We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Possibly Bali's best kept secret (not for long though!)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Bali
Ranked #2 of 105 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Possibly Bali's best kept secret (not for long though!)”
Reviewed 27 October 2012

Stayed for 5 nights in October 2012 - and wished I could have stayed longer. Very grateful to my friend for recommending this property to me. The highlights: great price (seriously good value), awesome location, friendly staff, beautiful rooms. Oh, and that there are no kids under 16 allowed. I'm sure that won't make everyone happy, but it sure makes for a peaceful and relaxing environment!

The rooms are spacious and well appointed, with lovely decor and fresh orchids in every room. In the evening the property has an enchanting atmosphere with the coach lights lit up all around the pool.

Walking distance to anything that is worth visiting in Seminyak, the property is hidden down a small alleyway which means you're sheltered from the sights and sounds of the main road. Across the road from the beach.

I'd say book now before it is booked out! Will definitely return. Big thanks to Jarlath and Adrian for helping make the stay special.

Room Tip: The largest room category are great value. Balcony rooms are great, but those without balconies are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

421 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    331
    78
    7
    5
    0
See reviews for
30
204
47
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

Stayed at the Colony on three occasions in the last month. Simply the best Boutique Hotel in Bali. Excellent location - near the beach with great restaurants nearby while quiet and peaceful inside the hotel - attentive helpfull staff, great rooms - spotlessly clean, excellent breakfast. Simply a great well run hotel

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Martin E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2012

We have just returned from Bali, our daughter was married in Seminyak 2weeks ago. Staying at the Colony Hotel for the second time was once again magical. The location was perfect for our family and guests, many of them not been to Bali before. The staff are very friendly,caring and ever attentive. Our rooms were spotlessly cleaned daily, we love the French Colonial style and they are stunningly decorated. Breakfast by the pool each morning was relaxing. We love Bali and will continue to visit many times, always choosing to stay at The Colony.

Room Tip: All the rooms look onto the pool, most of them are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2012

I stayed at the Colony with my partner for 5 nights. We were greeted with smiles, friendly staff and a welcome drink. The rooms were very clean and the bathroom was excellent. While we sat by the pool a staff member gave us a nice class of chilled water and an ice cream. The location of the hotel is right near the beach and near some great restaurants. The main street (restaurants and shops) are a short cab ride or walk away.
The only small negative was limited sun beds by the pool. While we stayed there a group of 4 people often occupied the beds all day which meant there were only 4 left for other guests to use.
Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Colony Hotel.

Room Tip: A room further from where breakfast is served would be best
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Saracen443
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamilton, New Zealand
Level Contributor
342 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

Such a beautiful boutique hotel in Seminyak Bali,
The staff are very friendly,warm and attentive!!!
The rooms are beautiful,very clean and crip and decorated
in simple balinesse/singapore style and a great size,perfect!!!
very much like a mini Raffles...but in Bali!!!
the breakfast is simple but very well done, with just the right
amount of selection(a la carte)
the pool is stunning!!!
location couldnt be more perfect ....close to the beach,cafes,restaurants,spas shops etc
this hotel is perfect in everyway....with no children under 16 policy
its very private ,but everything is still at your door step!!!!
i would stay here again ....and would recommend The Colony to anyone who wants a beautiful boutique style hotel....its 100% style all the way!!!
cant wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brycee10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2012

What a lovely crisp picture perfect boutique hotel right in the middle of the better part of Seminyak with all those wonderful restaurants at your doorstep. Breakfast by the pool each morning as the sun rises was an absolute delight. No kids even better! My wife and I felt as if we were in a mini 'Raffles' with hints of old world charm combined with all the mod cons. This is definitely our hotel in Seminyak from now on.

Room Tip: Junior Suite with a balcony on the upper floor with a view over the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank americk s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a great stay at The Colony Hotel. Its location and amenities are superb. The staff are generous, friendly and attentive to guests' needs. The rooms are beautiful. I love how the hotel is quiet and private (no children under 16). The swimming pool was a great touch. I have no complaints and won't hesitate to recommend The Colony Hotel to anyone going to Bali.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#5 of 143 in Seminyak
1,727 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Royal Beach Seminyak Bali - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#8 of 143 in Seminyak
1,453 reviews
0.2 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#25 of 143 in Seminyak
772 reviews
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#26 of 143 in Seminyak
3,078 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Bali

Property: The Colony Hotel Bali
Address: Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colony Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Bali is located in the heart of Seminyak and within walking distance to all the fun and leading places that creates your perfect Bali boutique hotel vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Colony Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing