We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cozy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Phil's Place

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Seminyak
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Phil's Place
Ranked #117 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
Traralgon, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Cozy ”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

I was staying in Sanur for a wedding and had a couple of days to fill in before returning home so I thought I try a couple if nights on the wild side of Bali . After a quick look on tripfinder and other sites I contacted Phil's place via email from a net cafe in Sanur and received a clear response within minutes .
My room was booked at a great rate and they also organized to pick me up from Sanur for a very reasonable price.
Right on time the next day I was greeted buy a cheery young guy in a clean air con van and delivered to Phil's place . Although at first I was not to sure about the location ( down a narrow road into an even narrower lane and the into a smaller entrance way ) I was greeted at reception again with a smile and no prob attitude and although not big the place did have a nice sort of homely feel about it .
After a few walk s to the main shopping strip and restaurants and bar area in the daylight I felt quite comfortable walking to and from , night and day but it is handy to find a landmark so you know were to turn .
The bed was good , the breakfast was great , pool very refreshing , the staff were all very friendly and helpfull . great in house massage and great location .
Phil's place is a small cozy quiet place , easy walk to shops and restaurants and night life . Not to far to walk to the beach either . If I am ever in the area again I would stay here again and would recommend it to friends.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank GBeno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    59
    20
    4
    4
    0
See reviews for
Families
0
44
32
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 January 2014

Phils Place is just a delight to stay in. Close to bars and shops and restaurants. The Hotel is beoutique clean tidy and the stsaff are outstanding at every level. The breakfast is felxable and nice. The bar is small and the pool is warming and perfect and has a louge area next to it. NOW the massage is the best I have ever had and is professional form start to end. We stayed there last year when next door construction was under way and it made no differnce at all. We are nbooked in again to stay In APRIL 2014. Excited as this place is perfect for a relaxing holiday and close to Bars we same sex people like, some quiet some crazy but within five minutes walk. Its safe and its secure.

Room Tip: All rooms are very nice, to choose one means you miss out on the others
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MOORYwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

My partner and I stayed here on a trip to Bali and really loved this place! It's like staying at a home away from home and we were lucky to have come across it. Firstly the location is perfect as it is only a short walk from the shopping streets of Seminyak and very close to all the gay bars which are great for a fun night out. The staff here were so welcoming and friendly and special thanks to Dodi and Aldi for being so warm and welcoming. The place only has 5 rooms and we stayed in the upstairs room which was superb with a large bedroom, bathroom with a beautiful shower and bath, and a verandah area which was perfect for relaxing during the day. Also a small downstairs pool which was fantastic. The staff take your breakfast orders the night before and make it for you in the morning whenever you decide to wake up. Staff are there all the time so it is very safe and secure and you can come back from your night out whenever you like knowing you can still get in. They also organised our laundry to be done and had it back the next day. Phil you have an amazing place and we will be back for sure !

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foxc1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
186 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We stay here again over Christmas and received a warm welcome back. The location is perfect for Bars and Beach. Service is above and beyond. Rooms are very clean and breakfast is very good too. Definitely staying again in 2014.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trip12363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

I don't write reviews but Phil's villa is exceptional. The villa is in the heart of Seminyak and very close (walking distance ) to major entertainment and the beach. As soon as you enter the gate, you are greeted with a sense of tranquility as you steps onto the little pond and the Buddha waterfall. The bedrooms are well decorated and more than what I expected for the price. There is the pool in the middle of the villa and a serene back garden, with a well set-up massage gazebo and outdoor showers. But most of all, the owner (Phil) and his staff provide the best service- and will go out of their way to make you feel at home. Highly recommend this villa, and look forward to going back.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

We stayed at Phils Place in May 2012 (sorry i had always thought i had written a review back then). Stayed in the garden view room nearest the kitchen./ bar area.
when we had first booked it was to be a shared bathroom, though to our surprise when we arrived there had been a freshly built onsite in our room. Definitely made a difference to the stay, allowing for a bit more peace and privacy being so close to where staff and other guests congregate at times.
The staff are so friendly and awesome, were always there no matter what time of day or night to attend your needs.
At the time we were there all the construction was going on next door, though to be honest even that wasn't a big deal.
the location is very convenient for clubs, cafes shops etc. Pool is awesome to lounge in after a bit of a walk around the area or a lovely day trip out some where.
Breakfast was included and a great relief to wake up any time off the day and still be offered.
Returned to Bali this May in 2013, alas we had a girlfriend travelling with us so had to stay elsewhere, though dropped by for a visit to see the guys. Looking forward to staying there again soon. Would definitely recommend giving it a try.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nong Khai, Thailand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

This is a great little gem hidden away in Seminyak yet close top all major places one wants to go.
The staff looks really after you and produces a great breakfast every morning. Also the pick-up service from the airport was great and so was the return trip.
Will I visit again? For sure!!
The great thing is for repeat visits they give you 10 % discount.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank splinter49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Seminyak
0.6 mi away
The Breezes Bali Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,093 reviews
1.3 mi away
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
Spartacvs Bali Hotel
#17 of 114 in Kerobokan
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
Villa Rajapala
Villa Rajapala
#250 of 412 in Seminyak
4.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
1.4 mi away
Artisane Villas and Spa
Artisane Villas and Spa
#93 of 412 in Seminyak
5.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
1.4 mi away
Balinea Villa - Rooms & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phil's Place? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phil's Place

Property: Phil's Place
Address: Jl. Plawa, 40 Gang Melati, Seminyak, Indonesia
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 412 Speciality Lodging in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gay guest house in Seminyak, Bali - 5 bedrooms and 5 bathrooms. Close to gay bars (10 minutes by foot), restaurants, shops and beach. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Phil`s Place Hotel Seminyak
Phil's Place Bali/Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing