We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Umalas Hotel and Residence
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Adma Umalas(Kerobokan)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Aqua Villa(Seminyak)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Santai(Kerobokan)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kiss Bali(Seminyak)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (269)
Filter reviews
269 results
Traveller rating
57
121
56
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
57
121
56
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantroom apartmentquiet locationno hot waterstayed here for nightshotel spabig roomswimming poolnice poolcircle kfree shuttlethe main roadlangitkopibalisaunakitchenette
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 269 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here for a night on our last leg of our Bali trip. It served its purpose for what we needed it for. It smelt pretty weird, but it didn't bother us too much. The water was cold.

The breakfast was good, huge selection, and they cook the eggs fresh for you how you like them. We asked for a room away from the pump because previous reviewers said this affected their sleep and they were more then happy to accomodate that for us. The staff were friendly, they would organise taxi's for us when we needed it (and the good blue bird ones too).

Location isn't great, but like I said it was cheap, and it did serve its purpose for us.

The bathroom was interesting, grime on the floor and in the shower which wasn't very nice.

They dropped us off at the airport at our requested time, the driver was friendly and the van was air conditioned. This place isn't somewhere we would stay for the majority of our holiday, but for a night stop over it was perfect for us.

The pool was great too =]

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jodie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ula M, Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Jodie H.
On behalf of the entire team of Umalas Hotel and Residence we would like to thank you very much for visiting us and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to other visitors in Umalas, Seminyak, Bali.
I do apologize regarding on your room was smelt and the water was cold. We were in a maintenance program. I have followed up to our team and It is already well done now. Regarding on the room we improve our service everyday with guarantees our guest in comfortable; the guest can ask special inquiry to our reservation or front office once the guest check in.

I want to thank you for taking the time to write a review and reccomending us to othere TripAdvisor users. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best Regards,
Team Umalas Hotel and Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

THe hotel is nice and clean, staff are very friendly. I paid $140 for a 3 bed room Vila, the vila has a living room, cooking facility and three bed rooms. There are two bathrooms, but no bathtub, a small balcony. THe breakfast is western style, with sausage, baken, bread, juice, fruit, vege, the room fee has 6 free breakfast.

The roof top has good view, very nice.

Only pity is that there is not enough hangers, there is one laundry place just opposite to the hotel with very low price. There are two 24 hour 7-11 type of stores nearby.

The place is around 1.5 hour from Ubud, so not so convenient in terms of location

Room Tip: For vila, two rooms only have double beds, so not so convenient if you have young kids that you want to share a room.
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ketty W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ula M, Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2014

Dear Ketty W,
Thank you for leaving such lovely comments. We are very happy hearing you love our staff. Regarding the hangers, we do apologize to inform you regarding on our standard to put 3 hangers per room. Furthermore, if our guests need more hangers we are available to provide it. We're glad that you enjoyed your holiday and will look forward to seeing you again".


Best Regards,
Team Umalas Hotel and Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2014

Stayed here for 8 nights with the 'ourdeal' voucher - and definitely exceeded expectations! Stayed in a 2 bedroom superior, which was clean and spacious. The bathroom looked and smelt interesting at times, but with a little air freshener it was fine. The staff are friendly and helpful, both at reception and at the restaurant. The food served at the restaurant (breakfast, lunch and dinner) had a good range of Asian and Western food that was quite tasty.The spa treatments were relaxing and worth the price, and the pool area was modern and clean. The daily room service was thorough and reliable - very very clean! Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who likes a quiet location! All 4 of us had a fantastic time here.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Eboney L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus S, Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Eboney L,

On behalf of the entire team of Umalas Hotel and Residence we would like to thank you very much for visiting us and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to other visitors in Umalas,Seminyak-Bali.

We are really happy to read your review as the title "Awesome hotel; had a fantastic experience wonderful service would recommend to anyone” . It could give the team great pleasure and improve our service per day. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Team Umalas Hotel and Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Nice quite location, friendly staff willing to help with anything you need. Very clean and tidy hotel, great facilities. Good sized and layout of rooms.And had an extensive range of meals available. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jdcearth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Agus S, Manager at Umalas Hotel and Residence, responded to this reviewResponded 3 March 2014

Dear Jdcearth,

On behalf of the entire team of Umalas Hotel and Residence we would like to thank you very much for visiting us and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor as well as recommending our hotel to other visitors in Umalas,Seminyak-Bali.

We are really happy to read you enjoyed your stay and staff's service at our hotel. We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Best Regards,
Team Umalas Hotel and Residence

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 4 nights on our first leg. its good value for money for what you get. Staff were nice and always Helpful which was nice. Bathroom smelt like sewerage often which wasn't pleasant. Rooms and especially bathroom was dimly lit and to be honest I didn't feel comfortable showering without my thongs as I could tell it wasn't super clean. Breakfast is a surprise on the rooftop and a big range of choice to choose from. Had a massage which was really nice and would recommend and the pool is a good place to relax without being too crowded. Location is ok.... not central to anything but a cheap cab drive is fine!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Harmonyella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews