We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Umalas Hotel and Residence
Ranked #117 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good value hotel”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

THe hotel is nice and clean, staff are very friendly. I paid $140 for a 3 bed room Vila, the vila has a living room, cooking facility and three bed rooms. There are two bathrooms, but no bathtub, a small balcony. THe breakfast is western style, with sausage, baken, bread, juice, fruit, vege, the room fee has 6 free breakfast.

The roof top has good view, very nice.

Only pity is that there is not enough hangers, there is one laundry place just opposite to the hotel with very low price. There are two 24 hour 7-11 type of stores nearby.

The place is around 1.5 hour from Ubud, so not so convenient in terms of location

Room Tip: For vila, two rooms only have double beds, so not so convenient if you have young kids that you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ketty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ula M, Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Ketty W,
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments. We are very happy hearing you love our staff. Regarding the hangers, we do apologize to inform you regarding on our standard to put 3 hangers per room. Furthermore, if our guests need more hangers we are available to provide it. We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again".


Best Regards,
Team Umalas Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    115
    49
    22
    9
See reviews for
81
49
14
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights with the 'ourdeal' voucher - and definitely exceeded expectations! Stayed in a 2 bedroom superior, which was clean and spacious. The bathroom looked and smelt interesting at times, but with a little air freshener it was fine. The staff are friendly and helpful, both at reception and at the restaurant. The food served at the restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) had a good range of Asian and Western food that was quite tasty.The spa treatments were relaxing and worth the price, and the pool area was modern and clean. The daily room service was thorough and reliable - very very clean! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a quiet location! All 4 of us had a fantastic time here.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Eboney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus S, Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Eboney L,

On behalf of the entire team of Umalas Hotel and Residence we would like to thank you very much for visiting us and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to other visitors in Umalas,Seminyak-Bali.

We are really happy to read your review as the title "Awesome hotel; had a fantastic experience wonderful service would recommend to anyone” . It could give the team great pleasure and improve our service per day. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Team Umalas Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nice quite location, friendly staff willing to help with anything you need. Very clean and tidy hotel, great facilities. Good sized and layout of rooms.And had an extensive range of meals available. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jdcearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus S, Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Dear Jdcearth,

On behalf of the entire team of Umalas Hotel and Residence we would like to thank you very much for visiting us and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to other visitors in Umalas,Seminyak-Bali.

We are really happy to read you enjoyed your stay and staff's service at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Team Umalas Hotel and Residence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bali, Indonesia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on our first leg. its good value for money for what you get. Staff were nice and always Helpful which was nice. Bathroom smelt like sewerage often which wasn't pleasant. Rooms and especially bathroom was dimly lit and to be honest I didn't feel comfortable showering without my thongs as I could tell it wasn't super clean. Breakfast is a surprise on the rooftop and a big range of choice to choose from. Had a massage which was really nice and would recommend and the pool is a good place to relax without being too crowded. Location is ok.... not central to anything but a cheap cab drive is fine!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Harmonyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed here on my first visit to Bali, it is a 15 minute plus trip in to the heart of Kuta from the hotel it isn't to hard to grab a taxi but a little bit of a nuisance.

The hotel itself seems a little aged, the rooms are nothing to rave about quite small and the bathroom isn't the world's best. The view from the rooms are below average its either another room or an empty field with cows. If you plan on just using your hotel as a place to crash and sleep then this place will work for you but if you want to spend a lot of time hanging out at the hotel maybe look for somewhere else.

The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfast on the roof top was nice with a wide Varity of food choices.

So if you want a hotel purely to come back to and sleep at and don't mind a 15 minute taxi ride to get there this place is nice and cheap if not I'd look for some where else

Room Tip: From all the other reviews all I can say is make sure your room is not near the pool pump
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank morgan d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel was nice, clean, simple in style and design but not lack in furniture and basic amenities. We stayed on 2 bedrooms which could cater up to 5 pax (2 adults with 3 children). However, the bathroom was only one and too small in comparison to the whole place. The breakfast was ok, and i like the rooftop resto which we could see the paddy terrace next to the building. The rooftop resto setting was giving off friendly and romantic atmosphere as well. the pool was ok too

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fsien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

location: this place is in quite a rural area but its about 10-15 mins from seminyak. hotel does provide shuttle but we did not use it. its ok if you have already hired a driver. the advantage is that is quiet and away from the hustle bustle of the city :) another advantage is that there is a gelato cafe (Gusto gelato & cafe) just two minutes by foot away!

rooms: we booked a two room apartment. was clean & cozy, beds were comfortable. was abit small but we did not really mind. towels provided were really old though, would be good if they could replace them. we had a nice view of the pool from our room.

service: service was good, staff at the reception desk were nice and helpful.

food: had breakfast at the roof top, interesting place but can get a little hot. food was the average fare but they did change some things daily.

spa: we only choose to have our massage here due to convinience. wouldn't really recommend it. was not worth the money, im sure there are other better spa for that price :(

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChingM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.6 mi away
favehotel Umalas
favehotel Umalas
#82 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
Pandawa All Suite Hotel
#17 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kokonut Suites
Kokonut Suites
#3 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harris Hotel Seminyak
Harris Hotel Seminyak
#59 of 144 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Adma Umalas
The Adma Umalas
#12 of 35 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
1.8 mi away
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
Seminyak Lagoon All Suites
#9 of 107 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 292 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Umalas Hotel and Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Umalas Hotel and Residence

Property: Umalas Hotel and Residence
Address: Jl.Umalas II, No 83, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 416 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Umalas Hotel and Residence 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Umalas Hotel and Residence is a resort located in a peaceful area surrounded by natural legendary rice fields of Kerobokan or within minutes away from up market of Seminyak shopping centre, where famous restaurants, bars and shopping arcade are available. Umalas Hotel and Residence is easily reached by 35 minutes drive away from Ngurah Rai International Airport, while the resort is situated at tranquil yet divertissement area which offers distance of only 5 minutes to the heart of Seminyak, 10 minutes to Kuta beach, 25 minutes to Capital City, Denpasar and 40 minutes to popular Ubud. A 102 spacious rooms complemented by the comfort of luxury amenities await you at Umalas Hotel and Residence where a collection of self indulgence of suites rooms incorporated with greenery environment and busiest street of Kerobokan, Kuta, is the most exciting moments that you will not miss even for a while when in Bali island.Umalas Hotel and Residence offers One Bedroom Suites, Two Bedroom Superior, Two Bedroom Penthouse, Two Bedrooms Deluxe, Three Bedrooms Superior, Three Bedrooms Penthouse, Three Bedroom Deluxe and Luxury penthouse. All those suite rooms are completed with modern facilities and amenities including kitchenette and pantry, spacious living rooms, wide LCD TV at both living rooms and in main bedrooms and safe deposit boxes. Whole unit types are comfortably accommodating those on romantic honeymoon journey, catering to families, and business people with the needs of generous modern living suites. Our facilities will be fulfilling your expectations for a fine dining restaurant and spacious main pool, sauna and hot cold Jacuzzi, spa treatments, completed gym equipment and a scheduled shuttle services that are available for guests to escort them to popular Seminyak shopping arcade centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, HostelWorld, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Umalas Hotel and Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Umalas Hotel And Residence Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing