We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Over priced market - avoid”
Review of Seminyak Square

Seminyak Square
Ranked #18 of 66 things to do in Seminyak
Attraction details
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Over priced market - avoid”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Legian is heaps cheaper. Once you know what to pay for certain items and you bargain here for them, they will not move on price. I'm told their rents are higher, therefore prices are too. Cheapest market I found was when visiting Tanah Lot. Keep your shopping for there.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Janine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    128
    227
    96
    36
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lille, France
Level Contributor
88 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good shopping start”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Good place to start your shopping in Seminyak. You could find some jewelry, clothe and accessories sellers. Also famous brand (Quicksilver, Ripcurl ...).

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Pierre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Highly poor uneducated parking security”
Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

I live in bali for 6 months n it was my very 1st bad experience related with security ppl in bali. For sure they didnt know how to treat the guest as well n no polite right? If the security yelled to us(guest) while they knew we're the one who fed them n their entire fam!
No more visit there!

Helpful?
4 Thank Msmanalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time here.”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Seminyak Square has a great location at the heart of the Seminyak stretch, and has become a bit of a meeting point for drivers to pick up their guests, or friends to meet each other.

Sadly though, the place has missed the opportunity to become an iconic landmark, and instead is a mishmash of boring fashion stores, an overpriced bookstore, a couple of very standard restaurants and a stretch of typical Aussie bars on the second floor.

By all means use this as a meeting point, but walk around the corner, or up the street, and you'll find so many more interesting place to have a meal or a drink, or buy a little something.

Especially interesting in the road behind Seminyak Square, at the top of which is the lovely Grind & Grocer.

Even the toilets at some of the other places are cleaner and much better!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank bentong66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney australia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“The outdoor markets is where it's at”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Didn't bother with larger markets; I got everything I was hoping to buy in the 10 or so stalls in the car park off Seminyak Square. Excellent quality women's cotton kaftans, dresses and tops at fab prices with a little bartering. Travel shopping was done in less than an hour!

High-horse moment: A word of advice on bartering to fellow travellers: No need to be aggressive with the stall holders. I was quietly mortified and embarrassed at how rude some fellow Australians were when trying to get a bargain. You'll get a good deal without raising your voice and embarrassing everyone in the process over getting another $4.50 off.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank 2007jojo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seminyak Square also viewed

 

Been to Seminyak Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing