmed grass. No wow factor at all- which in this price bracket and for beautiful bali was really unimpressive.

Layout:
This hotel sits on a beautiful beachfront property but is laid out poorly so you can barely see the ocean unless you are at the pool. Not from breakfast or most of the outdoor cabanas or almost anywhere on the property - just odd. The hotels best feature is barely featured and the general layout was not well thought out. This added to the sterile feel and lack of tropical ambiance.

Breakfast:
Just ok, we had some terrific breakfasts in bali but this one (included in our stay) was just mediocre. An unacceptable amount of ants crawling on the pastries and just middle of the road food, although they did have a large selection.

Prices:
We were happy to splurge on a great hotel, but were largely unimpressed and very much preferred alam shanti in ubud and qunci villas on lombok (both priced much lower) compared to this hotel. Also, the massage prices here were fairly ridiculous for bali. When a shop massage runs 10$/hr and we were happy to pay 20-30$/ hr at our other hotels - for a cleaner more trained staff- 80$/hr that the seminyak charges in bali just means you are being ripped off. We didn't use the spa since we were put off by the prices.

Totally unacceptable:
Theft:
One afternoon while on a day trip for 8 hours we returned to find our safe open and 100$ missing.
I can't say whether we left it open or someone opened it. We are usually careful, but either way it is completely unacceptable for a hotel this expensive to have staff that steals. I reported it to the front desk who seemed completely not upset or apologetic and said they would inform the manager, who never contacted me. Upon checkout that same day, the manger was called over and apologized a little, but I was honestly expecting much more shame or something ( I never expected the money back- duh).... But either this happens all the time or they just had no idea how to handle it. Was offered a free ride to the airport, but I would have much rather had a profuse apology- so unacceptable.

Overview:
The only thing that makes this hotel great is the pool. It is highly over priced for the ambiance it provides and we wish we would have chosen somewhere else. Just felt sterile and unimpressive and for over 300$ a night we wanted to be wowed- which happened for 200$/night at our other choices. And on top of that, they have staff that steals. Can't recommend.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank littlebunny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 22 November 2013
Dear littlebunny76,

Thank you for taking your time to write us your recent experience in our resort.

I am sorry to hear that your stay was not as you had hoped, I am disappointed to learn that we have failed on this occasion. I will discuss your observations and issues with the team to improve on the various areas of concern.

However, please allow us to clarify the theft issue which was alleged on your review. Immediately after your report, we did the investigation and there was no proof that your money had been stolen by our staff. Our Safety Deposit Box is available for our guest in the room and secured by PIN which only known by the guest him/her self.

Thank you very much for your stay with us, please do not hesitate to contact us should you need any further assistance.

Best regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ballarat, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 November 2013

This was our first trip to Bali and to be honest we were a little shocked at how bad the streets etc were but this resort is quite an oasis from the craziness of seminyak! We travelled with two teenagers and booked two beach rooms which were interconnecting. They were in a lovely spot amongst the manicured gardens very close to the beach and pool area. These rooms were very well appointed and very spacious. The only downfall, which did surprise us for a "five star" resort was the cleanliness was not up to scratch, the first thing I noticed was the bathroom floor had stains on it and especially around the toilet, yuk!
The staff were quite friendly and helpful.
The pool is the main feature and runs along the beach (which is horrible, dirty, open drains and rubbish running into the ocean) we did not even paddle in the dirty ocean and could only walk about 500m each way along the beach before having to cross a filthy stream of sewerage running across the sand into the sea.
If you are looking for a nice beach, go elsewhere.
The buffet breakfast served was included in our room rate and was quite nice, you can order a variety of cooked items, eggs, waffles, pancakes etc. lots of fruit, pastries etc.
All in all a nice resort, possibly more four star not five and quite expensive.

Room Tip: Go for the beach rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 14 November 2013
Dear Suzy F,

Thank you for taking your time to write us the review of your stay in September,

We appreciate the feedback you have provided and will work with the team to improve the cleanliness in the room. The sewage however, was not coming from the hotel as we are having our own sewage treatment plants.

We hope to welcome you back to our resort and please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beeach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,088 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,453 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#24 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 775 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#11 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,567 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#6 of 143 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#26 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#27 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seminyak is stylish beachfront resort that represents a new era in Bali's evolving hospitality industry. The property is all about tropical sophistication with a choice of elegantly appointed guest rooms, suites and villas designed to accommodate the needs of today's savvy travelers. Set within a charming landscape that encompasses native greenery, lily ponds and traditional thatched pavilions.The Seminyak is a modern retreat with distinct Balinese touches that provides a welcome escape from the outside world. A signature brand of hospitality together with heartfelt service promises a truly unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seminyak Beach Hotel Seminyak
The Seminyak Beach Resort And Spa
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing