We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth it! Look elsewhere”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak
Ranked #21 of 125 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

What a shame - false advertising and disappointing.

My husband and I recently stayed here as part of our honeymoon. We had stayed here two years ago and loved it so much we returned. Boy was that a mistake - the place has dropped it's standards massively. Firstly, major renovations were underway, and they had not bothered to let us know, meaning we were left on our own to work out how to find the main entrance. We got a bit of a shock to see the front of the hotel being demolished and only knew to instruct our driver to drive around the block because we had stayed here before.

Due to the renovations, not a single one of the photographs on the hotel website or booking.com are accurate - theres no main pool, the main lobby is now a dingy room, as is the dining area (we only ate breakfast here once because of this), and the spa has been moved into a small villa and didn't look appealing so we didn't bother with it.

In addition, the ongoing construction noise in the background was annoying and the place badly needs maintenance and overall just looks dingy. Security was also a concern for us due to the access to the property via construction site entrances. Also, due to the temporary entrance being around the block, the walk to the main street is now about ten minutes further. Not a huge deal for us being young and fit but it was just annoying.

While the staff were indeed friendly, they weren't that helpful and were in fact quite disorganised. Yes they were polite and said 'hello' and 'sorry' a lot, but we had to ask several times for simple requests like a bed sheet and were without a working telephone for a day which made things like dinner and tour bookings hard.

The breakfast food was really quite unappealing as was the area it was served in and we only ate at the hotel once.

Very expensive - in my opinion it's overpriced considering the ageing and unmaintained facilities and the amount of competition in the area, shop around and you should be able to find a better deal in a nice place.

We would definitely return to Bali and Seminyak as we love the place, but definitely would not stay at LaVillais again, nor would I recommend it to others.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank CCLadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (466)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

217 - 223 of 466 reviews

Reviewed 31 August 2013

Got a great deal on this villa in peak season, the location was fantastic, just a couple of minutes walk and your are in the middle of Eat St. Breakfast was great and fresh with different choices each morning. The staff were fantastic, very helpful with any bookings or questions that we had. The rooms are a good size and the pool is quite large and got a good amount of sun. We are going back in February and planning on staying here again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank moocam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

I stayed in La Villais twice in Jan, 2013 and in May, 2013.
We got a nice villa with private pool, gazebo and open fully equiped kitchen with sofa and big TV with DVD player.
Best thing that the hotel is not on the main road and it's very quiet, except one morning when the local farmer was doing something very loud with his rice field, but it was short.
So if you want you can stay in villa all days long sun-bathing, hanging outside or playing in the pool. If you need some night life or shopping main street is in 5 minutes distance with good restaurants (try Mikonos) and shops. Good supermarket in shopping center is 10-12 minutes distance. By the way hotel serves good breakfast and has own restaurant, food is simple, but fresh and in case of hard rain you can order room service without any problem.
Our villa was good and clean, DVD player was not so good, but we try to watch movies only couple of times preferred to walk outside.
Taxi is extremely cheap and you can easily find private driver who will take for any place.
Hotel also can offer you some services, but we preferred to organise it by ourselves.
Facilities are in good condition, but last time i saw that they start to renovate some villas that is necessarily in such humidity.
So La Villais is great choice of quality and price.
I wouldn't stay twice in a place i don't like.

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tkimka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2013

WE stayed for 3 weeks and throughly enjoyed it. Found the location to be excellent, a short walk to "east street" with many restaurants to choose from/
Rooms were well appointed, cleaned every day with a turn down service at night. Towels were replaced and rooms sprayed for mossies.

Staff were courteous. friendly and eager to please. A very happy bunch. Renovations are occuring, but it does not really have that much of an impact. A new entrance has been created at the back, I understand that a multi story apartments are being built where the front entrance was. The main pool is not available - but do you really need it when you have your own pools in your villa?. The pool is cleaned each day.

Food is average, but there are many restaurants around to choose from so does not really mattter - easy walking distance I thought. Seminyak Beach is about a 10 minute walk away, with plenty of shops in between. The shops are a little pricier here though.

The bed was comfortable (king size!) - good value for money
Very enjoyable and I would go back there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fedarni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Stayed for a week in February 2013. La Villais a bit hard to find (for taxi drivers) but in a great spot just behind ‘eat’ street in Seminyak. Good quite area. Few minutes walk to some great restaurants & super market & shopping. Very friendly staff, remembering your names. The privet villa was clean, well equipped and quite. All you can ask for with a good size pool, two TV’s, DVD player, stereo, air-con in the bedroom & bathroom. Kitchen, mid-size fridge (fit more Bintang) and nice out door lounge and area. The Villa restaurant was OK. Not a big range of food and some things on the Menu not available. Fine for buffet breakfast. Room service was fast but not a lot to chose from. Staff drove us most evenings when we went out. We will be back in Bali in the New Year and will look at La Villais again.

Room Tip: Get a map of were the Villas are on your first trip to La Villais. Taxi drivers can’t find La Villai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alcatraz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Staff is helpful and nice. They helped me to rent vehicle, call taxi, confirm shuttle with Safari, plan our day trip.... Pool and room is clean and well equipped. Breakfast is so so.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WilliamLock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

This is our second time to la villais, after staying last year and falling in love with the place & staff. We have been coming to Bali for a decade now & so glad we stumbled across this place.
We stayed for 16 nights. The villas are so well equipped, all staff are gorgeous, all needs met and location perfect. Nothing is to much trouble & all requests catered to.
As per the last review I completely agree & would consider either waiting on completion of renovation or definately requesting a villa towards the restaurant, away from works.
I have no hesitation in recommending la villas and will most definitely return when next in Bali
Thank you to all staff for truly making our stay so enjoyable.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank NRicho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0 mi away
Grand La Villais Hotel and Spa Seminyak
0.7 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#27 of 149 in Seminyak
602 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Kunja Villas & Spa
The Kunja Villas & Spa
#2 of 149 in Seminyak
779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.2 mi away
IZE Seminyak
IZE Seminyak
#49 of 149 in Seminyak
1,045 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#32 of 149 in Seminyak
681 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak

Address: Jl. Pangkung Sari, Banjar Taman, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly La Villais Exclusive Villa & Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Kuta District > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 125 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range: £20 - £105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 32
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This property is a 12-minute walk from the beach. Elegantly decorated, Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak is located just a 5-minute stroll from from Seminyak Square. Featuring luxurious villas with private pools, it has a garden and restaurant. Free shuttles to Kuta and Petitenget Beach are available. Free WiFi is available in all areas. Featuring dark wood furnishings, spacious bedrooms in the villas open out to views of the private pool. Villas are equipped with flat-screen TV, iPod dock and CD/DVD player. Each villa also features a minibar and fully equipped kitchen fitted with a microwave as well as a refrigerator. Large en suite bathrooms come with shower, hairdryer and free toiletries. Offering views of the pool, Star Cafe Restaurant and The View Rooftop Bar serves a la carte and buffet Indonesian hot meals as well as light refreshments. Other dining options can be found 15-minute walk from the property. Guests enjoy relaxing massage at Adella Spa or lounging by the out ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villais Exclusive Villa Hotel Seminyak
La Villais Exclusive Villa And Spa
Grand La Villais Villa And Spa Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing