We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ticks all the Boxes”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak
Ranked #15 of 105 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Wongan Hills, Western Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Ticks all the Boxes”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

Back to La Villais again, staying last August. Of all the Villas we have stayed at, La Villais is the best all round with what is on offer. Things we look for are an in-house restaurant, close to shopping and other restaurants, comfortable bed, good size fridge, good lounge, two TV’s, kitchen, big bathroom, WiFi, big villa area. All at a good price. At La Villais we loved the very friendly staff, the pool, outdoor area, lounge, the in-house massages, multi TV channels, geckos around the lights at night, frogs. Pool needs to be in the sun, even in Bali a shaded pool gets very cold, all good at La Villais. La Villais drove us most places, if a car was available they would drive us. This is a very good service. It is very nice when the staff remember your name, remember what you want for breakfast. The language barrier can be a problem at times, trying to explain what you need, but this is half the fun.
Con; WiFi always drops out, having to logon again. This can happen ten times a day, even while using the WiFi. It was the same last year and with all my family this year in different villas. So not just our villa, or us. Poor water pressure, pressure pump, on-off all the time. Other villas the same. So hot-cold-hot-cold showers. Needs a bit of maintenance around the villa, but this is Bali so all good. Tiles in the outside lounge area and in the bathroom area are very slippery when wet. Very nice looking but dangerous.
La Villais is still doing lots of renovations at the moment, renovating the main entrance. Should be finished by July 2014. So don't book villas from say 1 to 8 or villas 12 to 16. Builders can see down into ya villa and they seem to work 18 hours a day so noise is a problem. Also a new multi-story building going up next door to the south, not La Villais, so same problem with builders looking straight down in to the villa. Hard to explain villas numbers to avoid. Most villas are OK.
We will be back if the price is right again.

Room Tip: If you book, e-mail La Villais and ask for a villa away from the renovations. Also away from the new...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Alcatraz59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEWAM, General Manager at Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Alcatraz59,

I thank you to take the time to write the comments and appreciate that you value our employees.

I recently arrived and we are in the process of improving all services of the hotel through training in English, Service, Housekeeping and Welcoming the guest.

Indeed a new heat pump has been installed to solve that issue. The WiFi, the power supply has been checked in the room you occupied and everything is in order now.

Do apologize that during your stay there was some renovation ongoing, we are glad to know that beside of the renovation you had pleasant stay with us.

Once again, thank you and look forward to welcoming you back again.


Cordially
Dewa Putu Makapagal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

424 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    223
    134
    38
    21
    8
See reviews for
41
277
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

This is the first time that I have stayed at La Villais and it was just because I couldn't get into another Villa complex and the usual place that I stay at, Aria, has such a poor road to and from, that I didn't want to stay there, even though I love that place.
The staff were brilliant, the food fantastic, even though not 5 STAR, it was fresh and served promptly, any little thing that wasn't there was brought to me ASAP.
I was a little put off by the entrance / reception area and the decor of the dining room, but was assured that all of this was being rectified as renovations were soon to be under way. These are minor quibbles, as I give 100% rating to La Villais. Nothing was too much trouble for them, I cannot say enough good things aboout the staff, the services and the villas. Just adored everything. The chef and the restaurant staff were superlative and the massage was fantastic.
The drivers were great and Fast Eddie is a gem! A real character and speaks superb English. La Villais gives just that little bit more, which is brilliant in this world of ordinary service. I highly recommend La Villais (even though I secretly hope that it doesn't get too popular so that I can't get in!!!)
I have to say, that being a world traveller and having stayed in many of the top hotels throughout the world, that La Villais is as good as any that I have been lucky enough to have been a guest in.

Room Tip: I couldn't really say, I think most of them would be fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kaysiepops
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEWAM, General Manager at Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak, responded to this review, 21 April 2014
Dear Kaysiepops,

It’s always a pleasure to receive a positive comment from our guests. We are glad to know that you enjoyed the villa facilities and the service from the staff.

We will surely share this comment to all the team to motivate them in keeping up the highest standard in serving our valued guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we look forward to welcoming you again at La Villais Seminyak - Bali.

Cordially
Dewa Putu Makapagal
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My stay here was definitely not the Bali villa experience that I hoped for. I can compare it to a Bali villa experience, because I spent 4 nights in one a little north of Bali.

It's located on a dingy street that has tons of construction and garbage. There is a short cut through an alley to get to the main shopping street.

Pros
- couple minute walk from the main shopping/dining, but not a pleasant one
- friendly and helpful staff
- mini mart right across the street so you can get some supplies

Cons
- lots of construction going on in and around the property
- villas are poorly maintained and really showing their age, even though they are not that old
- pool must not have been cleaned in a long time, the water was murky
- poor dining and options, the menu has of mistakes on it. Sea Food is Sea Foot?, when it comes to food attention to detail is important.
- poor wifi
- mosquitos (but they provide you with coils and will come and spray the room)

Overall, I was not impressed with this villa. If I were to pass through Seminyak again I would stay at Ize again (new hotel right in the heart of the main street).

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LexEva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

This is my 3rd villa experience stay in Bali. Booked a 3 night stay via booking.com. The price was reasonable for a nice huge with deep pool villa stay. What only bothers me is the distance of villa to Kuta & Legian area where all the party takes place. One way trip via Taxi would roughly cost around 50 ribu rupiah & 70 ribu rupiah for a way back to villa late night. Definately not a place for party people. The staff was willing to drive us out to Ultimo Restaurant just outside the alley as we are too lazy & tired to walk out for dinner. Apart from that it's a very nice simple villa to stay in. Staffs are friendly everywhere. Always smiling & always a great help. Unfortunately, part of the villa is under upgrading, was told that it is expected to be ready by this year Oct - Nov with more upgraded villa & hotels. I suppose they are expanding. However the noise doesnt bother us that much. We still have a nice private rest time. Got a few mosquito bites here & there but it's tolerable after a while. Furthermore they provide us with mosquito repellent spray too. Breakfast was simple but can be improved. I prefer breakfast that is served in the villa. All I can say this is an another great villa stay for me. Thanks

Room Tip: Request for a villa that is near to the reception if you are lazy to walk far. I was given a villa t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sridriwina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

Our villa was a wedding gift from my family, so I can't comment on the prices, but for a couple looking for Rest&Recover but still close to it all, I highly recommend this place!

The villa's were amazing. very clean 1.5m deep private pool. Small kitchen and lounge area. Large bathroom (with it's own aircon). Big day-bed near pool. Huge king-size bed. Beautiful gardens. Staff were all super-friendly and amazing. Breakfast was great: fresh cooked omelet on request, not a large selection of food but enough for lining you tummy each day. I didn't go to the spa but friends/family said it was one of the best they've ever had!

I stayed for 8 nights and it was amazing from start to end. The location is great; no more than 3-5 mins walk to the infamous Eat Street.

TIPS:
> Highly recommend grabbing a heap of business cards from reception, as some taxi's have no-idea where it is. You can get dropped off on Eat Street, as many taxis know that location, and walk to villas. But better to have the cards just in case - for those late nights or after shopping.
> get the massage at the spa!
> they will make up your room every day & evening, so I suggest putting the "do not disturb" sign up for some privacy.

NEGATIVES:
> WIFI! Every-single-time I put my phone to sleep it, it timed out and I had to log in again. So annoying. By the end of the 8 nights was at my ends-wits! Very frustrating.
> I slipped on the tiles and hit the ground, hard! Be very VERY careful in the kitchen area after swimming and raining :'(
> I ordered 2 cars to get to my own wedding and was told "sorry, they booked out", even though I pre-booked them hours before. They did apologize immensely and ordered us taxis but in future double-check everything.

Thank you La Villais! Would definitely go back, and to add to everything we got a small gift on check-out. Very special :)

Room Tip: Due to recent constructions, ask for villas close to East end of villa complex and on "B"...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michelle K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed in this villa and were very impressed. The villa was very nice and was a good size.
The bad thing About our villa was that our villa was being looked in by construction workers everyday.
We were also woken up most night by feral cats. Other than that it was a good place.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Thesandman69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent 8 nights at La Villais over New Year. I cant think of anything negative to say.

We booked at the last minute as our original choice of accommodation was far from satisfactory and to be honest it was pretty much the only place with a vacancy over New Year. But wow did we strike lucky.

Bedrooms were huge, beautifully appointed and well laid out. Bathrooms were just as big, spotless and complete with bath and shower.
Separate lounge/kitchen was comfortable. Private swimming pool large and cleaned every day.

Staff offered a turn down service every night, if we were not home they left us a personal note to let us know they had been.

Everyone working at La Villais behaved like they wanted to be there and they genuinely seemed to enjoy their work. I have never felt so welcome in a hotel, a huge thumbs up from me and my family.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jimmyk62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.0 mi away
Grand La Villais Hotel and Spa Seminyak
0.7 mi away
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
Bali Ginger Suites & Villa
#29 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 505 reviews
1.1 mi away
Villa Coco
Villa Coco
#28 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
1.3 mi away
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
Villa Seminyak Estate & Spa
#44 of 143 in Seminyak
4.0 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak

Property: Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak
Address: Jl. Pangkung Sari, Banjar Taman, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia (Formerly La Villais Exclusive Villa & Spa)
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Grand La Villais Villa and Spa Seminyak reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Villais Exclusive Villa Hotel Seminyak
La Villais Exclusive Villa And Spa
Grand La Villais Villa And Spa Seminyak Bali

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing