We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Paradise at the pool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Ranked #29 of 143 Hotels in Seminyak
Zoeterwoude, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Paradise at the pool”
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The last 6 nights of our 14-day holiday to Bali we spent in The Seminyak. We had a beach-wing room and enjoyed our stay very much.

Higlights of our stay were the beautiful pool, with fine food and drinks provided by the staff (Love the 'Lost in paradise'-cocktail). A big compliment goes to all the staff who were always very welcoming, kind and happy to make the stay a perfect one. A special compliment I would like to make to the Security staff. Being strict towards the taxi's that brought us back to the hotel (bomb check and booth-check), while in the mean time they were very welcoming to us with genuine big smiles.

Our room was spacious and luxurious. Extra towel change during the day was very much appreciated. One small remark: on arriving we were asked if we wanted an upgrade to a villa. The receptionist would make us a proposition the next morning, but never did. Because we liked our room (and prices are pretty high for our standard) we never got back to the subject ourselves. On the good side: We got a late check-out for free.

The last day we spent at the beautiful pool, feeling in paradise and a bit gloomy at the same time for having to leave Bali.....

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petra_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Petra-vandeberg,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with us.

I am happy to know that you had a most enriching and relaxing experience during your stay, It is also pleasing to learn that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and facilities and we are delighted to learn that our team looked after you very well.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,994 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,357
    447
    113
    46
    31
See reviews for
290
1,171
86
39
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (536)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at The Seminyak for 9 nights. When we checked in they offered us an upgrade to a suite, however we liked the garden room layout better so decided against paying for the upgrade to ocean view. The room was quiet and clean and comfortable, especially the bed.
The staff are friendly and helpful however the resort standards and systems let the Resort down. House keeping staff never left the same bathroom towels, sometimes we had too much other times not enough, there seemed to be not standard set up for rooms. My pet hate in hotels is when the house keeping staff move personal toiletries as I consider the room my home when I am travelling and that should be respected by cleaning staff.
The pool area is not serviced well and there are no offers of water, cool towels etc as you recieve at the W, Oberoi and Legian Resort. It's the small things that let the Seminyak down but they add up to be big and annoying. We did let the management know and the sent us a bucket of bintang beer (we dont drink beer) but it was nice thought. They also offered a free upgrade to a suite which we declined again until someone checked into the garden room next door to ours. The garden rooms have adjoining doors and you can hear everything from the room next door. So for the last two nights we moved to the ocean suite which was not as nice as the garden room. The veranda is very small in the suite and the bathroom is massive but completely open to the bedroom plus there is this dreadful carving that surrounds the door as you walk in to the room and it is dangerous, serves no purpose and ideal to walk into or bag your head, plus annoying with luggage and for tall people. The road noise is loud and constant from the ocean suits/rooms and there has been no care to sound proof.
There is also dreadful, depressing music that is played throughout the hallways at the resort that sounds like funeral music with the same song on repeat, not ideal for a tropical holiday.
We liked the location of the Seminyak but for the price would go back to the W Retreat, Oberoi or The Legian - we wanted to try it as it's a pretty resort nice gardens. Our tip stay in the garden room as they are quieter if there is an empty room next door.
Friendly, helpful staff but suggest the management go and check out their competition at the W Retreat as they have great service, standards and systems which makes a difference to guest stay. I have worked in hotel management so know where The Seminyak is going wrong.
I don't think we would stay at The Seminyak unless they improved as it lets the Resort down.

Room Tip: Ocean Suits - you can hear the constant traffic from the road Book a Garden Room they have a better...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank weTrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear weTrave1,

Thank you for taking you time to share your experience with us.

We sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience with us. We are most concerned about your comments and experience with us, which are certainly not in line with our standards, which we try so hard to maintain. We appreciate your constructive comments as we continuously look for ways to improve the resort.

We hope you will grant us another opportunity to extend the true hospitality experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should we can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed @ The Seminyak Beach Resort for a couple of nights and was a ho-hum ok stay! Nothing great at all! The staff very helpful and always smiling and the food was excellent and moderately priced - well it's about that! The rooms are quite spacious and well furnished and maintained, but the fun stops there.

Drawbacks -
1. No play area to keep the kids busy. Resort not meant if you want your kid to play on their own, away from the sea and beach.
2. No provision from hotel for beach umbrellas and chairs on the beach - even though it is a "beach resort" very much "on the beach". I just did not get the logic behind this.
3. The resort has 2 buildings with a public road running in between. There is a USD100 /night/room difference between the main building and the adjacent building - a bit crazy!
4. Secondary building on the road and ground floor rooms not comfortable due to traffic noise.
5. We had AC problem in the room and it took them almost 2 hours to fix it. Honestly they could hardly fix it in the end! :-(

Room Tip: NOTE: This resort has two buildings. So when booking, make sure you are booking rooms in the main bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Arindam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Arindam D,

Thank you for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate your kind words concerning our staff and the breakfast, and also value your feedback regarding hotel facilities and services. We have noted all your feedback and will work with the team to improve in various area concerned.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our resort and please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guernsey Channel Islands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was fantastic, got upgraded to a seaview suite with spa, great view, the pool was fantastic, we were there for the religious day which was very interesting no-one on the beach not even a dog, had a lovely day breakfast late then relaxing pedicure in the spa drinks at sunset, then room service, no noise no lights so peaceful. loved everything about the place, staff are great cannot do enough for you, highly recommend, also not too many children as the pool is nice and deep.

Room Tip: I love a sea view recommend the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Michelle M,

Thank you for taking your precious time to share us your experience.

We are extremely delighted you had a fabulous stay with us and glad that your stay during Nyepi (Silent Day) was enjoyable.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Seminyak helped us have a marvelous honeymoon! The staff is so gracious and pleasant and willing to help! They booked us ample local sightseeing expeditions, brought us great food room service at all hours of the night, and decorated our honeymoon suite with rose petals which really made the bride's night! The free cocktail hour on Thursday evening was awesome, as was the daily breakfasts with awesome food choices from Germany to Thailand and Korea and everywhere in between. Any time we wanted to go out at weird jet-lagged hours of the night, they were able to find us a place and get us transport there. At one point my wife got sick and they helped us get her some medicine at no time also. This is a great place with the nicest staff I have ever seen!

Room Tip: Make sure you mention you're there for a honeymoon if you are
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcantilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear mcantilo,

Thank you for sharing this glowing review of your honeymoon stay with us.

We are most delighted to know that you had enjoyed your time with us - your compliments for our team is much appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014 via mobile

Tourists who will make online booking please be careful about the differences between beach view rooms and garden view rooms. The garden view rooms are situated in an annexe building opposite side of the road far from beach. You have to cross the road everytime you want to come to the main complex and the beach. They have only a small swimming pool inside the annexe building, nothing else. The rooms are road view, not garden view. If you want to change to beach view, you have to pay $100 extra.

Apart from that, during the 2nd night of our stay, the aircondition suddenly stopped working. After making complains twice, that was rectified to some extent. The breakfast was horrible though there were lots of varieties. Drinks and foods were overpriced compare to other hotels of Bali.
In a word, it is not a good hotel as it claims itself.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LNDANA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, General Manager at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear LNDANA,

Thank you for sharing your feedback here on TripAdvisor.

I am extremely disturbed to learn of your unpleasant stay with us and please accept my sincere apologies for a less than a satisfactory experience.

The location of our Garden Wing has been clearly communicated to travel partners as well thru the hotel website in order to avoid guest's disappointment. Please be assured that we take all feedback as opportunities to review and improve our shortcomings.

We certainly hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back and I will personally assist you on your future booking.

Kind regards,
Sebastien Marteau
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Lincoln, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014

Having just recently stayed at The Seminyak Resort & Spa, March 2014, I must say we were so so disappointed! Of course there are positives, the infinity pool right on the beach was amazing and a place you could spend many lazy days :) Our Room, a suite, which we paid close to $600 a night for was very beautiful on first inspection, a large spacious luxurious suite, with another large huge bathroom attached ! But within an hour of arriving, a terrible smell seemed to dissipate thru the air vents into our room. Having travelled thru Bali before we are accustomed to a few odd smells around the place but this was putrid! Having left for dinner we left the doors open in a hope to get rid of the smell. We came home and started to run our spa bath and the smell of the water was enough to turn the strongest of stomachs!!! Vomit worthy I assure you :( We rang and spoke to management and they said they would send someone straight up, we went to turn on the Kettle and wait but the kettle did not work another call !! 45mins later someone came up to check the smell, apologetic but their solution was to hang air freshener sachets in front of the air vents!!! (Something tells me this is not an unusual complaint they get as they were so casual about it) An hour and a half later we received a new kettle! The smell got worse thru the night in fact it was so bad it woke us up numerous times during the night, the next morning it was unbearable and once again we went down and spoke to management, they said sorry but only offered us a free transfer to the airport the following evening for our troubles. (Wow save us a whole $8 !!! Max) We spent close to $1200 on 2 nights accommodation for a room we couldn't spend any time in, with what we consider very bad management skills. If your looking for a place that offers a delicious breakfast, this is not the hotel for you, the juices and water are warm with practically no traditional Balinese style foods offered. All in all they are only getting 2 stars and they are both for the pool area! There is nothing else we found positive about this property, and we have travelled a lot in and out of Australia and we have stayed in many places, many that have cost us a lot less than this with a lot less star rating and they have truly outshone this property and the service offered by far!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Trudy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.7 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#19 of 143 in Seminyak
3,223 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 143 in Seminyak
1,494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 143 in Seminyak
873 reviews
0.8 mi away
Double-Six Luxury Hotel Seminyak
0.2 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#9 of 143 in Seminyak
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa

Property: The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Address: Jl. Kayu Aya | Seminyak Beach, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Seminyak
#11 Family Hotel in Seminyak
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Seminyak
#18 Romantic Hotel in Seminyak
#26 Spa Hotel in Seminyak
#28 Luxury Hotel in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Seminyak is stylish beachfront resort that represents a new era in Bali's evolving hospitality industry. The property is all about tropical sophistication with a choice of elegantly appointed guest rooms, suites and villas designed to accommodate the needs of today's savvy travelers. Set within a charming landscape that encompasses native greenery, lily ponds and traditional thatched pavilions.The Seminyak is a modern retreat with distinct Balinese touches that provides a welcome escape from the outside world. A signature brand of hospitality together with heartfelt service promises a truly unrivaled experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Travelbag, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Seminyak Beach Hotel Seminyak
The Seminyak Beach Resort And Spa
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing