We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and great Value”
Review of The Jas Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Jas Villas
Ranked #62 of 426 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

great little room. Great staff! Watched the Australia world cup games with the staff in the bar/restaurant and they were awesome.

Little bit of a walk from the entrance to the street, we didn't mind that but some might.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

306 - 312 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

Great villa. Great location in Seminyak. Friendly staff around the villa. Good price too! They provide you with a mobile to call them when you are out to have someone pick you up. Free driver offered around Seminyak.
Rooms were awesome! Bathroom had a outdoor feel to it. Pool was nice too, wasn't heated though. WIFI was okay. Didn't get the best reception in our room but good enough.
Hint: Try magic fingers massage, around 10 Min walk past Seminyak square. Great massage place and very professional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank slvrln89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

The hotel is great, the food not so good. But good location which is convenient to restaurants and shopping. Bathroom is interesting sort of an outdoor feel. Only thing is the annoying mosquitoes. I would recommend the place if you are going to Bali in a group or family

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carl1612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Jas green villas early in July this year, excited that we would have a private pool in a quiet area (having previously stayed in larger hotels throughout bali). Upon arrival we were delighted by the location of the villas, being on the main strip of seminyak with more bars and restaurants within walking distance than you could visit in a single holiday. The reception staff were helpful and friendly and promptly showed us to our room (they were kind enough to allow us to check in 1.5 hours earlier). Pretty impressed with the room. Beautiful bathroom, large bed, fully equipped kitchen but very small outdoor area with a plunge pool. One thing to note is that the one bedroom villas are nothing like the photos on the website.

Shortly after unpacking our things, the power went out. My partner and I alerted the hotel staff and were informed that this was due to the construction immediately behind the back wall of the outdoor area to the villa, and it would not be back on. So we were moved to the villa next door which was a pretty minor inconvenience and we acknowledged that the hotel was not at fault and the situation was managed very professionally.

We unpacked again in the second room which was exactly the same as the previous (no better or worse) until I walked outside into the outdoor area where I was suprised to be greeted by 4 local builders sitting on scaffolding over the wall having lunch, looking directly into our freezing plunge pool, and because of the large windows into the bedroom (and bathroom) inside the villa!

As we'd already moved rooms once, already unpacked, and felt like an inconvenience to the hotel staff we decided to let it go as the builders may not be high up on the scaffolding everyday. But how wrong we were. 6am the next morning the jack hammers started up. With construction literally less than 5m from your bed, this can't even be slept through with ear plugs (I tried). You can't even hear the tv over this noise. And yes they greeted me again in the morning when I walked into our 'private courtyard'...

The only reason you pay a little extra for a villa is for privacy and space. I could deal with the cramped outdoor area but the lack of privacy was hugely disappointing for both of us. We approached the receptionist and explained the situation, and to our surprise was HUGELY understanding, and went to great lengths to arrange to move us again. After speaking with the reservation team he returned to say that no 1 bedroom villas were available to change into, however for an extra $40 we could move into a 2 bedroom villa. He showed us through the 2 bedroom villa and believe me, it is DEFINITELY worth the extra $40 a night. They are massive and have a much better layout. after looking at the room we were keen to pay the extra (even though we felt we shouldn't have to).

We came back to the hotel after breakfast and the receptionist appologised and said there was a misunderstanding and we cannot in fact have the double room. Sincerely appologetic he said he will monitor the reservations and move us if any flexibility came about. So we waited in reception until we could speak to management. While we waited we over heard 2 other groups of people request to change rooms for the same reason and were pretty much told no-can-do. Management arrived and after going back and forth that we could have it/couldnt have several times they said we couldnt. So we were stick in a room with no privacy and no sleeping past 6am... great.

Two days later they called to let us know we could move into another one bedroom villa which was great news. Again, a mirror image of the other two rooms.

Other little annoying things like having the towels taken after the room being cleaned but not being replaced (and not realising until after a shower...), no breakfast menu in the room to order room service, and the inconsistency of the water feature pump. It seemed to go on and off as it pleased. The pool also kept emptying itself. Meaning that when the pump started around 8am, it would start making that loud gurgling noise a pool pump makes when it isn't getting enough water.

This hotel has its perks; free driver for seminyak, free mobile phone to use for your stay with Rp10,000 credit, but by far the best thing for us was the location. I've been to Bali more than 20 times in the last 10 years and staying at different hotels, and this is the first time I've ever complained. I won't be staying here again. Particularly having had MUCH better value for money elsewhere throughout bal

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Matt L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

If you're looking for high end luxury, you won't get it here. But if you aren't too picky about the little details, this is a great bargain. The staff are all amazing and friendly. It is a little walk off the main strip down a creepy rocky alleyway, yes. But if you are lazy, you're given a mobile phone to order a driver scoop you up from wherever you are in Seminyak free of charge. And vice versa. Drivers are happy to just zip you down the alley if you are feeling lazy. The breakfast is nice. You're right in the heart of one of the most popular strips in the area, hence, it's a good spot. The only issue here and there was the inconsistent housekeeping. Towels wouldn't be refilled, etc. If you can overlook that, then it's a banging place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mikiq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We chose these villa's because we were looking for something with two bedrooms that was reasonable priced. Definitely value for money, but compared to the other 4 hotels we stayed at in Bali it just didn't compare. It definitely has potential but there were quite a few things in our room that required maintenance. My friends doors didn't open and close properly and the shower was ridiculously poor with only a few of the little jets working, the others all clogged up. The living area is outside which means there are a few mosquitoes around which makes it hard to be social. But if you are in your room it isn't too bad. My friend and I got a hot stone massage and were very disappointed - they girls were so rough and a few of the stones burnt me. They also put us both in the same room to get changed which was a little awkward, however it was fairly cheap all the same. The beds were comfortable and the staff were very friendly. They arranged airport pick up for my partner which was a relief so I didn't have to worry about it. The food was average, but there are other places you can walk to. They offer a free courtesy shuttle around Seminyak and it is actually positioned well. However the walk down the narrow street in the dark wasn't too bad. It can be tricky to find, lucky I had read a few reviews first and could help the driver find it. They need to turn down the narrow lane right before the Ize Hotel (about 100m before Seminyak Square) and go right to the end. This was for the Jas Villa's and Jas Green Villa's. The Jas Boutique Villas are not at this location but I think they will help you get there if you arrive here by mistake. If you are looking for reasonable priced accommodation, then give the Jas Villa's a go. Otherwise, maybe check out The Kayana Villa's or even L Hotel for some other options.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Vivian P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Great location very close to the market, good shopping and eating places just at a few minutes walk - Ultimo was our favorite. Indian restaurant Tandoor is not very far either, Far from the beach if that is what you have in mind
It is ideal for couples a lot of privacy
Not recommended for family - because there is nothing for the kids to do. The indoor pool in deep (4~5 feet) hence kids always need to be escorted.
Breakfast was decent but nothing to rave about, Service was not that great but not bad either
If you plan be outdoor most of the time and just come back in evening it is a good place --- else you have better options in Bali to choose from

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Modi_Piyush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.9 mi away
Jas Boutique Villas
Jas Boutique Villas
#238 of 426 in Seminyak
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Annora Villas Seminyak
Annora Villas Seminyak
#26 of 426 in Seminyak
215 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Light Villas
The Light Villas
#28 of 426 in Seminyak
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Daluman Villas
Daluman Villas
#15 of 426 in Seminyak
320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bracha Villas Bali
Bracha Villas Bali
#48 of 426 in Seminyak
209 reviews
1.0 mi away
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
ASA Bali Luxury Villas
#67 of 426 in Seminyak
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Jas Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Jas Villas

Address: Jl. Laksmana Gang Bugis, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 426 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range: £64 - £116 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Jas Villas 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the heart of Seminyak, Bali's most sought after area. Seminyak is known for its trendy cafes, modern art gallery, fashionable boutique and beautiful beach. Here, you are not just experiencing a retreat but you will discover the spirit of Bali. The Jas villas are decorated with Balinese theme to give our guests memorable stays. You can spend your cocktail evening, while you enjoy the serene sound of the wall fountain from your very own private swimming pool. Each villa is equipped with full kitchen set, a comfortable lounge to enjoy every moment with your companion. Enjoy your morning coffee with a wide selection of our international as well as local TV channel. Stay connected with your friends and family as each villa is equipped with internet Wi-Fi. Free shuttle is provided around Seminyak area for our guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Jas Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jas Villas Bali Hotel Seminyak
The Jas Villas Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing