We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Colony Hotel Bali
Ranked #3 of 116 Seminyak B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 November 2013

We stayed a couple of nights in this small friendly hotel a block away from the beach in Seminyak. It has all the 'colonial' charm its name implies, with white painted buildings, greenery and verandahs for the upstairs rooms overlooking the pool. The bedrooms and bathrooms were large, comfortable and quite well equipped and our ground floor room opened right onto the pool which runs down the middle of the hotel in what otherwise would be a large courtyard. The finishes are of a high standard and we found the service very good. Breakfast was on a small deck right next to the pool and offered a really good choice of fruit and pancakes as well as the usual hotel breakfast food. The pool area is a bit cramped, with a limited number of sun lounges and space, but the beach is only a few minutes walk away. The hotel is nearby plenty of really good bars and restaurants as well. The location was a little off-putting at first, as it's tucked away down a narrow driveway behind other buildings, so it's an inward looking arrangement. But then a lot of Balinese buildings seem to be in a sort of compound arrangement and it didn't bother us unduly.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mbloggs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (442)
There are newer reviews for The Colony Hotel Bali
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

278 - 284 of 442 reviews

Reviewed 29 October 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights and loved everything about it. The rooms are big, nice and clean. The pool area in the middle is also very relaxing. What makes this place excellent is the service. The people are so nice. For example if you are at the pool you get free water and icecreams. Another plus is the location, it is in the centre close to everything (right in front of the semaya). As the reviews say a perfect little hideway in seminyak, we would definitly stay here again.

Thanks!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosanne_stevens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

I stayed at the Colony along with friends and family during September. The staff where more than helpful in anyway possible and could not of been more at your service. During my stay I stay in room number 1 which was on the ground level right in view from the main entrance upon walking into the open area pool side it was big and spacious and had everything you could ask for. Breakfast was serviced daily on the decked area where the pool view is and can not fault anything they served during my stay. If your travelling to Bali and enjoy a nice relaxing time spent away this is by far the best place to stay, also has a no kids policy. The surroundings of the Colony as many walking distance places you can go included Sea Circus Restaurant next door which is a great place to eat and also walking distance to Ku De Ta.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

The Colony Hotel it a wonderful small Bali Hotel in the centre of Seminyak one of the best locations close to the beach, restaurants, shops.

We've stayed in many 5 & 6 star Hotels/Motels in Bali for 20 years and are completely sold on the "Colony". We really enjoyed the fresh spacious suite/rooms, including the beautiful clean linen. The pool is situated in the middle of the complex with sun in and around the pool all day.

Breakfast is fantastic especially the Nasi Goreng - and the 2 Chiefs are great and are happy to share their secrets. Also the freshly sliced fruit it incredible.

All the staff are friendly and welcome you to this small Boutique Hotel!

In some ways we are reluctant to put such a "rap" on the Colony as we are frightened we may not get a room when we return to our beloved Bali.

Jayne and Neville Bird

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jayne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My wife and I visited Bali again recently on our quest to buy a villa style property in Bali. Had never stayed at The Colony previously and at first my thoughts were this is just another little hotel. However it is very conveniently located for walking to the beach front, shops and restaurants. It is small, quiet and compact with comfy beds and pillows. Has a great little coffee shop and restaurant on either side of it as well. Pleasantly surprised. The staff are very friendly and helpful. The only negative from my perspective was no fitness center, however I made good use of the beach early each morning for walking, running and high intensity exercise.

Room Tip: The whole environment is quiet, so all rooms would be okay depending on your budget. I would persona...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chambo243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2013

The Colony, in my opinion, offers the ultimate balance of location, quality and price. It's walking distance to Ku De Ta, Potato Head, Seminyak Square and right next door to my favourite restaurant, Sea Circus.
The hotel itself has only 20 rooms which means it's small enough to feel like a large villa, but still large enough that you don't feel like you're all alone. We were a group of 10 so we occupied a good portion of the hotel, which meant that most of the time it was just us in the restaurant for breakfast or laying by the pool. The best part of the hotel is their strict no kids policy - you'll honestly feel like your hotel is calm oasis for you to gently splash around the pool and escape the noise outside.
You'll also love the well appointed rooms, I recommend you opt for the Junior Suite, it's only slightly more than the standard room, which is a small price to pay for a huge amount of extra space.
This Colony is my idea of the home away from home and I simply wouldn't stay anywhere else when holidaying in Seminyak.

Room Tip: The Junior Suite is massive and well worth the addition cost.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GreatDane22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2013

The Colony Hotel certainly lived up to our expectations. One of the reasons we chose it was due to its child-free policy. This is necessary as all the rooms (20 I think) are set around the pool and it's quite a small area. It's a lovely quiet haven away from all the hustle and bustle of the rest of Seminyak. We chose a junior suite and it was ideal in every way. The hotel's location is great and we were able to walk to the beach, Seminyak Square, La Lucciola and Ku De Ta. All the staff were friendly and very accommodating. Breakfast at one end of the pool was a wonderful way to start the day.

Room Tip: We were in Room 2 and very happy with it. We liked being close to the pool.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Seminyak hotels
0.2 mi away
The Seminyak Beach Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
The Legian Bali
The Legian Bali
#7 of 147 in Seminyak
1,554 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
The Samaya Bali Seminyak
#3 of 147 in Seminyak
1,808 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
W Bali - Seminyak
W Bali - Seminyak
#20 of 147 in Seminyak
3,396 reviews
0.3 mi away
Alila Seminyak
Alila Seminyak
#23 of 147 in Seminyak
953 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Oberoi Bali
The Oberoi Bali
#10 of 147 in Seminyak
1,660 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Colony Hotel Bali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Colony Hotel Bali

Address: Jalan Laksmana 22, Seminyak 80361, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Region: Indonesia > Bali > Seminyak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 116 B&Bs / Inns in Seminyak
Price Range: £116 - £577 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Colony Hotel Bali 3.5*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Colony Hotel Bali is located in the heart of Seminyak and within walking distance to all the fun and leading places that creates your perfect Bali boutique hotel vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Colony Hotel Bali reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Colony Hotel Bali Seminyak

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing