We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Legian Bali(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
The Oberoi Bali(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,223)
Filter reviews
2,223 results
Traveller rating
1,531
483
122
52
35
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,531
483
122
52
35
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolgarden wingthe main hotelseminyak beachocean viewour honeymoonswim up baramazing hotelan upgradepotato headmain poolwatch the sunsetbuffet breakfastturn down servicerestaurants and shopsbalikudeta
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,560 - 1,565 of 2,223 reviews
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Overall, our experience at the Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa was good. Location was fantastic! We were essentially 2 minutes away from Ku De Ta! Room was clean and spacious and staff were very friendly. We stayed for 2 nights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JANE S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear JANE S,

We absolutely love your complimentary review and thank you for taking the time to share it here on TripAdvisor.

We are indeed privileged to be located at the heart of Seminyak area. I am glad to hear that you had enjoyed the experience and appreciate your compliments for our team.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

We stayed at The Seminyak for one luxurious Saturday night in April 2014. Through booking online, we were offered a free upgrade to the Suite Ocean Room which was one of the most beautiful hotel rooms I've stayed in. Very clean, smart and spacious layout, beautiful view over the restaurant rooftops to the ocean, two flatscreen televisions(!), a gorgeous jacuzzi and private balcony. We were blown away!

In the afternoon of the first day we walked south along the beach. After walking past all the other resorts, we knew we had chosen the best. It is one of the only resorts that doesn't have a beachfront full of those horrid red beach umbrellas (i.e. eyesores). So basically, you have a fantastic view of the beach and sea from the pools.

There are two lovely pools (one with a pool bar) and after our swim on the last day, a pool staff member came around offering everyone complimentary fruit kebabs!

I highly recommend dinner at the beachfront Santan Restaurant, which is part of the resort, as it serves delicious food (and as a vegetarian, I was surprised to have so much choice) and has such a great atmosphere.

The buffet breakfast was an incredible with foods from all nations. I'd never thought I'd see sushi, chocolate croissants and a pancake & waffle station all in one spread. One of the best breakfast buffets I've ever seen.

The staff also need a special mention. Everyone was friendly, helpful and obliging.

Such a fantastic stay overall. I would highly recommend staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Although we were upgraded, so I never got to see the Room Beach Wing, the Suite Ocean Room was just amazing. I was happy with second level, but I think fussier guests paying for the same standard of room would want third level which has a better view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Tara B,

Thank you for sharing such a glowing review of your stay with us.

We are most delighted to know that you enjoyed your time with us, your compliments for our team is very much appreciated.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

The last 6 nights of our 14-day holiday to Bali we spent in The Seminyak. We had a beach-wing room and enjoyed our stay very much.

Higlights of our stay were the beautiful pool, with fine food and drinks provided by the staff (Love the 'Lost in paradise'-cocktail). A big compliment goes to all the staff who were always very welcoming, kind and happy to make the stay a perfect one. A special compliment I would like to make to the Security staff. Being strict towards the taxi's that brought us back to the hotel (bomb check and booth-check), while in the mean time they were very welcoming to us with genuine big smiles.

Our room was spacious and luxurious. Extra towel change during the day was very much appreciated. One small remark: on arriving we were asked if we wanted an upgrade to a villa. The receptionist would make us a proposition the next morning, but never did. Because we liked our room (and prices are pretty high for our standard) we never got back to the subject ourselves. On the good side: We got a late check-out for free.

The last day we spent at the beautiful pool, feeling in paradise and a bit gloomy at the same time for having to leave Bali.....

Room Tip: Beach side rooms are well worth the extra money.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Petra_voyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Petra-vandeberg,

Thank you for taking some of your precious time to share your experience with us.

I am happy to know that you had a most enriching and relaxing experience during your stay, It is also pleasing to learn that you enjoyed the hotel atmosphere and facilities and we are delighted to learn that our team looked after you very well.

We look forward to welcome you back to our resort, please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed at The Seminyak for 9 nights. When we checked in they offered us an upgrade to a suite, however we liked the garden room layout better so decided against paying for the upgrade to ocean view. The room was quiet and clean and comfortable, especially the bed.
The staff are friendly and helpful however the resort standards and systems let the Resort down. House keeping staff never left the same bathroom towels, sometimes we had too much other times not enough, there seemed to be not standard set up for rooms. My pet hate in hotels is when the house keeping staff move personal toiletries as I consider the room my home when I am travelling and that should be respected by cleaning staff.
The pool area is not serviced well and there are no offers of water, cool towels etc as you recieve at the W, Oberoi and Legian Resort. It's the small things that let the Seminyak down but they add up to be big and annoying. We did let the management know and the sent us a bucket of bintang beer (we dont drink beer) but it was nice thought. They also offered a free upgrade to a suite which we declined again until someone checked into the garden room next door to ours. The garden rooms have adjoining doors and you can hear everything from the room next door. So for the last two nights we moved to the ocean suite which was not as nice as the garden room. The veranda is very small in the suite and the bathroom is massive but completely open to the bedroom plus there is this dreadful carving that surrounds the door as you walk in to the room and it is dangerous, serves no purpose and ideal to walk into or bag your head, plus annoying with luggage and for tall people. The road noise is loud and constant from the ocean suits/rooms and there has been no care to sound proof.
There is also dreadful, depressing music that is played throughout the hallways at the resort that sounds like funeral music with the same song on repeat, not ideal for a tropical holiday.
We liked the location of the Seminyak but for the price would go back to the W Retreat, Oberoi or The Legian - we wanted to try it as it's a pretty resort nice gardens. Our tip stay in the garden room as they are quieter if there is an empty room next door.
Friendly, helpful staff but suggest the management go and check out their competition at the W Retreat as they have great service, standards and systems which makes a difference to guest stay. I have worked in hotel management so know where The Seminyak is going wrong.
I don't think we would stay at The Seminyak unless they improved as it lets the Resort down.

Room Tip: Ocean Suits - you can hear the constant traffic from the road Book a Garden Room they have a better layout and quieter
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank weTrave1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear weTrave1,

Thank you for taking you time to share your experience with us.

We sincerely apologize for your disappointing experience with us. We are most concerned about your comments and experience with us, which are certainly not in line with our standards, which we try so hard to maintain. We appreciate your constructive comments as we continuously look for ways to improve the resort.

We hope you will grant us another opportunity to extend the true hospitality experience. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly should we can be of any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed @ The Seminyak Beach Resort for a couple of nights and was a ho-hum ok stay! Nothing great at all! The staff very helpful and always smiling and the food was excellent and moderately priced - well it's about that! The rooms are quite spacious and well furnished and maintained, but the fun stops there.

Drawbacks -
1. No play area to keep the kids busy. Resort not meant if you want your kid to play on their own, away from the sea and beach.
2. No provision from hotel for beach umbrellas and chairs on the beach - even though it is a "beach resort" very much "on the beach". I just did not get the logic behind this.
3. The resort has 2 buildings with a public road running in between. There is a USD100 /night/room difference between the main building and the adjacent building - a bit crazy!
4. Secondary building on the road and ground floor rooms not comfortable due to traffic noise.
5. We had AC problem in the room and it took them almost 2 hours to fix it. Honestly they could hardly fix it in the end! :-(

Room Tip: NOTE: This resort has two buildings. So when booking, make sure you are booking rooms in the main building which is beside the beach and has excellent view. Other one is also not bad - in fact a lot bit cheaper than the main building. The secondary building is just a stone throw away across the road but the traffic noise makes sleeping in the night difficult.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Arindam D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheSeminyak, The Management at The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Arindam D,

Thank you for sharing your review here on TripAdvisor.

We truly appreciate your kind words concerning our staff and the breakfast, and also value your feedback regarding hotel facilities and services. We have noted all your feedback and will work with the team to improve in various area concerned.

Looking forward to welcome you back to our resort and please do not hesitate to contact us directly at reservation@theseminyak.com for any assistance.

Warm regards,
The Seminyak Beach Resort and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews