We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Must Do When in Bali” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Dean Cooking Class

Chef Dean Cooking Class
Ranked #1 of 9 Food & Drink in Seminyak
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An exciting combination/selection of Mediterranean and Balinese cooking class demo and tours to fishing village, traditional market, organic and cacao plantation, and other interesting places, tasting traditional foods and finally having Chef Dean's signature luncheon.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Must Do When in Bali”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

What a great and unique experience! Dean went above and beyond to teach, inspire, and entertain his tourists. He picked us up early in the morning, and despite loosing his wallet that morning, that didn't stop him from ensuring our experience was unique and exciting. We drove about 40 mins to the food market where we purchased our ingredients for our upcoming tasteful lunch. What an experience! We walked the aisles of the market, where Dean would explain many foreign fruits, veggies, and spices, and had us all have a good look or taste. Once ingredients were purchased, we drove to his home where we then cooked, and watched demonstrations on useful cooking tips and suggestions, as several specialty martinis were served every half hour or so. The rest of the staff was super friendly, and happy, and made our experience that much better! Thanks Dean for an amazing experience, and the recipe cook book that I will use! I will most definitely be making the popular peanut sauce! Please take the time out of your busy itinerary and indulge yourself in this most unique and tasteful experience!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

312 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    285
    16
    4
    1
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Any
English first
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Had 1 free day in conference week and luckily able to quickly and efficiently organise this class by email with Dean.
Paid extra for convenient pick up from our hotel in Nusa Dua. We had a wonderful day beginning with tour of Denpasar market, Balinese coffee and then back to Dean's house in Sanur. Dean is very friendly and has an interesting story to tell, all staff were also happy and friendly, we had a small group of 7. Learnt a lot without having to exert self too much, whilst enjoying mocktails and cocktails! Finished with a wonderful feast for lunch , back to hotel by abt 4.30pm, followed by afternoon nap! A fabulous last day in Bali! Thanks Dean!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank holidaytragic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good lessons”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Still use these recipes at family gatherings.liked the easy atmosphere for learning & such great ingredients,

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Veronica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seminyak, Indonesia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

My 18 year old son (who's into cooking) and I really enjoyed Dean's Cooking class today! We first explored the market in Denpassar where we were shown the various fruits, vegetables, herbs and spices we were to use. We enjoyed a great coffee in a nearby cafe afterwards, then were taken to his cooking school in Sanur, a 20 minutes drive away. There we were instructed with a team of assistants and co-chef, and helped prepare a veritable feast of exquisite and delicious seafood, salads, vegetables and chicken. We also were given several delightful cocktails to drink. We not only learnt how to use herbs, prepare sauces, chicken, seafood and slice vegetables properly, but enjoyed every mouthful of the flavours and varieties in the banquet. A great day for us both!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
6 Thank Doreen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
67 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“"GREAT EXPERIENCE"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Have been to Bali many times, so this was the ONLY thing I wanted to do this time round! Not real quick at replying to emails, but eventually booked and set to go! Had to make own way to Seminyak Square for pick up @ 8.30am...luckily not too far for me..Romeo took us straight to markets at Denpasar. Eyeopener for those who hadn't been there before.(I had). Met Dean who showed us around and procured items for the class back at his home in Sanur..Note: not held in Seminyak anymore! Walked across from markets to bute little coffee shop where Dean bought us all coffee.. even got my tick of approval. Driven to Deans house/cooking school, and into it! Dean was thoroughly approachable and conversed easily with everybody, explaining, along with his souxchef..1st- chicken(head & feet) ready for BBQing, 2nd-huge Squid(how to pull head out and clean), thirdly- how to clean & fillet a snapper the Indonesian way!) along with the famous Nasi Goreng, and sambals, the food list went on and on, accompanied by refreshing drinks and cocktails, made by Justin Beber & Elvis..I can throughly recommend this experience, even though some might think it on the expensive side for Bali. After gormandising ourselves with the vast array of dishes placed on the table before us, we were driven back - luckily for me straight to the villa... thank you Dean, have recommended your cooking class to all my friends that will be visiting.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
7 Thank dancingdooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Chef Dean Cooking Class also viewed

 

Been to Chef Dean Cooking Class? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing