We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay, lovely staff in great location.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
165 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 165 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Ruthiewar...
Perth, Australia
1 review
“Fantastic stay, lovely staff in great location.”
Reviewed 24 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

I stayed with a group of 8 friends the week beginning 9th June 2014. This villa was perfect
From the process of booking with Susan,the handling of any queries with Sindu, our lovely Driver Putu and Ani and her housekeeping team, everybody involved was fantastic.
Cant beat the location, right in the heart of Seminyak but with private driveway, no road noise.
All in all a wonderful trip, I will be returning to stay at Villa Castilla. HIGHLY RECOMMEND.

:-)

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AussieB3a...
Hong Kong
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location, but ...”
Reviewed 12 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014
2
people found this review helpful

There is no denying the location is perfect ... when you can find it. No signs, 2 hours of taxi driving around neighbourhood. Phone numbers on website, facebook etc were wrong, calls, texts and emails to Australia were unanswered. The piece de resistance was the reaction of the owner who chose to ignore the issue and not reply to emails.
The driver and house keeper were fabulous, friendly and accommodating. The venue is tired, in need of some work. And don't be misled, the 5th bedroom means you lose the only common room with a television. As for sleeping 9+, it would make the space very tight.
Love the staff, love the proximity to the activities - the rest can be worked on

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location and staff
Liked least: internet not available all through, property is tired
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2014
Thank you very much for your review. I am glad you found the location perfect, the driver and housekeeper “fabulous, friendly and accommodating”. I am so pleased that you loved the staff.

I am sorry that some of your party had trouble finding the villa. We offered all members of your group complimentary transfers, and others in your group were transported to the villa in air-conditioned comfort, by the driver you love, with frangipani leis and cool water. However you Ilona decided not to use this service. In three emails to your group coordinator during the reservation process we provided detailed address information and the Villa Manager’s contact telephone number. The contact telephone number was not called by you for assistance at any point during the time you were lost. The villa’s house number is clearly displayed in 40cm-high numbers on the front gate in the main street. You obviously did not have the information and contact details for your villa check-in that we provided prior. I feel we have been unfairly blamed for an obvious lack of communication within the group.

Nonetheless, on becoming aware of the plight of the lost guests, we acted immediately so that you were brought to the villa. Eight emails were exchanged with you on this day alone, one of which was an email of apology that we sent immediately. The reply we received from you was ill-mannered, bad-tempered and frankly a poor reflection on the sender. We have a policy of not replying to emails containing any level of rudeness. Every other email was answered – including 41 emails exchanged with your group coordinator to perfectly plan, execute and finalise every aspect of the stay.

As can be seen from many reviewer posts, all of us at Villa Castilla (and I in particular) take pride in executing detailed guest itineraries with multiple arrivals exactly as per the wishes of our guests. I regret that you did not allow us the opportunity to provide your transfer. I also regret that you were not privy to all of the villa location and contact information we provided to your group coordinator. This led to your difficult arrival, which unduly tainted your entire ten night stay. Your slightly misleading description of events on your arrival day, and your overall rating, is difficult to understand for the five staff who worked tirelessly at all hours during your stay to provide you with the first-rate service you received and wrote about.

The Villa Castilla Team
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RTJSRAK
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Nice Villa with Fantastic Staff”
Reviewed 10 June 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Villa Castilla is tucked away off of a main shopping street in Seminyak about a 20 minute walk from Kuta beach. The street outside the villa is controlled chaos in the form of cars and scooters but the villa is an oasis from the busy street. We stayed at Villa Castilla for a total of six nights with our two 7 year olds, 3 young adult children and two of their friends for a total of nine. The villa was large enough to accommodate all of us comfortably. The pool was a great feature and we spent a significant amount of time cooling off in it.

The key to our successful stay, however, was definitely a super attentive staff. We worked with Susan and her team before our arrival on a renewal of vows ceremony and a Balinese feast complete with musicians and dancers. Both events went off flawlessly. In addition I want to extend a special mention of our driver Darna and housekeeper Ani, who exceeded expectations every day especially given our large group. We also paid extra to have dinners at the villa most nights and the food prepared by the chef was exceptional.

Overall the Villa and the staff exceeded expectations.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Busy_mum...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The staff felt like family”
Reviewed 2 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

What a fabulous villa and location! Beautifully presented, and easily accommodating 6 adults, 3 children and an infant.

My first mention must go to the housekeeper Ani (and helpers Asi and Desa) . We all felt at home with Ani - always greeted with a warm and happy smile and she was great with our children. She attended to our needs perfectly - we never had to ask her for anything, as she would usually be organising it already - I never had the children complain with the usual afternoon "I'm hungry" because Ani would have already prepared a fruit platter for them after their swim. And she could read our minds when it was tea/coffee time! It was these little touches that made our stay really relaxing.

Our next mention goes to our driver Rama (and occasional 2nd drivers Putu and Darna). Rama is friendly, knowledgeable and was great with our children, especially our 4 year old son and 10 month old son. He quickly became "family" helping us as an extra pair of hands and eyes with our 4 children.

Thanks also to Sindu the Guest Relations Manager (and for arranging pool toys for the children).

Villa Castilla is beautiful inside and out. The location is amazing - walking distance to restaurants, shops and even the beach. However, being set back from the busy road, we were never disturbed by noise.

We'd definitely stay again. Thanks Susan and the Villa Team!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dolphins0...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
“The villa and staff made our big family holiday most memorable, such warm service and a beautiful villa - we could not have aske”
Reviewed 1 June 2014 for a stay in May 2014

From the minute we were picked up by our driver we were greeted with a warm smile which clearly stood out from the other drivers lining up to meet their guests. His service during the entire holiday was excellent and it was never too much to ask anything of him.
Upon arriving at the villa, Ani and the rest of the staff greeted us warmly with dinner ready to be served. From then the remainder of our holiday was absolutely fantastic and one that will stay fondly in our memories. Thank you to Ani and Putu who gave such outstanding service, we will definitely come back!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarkSurft...
Adelaide, Australia
2 reviews
“Prime Location with privacy!”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

We had an amazing week in Castilla with our four young children. Just a short walk from Seminyaks iconic restaurants such as Ku De Ta and my favorite La Luciola, we were spoilt for choice and the kids loved eating out. The pool was a hit with the kids and having a pool fence, I was able to relax knowing they were safe. The staff were incredibly helpful and went above and beyond to make our stay as peaceful as possible. Rama and Ani were so good with our children, especially our 10 month old! Our daughter asked if we could stay forever, sadly I had to say no! The villa is so spacious, that even at the 9 person capacity, it never felt crowded. We would love to stay at Castilla again on our next trip to Bali.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being able to completely relax and enjoy our stay.
Liked least: Leaving!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Reviewed 19 May 2014 for a stay in November 2013

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The beautiful staff
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing