We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic stay at a great villa - highly...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
106 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Seminyak, Kuta District, Bali

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 106 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
beansfc
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fantastic stay at a great villa - highly recommended”
Reviewed 13 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

I couldn't disagree more with the previous reviewers comments! I've just had 5 nights at Villa de la Vie with 6 others and we had a fantastic stay. The villa is very centrally located in a quiet lane behind Seminyak Square - smack bang between Eat Street, Grocer & Grind and Bodyworks.

The villa was exactly as shown in the pictures and personally I think was even more impressive in real life! The airport pickup was easy and the lovely staff made our stay very enjoyable - the villa was kept spotless everyday and it did not feel as if the staff were intruding or hanging around, they were very sweet and helpful. We enjoyed our morning breakfast of banana pancakes, omelette, toast, fresh fruit and bacon.

Having wi-fi access was great and there were heaps of channels on the pay tv so we were able to watch lots of the Olympics!!

The rooms are all spacious as are the ensuites and we hjad more than enough space for 7 adults.

All in all an awesome villa stay with all the mod cons and nice touches you would expect. I would highly recommend this villa for anyone looking for a well priced, confortable, centrally located villa.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location, peace & quiet, lovely staff
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Sep 2012
Thank you so much for your kind words. We look forward to seeing you and the family next year!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chrissy19...
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
“Beautiful Exterior ... Missing the little things that count not worth the price tag”
Reviewed 17 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Stayed at Villa De La Vie recently with the extended family and to say I was a little disappointed was an understatement.

Overall the Villa itself to look at was beautiful, everything you could want on a trip away from home. Large open spaces and plenty of room for the kids with easy access to restaurants and shopping. However it's the little things that let this place down.

To start in all four bedrooms the water pressure was non existent, and so to was the hot water you where lucky if the water was even tepid.
The pool though aesthetically beautiful is not heated and freezing cold the kids didnt even want to jump in that often. And the jacuzzi running off the pool was just as bad.
We spent 12 hours without electricity one day - no back up generator available
Breakfast is very limited and basic though tasty it is more of a mums Sunday brekky cook up than restaurant quality.
And when you run out of the essentials like fresh pool towels or even need more when the staff go home your on your own and you have to make do. Also
Unlike others when I'm on holidays I want privacy and peace and though the staff are amazing the two women we had looking after us couldn't have been more helpful or friendly, they were always in the background from 7am till 3pm and this made it hard to fully relax and unwind and feel any sense of privacy. And I can't forget the mozzies - make sure you bring repellent !!!

Overall the only thing this villa has going for it is the overall presentation,location and the staff which save this place from having a terrible review. Unfortunately this was not a memorable stay for us in Bali but it could have been worse.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Large open living areas
Liked least: No hot water and non existent water pressure
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
Hi Chrissy,

Thanks for taking the time to provide Villa De La Vie with some constructive feedback.
Firstly thank you for your compliment in relation to our villa in terms of location, open spaces etc…and our staff are constantly getting complimented on their service, so that is brilliant you have recognised their service. I will be sure to pass on your kind words about the standard of service they have provided during your stay.
However, I am sorry to hear that your expectations were not met “little things that let this place down “ I would like to take your comments on board and reply in the best way I can

· The water has not been an issue for other guest, but again thank you for bringing this to our attention. I will have out Villa Manager inspect immediately and make any changes necessary.

· The breakfast provided is advertised as a Continental, Cooked American or Cooked Indonesian. As we are not a restaurant and our objective is to make our guests feel at home during their stay hence the experience of a tasty mums Sunday cook up. If you have any suggestions on what we could change I would be happy to hear.

· In relation to you being without power, I apologise on behalf of the local government, who chose to do work in the area to the electricity on one of the days during your stay. Unfortunately this is out of our control however I understand this would have been an inconvenience.

· As you can appreciate mosquitoes are prone to tropical islands. We do everything possible to prevent them from being anywhere near the villa. We do this with regular fogging of the garden and the staff lighting burners in the early evening.
If you have a moment, it would be great if you could drop me an email so you can provide me with clarity around a comment that I was a little confused about. Would you have preferred, the staff staying longer so you didn't have to make do or the staff to leave earlier so you could have more privacy? If you could drop this into an email for me, that way we can re asses our staff times to ensure this isn’t an inconvenience.
Once again thank you for your review. We are glad you found our property everything you could ever want on a trip away from home, however we are disappointed it did not meet your expectations.

All the best,
Adam McAsey - Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
2 reviews
“Amazing villa in Seminiak would recommend highly to anybody”
Reviewed 16 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We stayed at Villa de la Vie in Seminak. What an amazing villa, absolutely beautifully designed and fitted out. Fantastic pool and garden and magnificent outdoor entertaining area, very spacious, great for 8 - 9 people, close to everything, cafes, beach, shopping & nightlife. Fantastic staff who could not do enough for us and clearly a well respected owner Adam McAsey, who the staff rated very highly. Clearly the staff do all they can to make this a wonderful stay, would recommend for 2 families or even 4 couples, bedrooms are very spacious, cannot wait to get back there one day. Thank you Adam and Wyan (Operations Manager) it could not have been any better......Bruno Conti

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience, location and staff
Liked least: Nothing not to like
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
Hi Bruno,
WOW! Thank you for your kind words. The staff have advised that you were a pleasure to accommodate. We cannot wait to have you back!

All the best,
Adam McAsey - Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
zivawestl...
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A little space of paradise”
Reviewed 28 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

The service at the Villa was outstanding, with the staff always extremely helpful. The property was beautiful, with all you needed and surrounded by a lovely garden. The location was perfect, close to great shops and restaurants.

I would recomment it to a group of friends for a relaxing getaway together!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The convenient location and the comfortable villa itself.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
Hi Ziva,

Thank you for your kind words. We are so pleased that you hold our property and staff in such high regard. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Adam McAsey - Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tania G
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Heaven on Earth”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
2
people found this review helpful

Absolutely breathtaking villa,"Heaven on Earth" beautiful villa, beautiful staff. Group of 7 adults stayed for 5 nights, (not long enough). 1st time in Bali and what an experience, staff were wonderful. Pictures do this beautiful villa no justice, paradise.
Will definetly be back. Thumbs up to Adam, a wonderful job all round, a pleasure to have stayed there

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The whole package (villa, staff, location)
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Aug 2012
Hi Tania,

Thank you for your time to leave this review. We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay and fell in love with the island. We look forward to having you back in the future.
Adam McAsey - Owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tonytheto...
perth, western Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OMG. Just brilliant! Classy with fantastic location!”
Reviewed 1 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012
1
person found this review helpful

This location is just great. secluded behind seminyak square with plenty of security down the gang for peace of mind. The facillties in the villa are just excellant. each room has a huge bathroom with shower AND a bath as well as a massive vanity. the rooms are HUUUUGE with loads of storage.
We had a totol of 9 people staying and at no time did we feel cluttered or unable to have our own space. The massive table in the open plan lounge area was great for eating togeather and catching up. the free wifi for those of us who can't stop working was a welcome addition.
and the pool.... just brilliant! Talk about visual impact when you walk thru the big, chunky front door! I have personally stayed in a few different villas and this is the biggest and best by far . lots of room for sunbaking and chilling. i don't think the big TV was turned on once in the 5 days we were there.
Theres heaps of sensational restaurants near by. I definetly recommend trying them out. and whatever you do- go to mama sans restaurant. Words can not describe the food there!! its a 15 minute stroll or 5 mins by car or bike.
One of the things i like about this location is that the taxi stand is at the end of the drive way and if you want to go anywhere by car or bike the traffic is not crawling like kuta.
Price: really, its cheap when you look at sharing the cost and compared to a hotel, the quality and whole experience just can't be compared to a hotel.
There was 3-4 really really friendly staff to make breakfast and look after us in general. Breakfast was lovely with choices of bacon and eggs, sausages, pancakes, cereal etc . We stayed at villa de la vie from 5 nights from 8 March for grandads 70th birthday. Despite some of the groups reservations about staying in a villa, we have converted Everyone of them from hotel to villa stay.
If you have kids, just remember bali doesnt have pool fencing rules like us. but there are big steps at both ends of the pool and to the bali hut at the back.

All in all - a wonderful experience. thanks to all the lovely staff and to Adam for accomodating our needs.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: quality of the property and decorating, location. Friendly staff
Liked least: another 2 weeks stay would have been nice!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jess_Karl
Brisbane
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Absolute luxury, like no other holiday I have ever had!”
Reviewed 11 January 2012 for a stay in December 2011
2
people found this review helpful

We were a group of 7 friends who decided to bring in the new year in Bali! Villa De La Vie was more than I could ever have imagined! The photos definitely do not do it justice. When you first walk through the big wooden door what you see is breathtaking and you realise that it is all yours for your stay in Bali! The staff are wonderful, always smiling and they spoil you rotten with a berautiful breakfast each morning. Anything you would like they can organise! The privacy was perfect for 1am swims in the gorgeous pool! I do not have anything negative to say about Villa de la vie - it was perfect! We would defintely stay here again and I would recommend it to any group of friends or a family as the perfect Bali holiday accommodation option!! Thank you Villa de la vie and all the staff for making a truly memorable holiday!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The pool area
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing